New to the Marine Aquaria Hobby

Hi fellow reefers...pls comment on my sump setup :( . Need to know the pros and cons for having this sump stuff :unsure: . It had been running for 2 months. Pls look at my diagram :bow::bow: . Sump size is 2'x1'x1.5' B) and alot of pods can be seen sticking to the glass moving around slowly. Sorry no digital cam for attachment. :whistle Honestly, I'm unsure if I'm doing the right thing here :( Your opinion is needed here.

:bow::bow::bow:

My_sump.doc

Hi, you not planning to put a skimmer? Cause from the pic, i don't think you allocated a place for a skimmer. You planning to go skimmer-less?

Another thing is that instead of putting all the coral chips and bio balls, you might want to consider just putting LRs in the sump.

yar, no space for skimmer , except if u decide to take the ref plcae for ya skimmer..If not, really no space...But In order for your DSB to work effecicty, The surface area mus be larget than that of a main tank..So,u may reconsider...between a skimmer or a ref...IMO , i would take that particular place for a skimmer...i dun knw how big is that area as there is no measurements so, judge by the pic.. :)

and i agree with pangz to remove the coral chips and the bio ball, for the bio balls to work effectively, water need to run thru in instead of like flooding hte bio ball, hope u can understand.. :rolleyes: but replacing it With lotsa LR's is good...

Just my 2 cents.. :peace:

Sorry guyz........forgot to add in the skimmer. Actually I have two skimmer running in my tank setup. One at my main tank (weipro 2013) and as for the sump I use my spare prizm to run it from the ctr (slightly above from the DSB) and exit out at the last compartment. A bit kiasu here :lol::rolleyes: I also have 8000k lighting for my microalgae 24/7 ;)

Btw pangz & giantbike.... :thanks: for the highlight man. :bow::bow:

Need more feedback from successful reefers. Might revamp the setup in order to maximise my sump to the fullest. Pls advise :bow: . But this pod is really multiply fast as if it was infested. :unsure:

Aiyoh :huh: ......only 2 ppl only use sump meh :cry: ......I'm sure there are other reefers who have it too.....share lah....me want to know what is the best way of doing my sump leh.

Read so many articles until my eyes become like this -> :blink: and still not sure what I'm doing...hahhaaha :lol::D

The more comments... so much the better. ;):angel: and I believe there are others :fear: who still wondering the best method of doing their sump too...hehe