Is this joker reef safe?

its a nudibranch, i had a few last time feasting on my pipe organ..... someone posted here recently, wipe out its zoos......... kill kill kill :lol:

Is it??? SHIT!......no wonder my zoos doesnt open....$#@@%$@...... :angry:

Must try to stalk it again.....It was gone the moment I went back to look again.... <_<

Beware the eggs also. Cycle about 2-3 weeks. Keep on looking. Your tank has aptisa? It can eat them up. Just take out the zoos and it will feast on the aptisa.

eerrr...I dont think so......my 2 colony of zoo all up car liao......as in not opening.....if I throw away....will it harm other corals?

confirm nudibranch..i had them some time back.....got good and bad...

these nudis can control aiptasia population...but they also attack zoos....that time i had no aiptasia problems even though i feed heavily...but when not much aiptasias left...they went to suck the zoos instead :lol: heng those are cheap zoos...

now no more zoos around...i have to nuke the tiny aiptasias manually :lol:

zoo not opening because they are 'threaten' by the nudi. not so easy up car lah. just take it out or keep on catching the nudi. you have to look very close as when they consume the zoo 'tenticles' the nudi will take on the same colour as the zoo with the 'tenticles' sticking out of its body.

OK....thanks guys.....really learn something.....didnt know these jokers can be some threatening.....must really go stalking for these joker liao.....aaarrrhhh......after ich then swinging NO3...then couldnt buff up dKH...then now buffing mg....then this stupid nudibranch....so many problem.... :(

That's what the hobby is all about. keep one occupied. :lol:

SHIT...I just saw a whole lot of them on my zoos..... :angry: .....can I just throw the zoos away.....I mean will I get rid of it by throw the zoos away?...please advise......siao liao...a lot leh!!!! :fear::pinch:

SHIT...I just saw a whole lot of them on my zoos..... :angry: .....can I just throw the zoos away.....I mean will I get rid of it by throw the zoos away?...please advise......siao liao...a lot leh!!!! :fear:  :pinch:

giving away the zoos away will not immediately solve the problem. Remember the eggs I mention. 2-3 weeks cycle. Unless you get a bigger/different specimen nudi that will eat the smaller nudi. Where's the end of all this?? Just be patience. Once they ran out of food, they will eventually die off.

with no zoos...those remaining will probably hunt down aiptasias in any size till really no more food left for them...then the population will slowly decline till u hit zero...

ever since i did the same as what you are contemplating now, i see isolated aiptasias popping out which sometimes i nuke them manually...

on 2nd tots...maybe i rather keep a cheap zoo behind all the liferocks as food for them and let some of them go hunt down the aiptasias as i am a heavy fish feeder...aiptasias have a lot of chance to catch the food i feed for my fishes and proliferate

ya ya ya....rodian .....this is the joker!!!! :angry: ...let me read first.....lucky my zoo are cheap one....heng ah....didnt know there is such things that can attack zoo..... <_< ....reefing is a never ending learning .....excitement....and also fustration hobby...... :lol::lol::lol:

seriously i faced the same anger and angst as you when i saw them leeching on the top of the zoos trying to access the zoos from the top of the polyps....

but now thinking back...i rather keep a cheap zoo somewhere hidden away from view as food for them and let some of them settle existing or potential aiptasia problems for me..

go read the url...the article seems all positive about them :lol:

with no zoos...those remaining will probably hunt down aiptasias in any size till really no more food left for them...then the population will slowly decline till u hit zero...

ever since i did the same as what you are contemplating now, i see isolated aiptasias popping out which sometimes i nuke them manually...

on 2nd tots...maybe i rather keep a cheap zoo behind all the liferocks as food for them and let some of them go hunt down the aiptasias as i am a heavy fish feeder...aiptasias have a lot of chance to catch the food i feed for my fishes and proliferate

maybe to the nudi, the zoos taste better than the aiptasia :D . so they end up finishing up the zoos first then the aiptasia and may end up still have lots of aiptasia. I may be wrong. :lol:

weisoon u are probably very right :lol:

compared to aiptasias which offer a potent resistance due to their stinging nature.....zoos seem to be a more passive and willing prey for the nudis...right? :lol:

ok....new method i propose.....

leave the zoos there till u see quite alot of those adult ones around....then u remove the zoos and pass to another reefer or put the zoos in the sump...those nudis in the main tank have no more zoos to feast..have to work the hard way by hantuming the aiptasias....

and once u see no more aiptasias...u intro back the zoos to feed the nudis....till the aiptasias come back and u deprive the nudis the zoos again and they are forced to work hard again :lol:

Allow me to attach pic and infor for other reefer..

Name: Aeolid nudibranch Berghia

The genus Berghia is widely distributed circumtropically in warm and temperate waters. The organism that most people recognize and seek for Aiptasia control is commonly identified as Berghia verrucicornis.

Adult Berghia grow to about 1" (25 mm), with some growing slightly larger. Their backs (dorsa) are covered with handsome, colored, tassels known as cerata. Cerata perform functions of respiration, digestion and defense. Although this nudibranch consumes and utilizes the zooxanthellae of its cnidarian prey, they cannot be sustained adequately by the borrowed symbiosis with good lighting alone and they must be fed Aiptasia several times weekly, if not daily (adults can starve to death in mere days without Berghia). With adequate supplies of anemones, however, Berghia will be self-sustaining; that is to say, they will reproduce and maintain a breeding colony. For their readiness to propagate, inexhaustible demand from ongoing nuisance growths of Aiptasia in overfed/overstocked aquaria, and their high dollar value ($10-$30 USD each), Berghia are highly desirable candidates for the aquarium trade.

It is interesting and noteworthy to mention that the reason Berghia are needed in the first place is both ironic and avoidable. If aquarists would quarantine all new livestock (not just fishes… but plants, algae, live rock, sand, corals, etc.) and did not overstock or overfeed their systems, then Aiptasia would be an almost unmentionable concern. Nuisance anemones do not grow from thin air, or sterile water as it were, but need food and nutrients to survive. When they are not properly screened in quarantine, and then introduced into a conducive aquarium system - only then do they proliferate. The all-too- common realities of busy or neglectful aquarium keepers are the things that Aiptasia thrive on: poor water flow (less than 10-20X minimum turnover), which allows particulates to accumulate and settle to feed anemones, overfeeding and/or overstocking, poor lighting which allows pest Aiptasia to outcompete more demanding and desirable organisms (like corals, plants, macroalgae) for nutrients, and poor nutrient export mechanisms (neglect of a well-tuned skimmer, weekly changes of carbon/chemical filter media, frequent water exchanges, etc.).

Many common community fishes and invertebrates will damage or eat small "nudis" out of curiosity if they are simply dropped into an aquarium. There is also the concern that they will fall to the perils of high water flow, and the aforementioned pitfalls of pump intakes, overflows, etc., before they can establish themselves and breed. Considering how expensive they are to acquire, it only seems sensible to provide them a good start in isolation; a mere matter of days or couple of weeks is all that it takes to collect egg masses from active breeders. A little patience with quarantined Berghia in this case can easily translate into tens or hundreds of propagated nudibranchs to fight the Aiptasia battle for which they were purchased.

post-60-1096726216.jpg