Roidan's Quattro Skimmer

roidan

• Replies 196

hey roidan..

any more bigger the skimmer grows...u can open the first HDB flat LFS...

enuff to skim the shit out of 1 batch of fishes or corals that those farms order!!

great skimmer....hope to see it foaming soon!!

all the best!!

choose an auspiscious time to fire it up..

hey roidan..

any more bigger the skimmer grows...u can open the first HDB flat LFS...

enuff to skim the shit out of 1 batch of fishes or corals that those farms order!!

great skimmer....hope to see it foaming soon!!

all the best!!

choose an auspiscious time to fire it up..

I got an idea of a auspicious way to fire it up. Get some pole dancers to dance around the skimmer. :idea:

i knew it was big...

but dint know the base so big!!! :o:o:o

wah lao eh..

i think u shld sell this to LFS...so that we have better corals...cos water better = healthier corals...

all the best in your live firing..

nicky30092002:

that's why i said this is the last skimmer i will ever use..... :)

no more skimmer upgrades for me in future

lvcap:

some lfs have bigger skimmers than this lah....mine is between normal home size and lfs size skimmer :) if u noticed, if u just put the collection cup on top of the base unit...it is a skimmer by itself....i can choose to run it in its shortened height if i want to next time..... :)

patrick123:

that's why my doggie can perch on the cup without problems...

bwilly:

hehe...yeah lor...electical bill will be high....but...compare to other top range skimmers if i buy commercially of this height, it is still a cheaper option to use this skimmer even if take into consideration electric bill :)

one of the closer ready-made ones i can think of in size is the aquamedic turboflotor 5000. It is 1.93m tall, only 8inch wide reaction chamber....but costs around $20k.....i wun try to debate with aquamedic fans which is better in performance....but one thing is for sure....at only 10% of the aquamedic price ($2k vs $20k)..i am sure the performance of mine is better than 10% of the aquamedic :)

even if my quad beckett works only half as well at the aquamedic-5000....i already gained from paying only 10% of the aquamedic and yet can get 50% of aquamedic-5000's performance

congrats...argentina won :)

RAV-65:

this skimmer is around $2k odd....the maker? one of the early SRC DIY gurus...way way back before DIY became commercialised....in those days DIYs were strictly for themselves or friends only...not like now when u see rows and rows of units being churned out.....no point revealing who also....those who knows, already know....those who dunno...not life-or-death importance to know also lah :)

he came out of DIY-retirement to do this monument for me....after which he will go back to retirement again....out of friendship that he took on this project ..... :)

So when you firing up? it'll be interesting to know the results...

results will be just like any beckett results....

just 4 times faster....4 times more foam....4 times more expensive to run thats all :lol:

firing in the afternoon-late afternoon

Hey thats 4 4 4 ! But i am sure it'll turn out good !