Chemical Warfare between corals

RAV-65

IMO, leather cannot mix with SPS...the slim and toxin they produce when stressed is terrible...

LPS and SPS can be mixed, just dun let them touch each other...

i am going for a mixed reef...bottom LPS and SPS to cover the top...just like how DB did it...i hope i can get somewhere close to his magnificent tank...

IMO, leather cannot mix with SPS...the slim and toxin they produce when stressed is terrible...

LPS and SPS can be mixed, just dun let them touch each other...

i am going for a mixed reef...bottom LPS and SPS to cover the top...just like how DB did it...i hope i can get somewhere close to his magnificent tank...

WAH!! can anyone verify the information? If yes, gotta remove my big leather coral liao... no wonder I got problems keeping SPS... :(

Wah... siao liao... and to tink I actually read that thread myself and I still dunno... any experts out there can verify it with facts? As in, can provide some insight into this leather vs sps theory??? Izit really true??

If yes, how am I gonna remove my leather coral? it's so big and it's attached to a piece of rock dat I cant pull out.... if not my whole structure might fall... can I just cut it off? will it release any toxins????

Help!!! :cry2:

Don't worry yourself if your sps is doing fine. There are as many people who keep sps with softies as well as those who don't.

The key is good water movement, good skimming and regular use of carbon.

Don't worry yourself if your sps is doing fine. There are as many people who keep sps with softies as well as those who don't.

The key is good water movement, good skimming and regular use of carbon.

Actually, the reason I'm so paraniod is dat I dun seem to be able to keep SPS!! I have a beckett skimmer, feed very little daily ( one cube and some cyclopeeze )and have a tunze in my tank... yet the SPS always dies... not even polyp extension, so I guess I have to try everything I can...:(

Already removed the leather coral... <_<

Another experience to add, sps not epoxy or secure properly, drop on to rics, can say sayonara to rics liaoz. i had 2 occasions of rics melting due to incidents like that.

I've got a few leather corals and one is as big as an adult head.

My SPS are doing pretty well.

If you look at website of garf.org, they have leathers and SPS so close to each other and the SPS thrive.

It is true that leathers release slime which may suffocate the SPS if the slime stuck on the SPS That is why we need Tunze to help blow them off. Even SPS may suffocate on its own slime. That is why SPS requires high water flow.

If you talked about toxic, buttons (Zoos) are the worst known to mankind.