SRC Member dradttg Posted September 28, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted September 28, 2004 Dear all, Must highlight that there is nothing wrong with my water parameter. - NO3 0 - NH3/NH4 0 - PO4 0 - Ca > 420 - pH 8.2 - dKH 8 I have tried 7 of them but all of them die on me. The first 2 (less that 1 and half inches) that I got die on me on the second day, so I thought maybe it is the LFS. The next 2 (less that 1 and half inches) that I got dug very deep holes for home and was happily sifting sand but died on me 1 week later. The next 2 that I got was slightly bigger (about 2 inches), they too dug deep holes for home but also died on me 1 week later. Finally, I saw one that is more than 2 inches. I bought that one but it also died on me 1 week later. Has anyone been successful with this fish? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FuEl Posted September 28, 2004 Share Posted September 28, 2004 I tried but give up on them. I chose the healthiest looking one but it died the 2nd day. I think these gobies don't really ship well. Quote Always something more important than fish. http://reefbuilders.com/2012/03/08/sps-pico-reef/ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member neokn Posted September 28, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted September 28, 2004 Did try some of the bottom dwellers before they disappear within 1 week. Thus, I reckon that there are some thing that is eating them rather then water factor. My MIA list 1 dwarf lionfish - 1.5" 1 yellow watchmen - 2" 1 algae blenny - 3" 1 sailfin blenny - 3" 1 scooter blenny - 2.5" 1 yellowhead jawfish (I think) - 4" My yellow watchmen before it die was restless swimming at the top every night instead off hiding in the hole. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member dradttg Posted September 28, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted September 28, 2004 I tried but give up on them. I chose the healthiest looking one but it died the 2nd day. I think these gobies don't really ship well. Think so too. That's why I am switch to Rainford and Hector goby. They not only sift sand, they sift the LR too. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member alanseah Posted September 28, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted September 28, 2004 I have 1 and only 1 singal goby and it's still happily in my tank.. if I'm not wrong it's more then a month already since I last brought it... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member dradttg Posted September 28, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted September 28, 2004 I have 1 and only 1 singal goby and it's still happily in my tank..if I'm not wrong it's more then a month already since I last brought it... You are very good leh. Any secret/tip?? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Vinoth Posted September 28, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted September 28, 2004 i also face the same problem. Other Gobies are ok. I suspect its not feeding and not enough food from the sandbed. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member alanseah Posted September 28, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted September 28, 2004 i also face the same problem. Other Gobies are ok. I suspect its not feeding and not enough food from the sandbed. yes that's what I suspect too cause most of u mention u got other goby or sand shifter... for my case I dont have any... and I got a surface of 5ft by 2.5ft of sand.. so there will always be enough food... but then there might be other factor as well which I can't comment much as I dont know your tank... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member kschew1498 Posted September 28, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted September 28, 2004 ....My signal also up car!!! ......Its been about a month I believe......maybe my cuke is competing food with it.....sigh! ....same same I suspect not enough food for this joker......while my sailfin benny nowadays will snatch pallets when I am feeding my tangs.......so far so good.... My rainford goby still surviving.....but not very active recently...... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member hamannbmw Posted September 28, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted September 28, 2004 mine 2 weeks "ki chia" liao....... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member limbssg Posted September 28, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted September 28, 2004 Article by J. Charles Delbeek and Scott W. Michael http://www2.hawaii.edu/~delbeek/gobies.html Twin Spot / Signal Goby do not fare well after shipping. They are very difficult to maintain in captivity and may slowly starve to death. Buy in pairs if u really want to try. IMO, these fish should be left in the ocean, unless you have a huge sandbed to support it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member dradttg Posted September 28, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted September 28, 2004 Article by J. Charles Delbeek and Scott W. Michael http://www2.hawaii.edu/~delbeek/gobies.html Twin Spot / Signal Goby do not fare well after shipping. They are very difficult to maintain in captivity and may slowly starve to death. Buy in pairs if u really want to try. IMO, these fish should be left in the ocean, unless you have a huge sandbed to support it. Thanks for the info. My hands are off 2 Spotted now. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gouldian Posted October 5, 2004 Share Posted October 5, 2004 Article by J. Charles Delbeek and Scott W. Michael http://www2.hawaii.edu/~delbeek/gobies.html Twin Spot / Signal Goby do not fare well after shipping. They are very difficult to maintain in captivity and may slowly starve to death. Buy in pairs if u really want to try. IMO, these fish should be left in the ocean, unless you have a huge sandbed to support it. I tried having a pair as advised by some literature. In the end still cannot make it. To me, they are even ahrder to survive than the normal doctor fish aka cleaner wrasse! Will definitely aviod them! Quote "Reefs, like forests, will only be protected in long term if they are appreciated" Dr. J.E.N. Veron Australian Institute of Marine Science -----------------------------------------------------------------------Member of:UEN: T08SS0098FPlease visit us here: http://www.facebook....uaristSocietySG Facebook Group: http://www.facebook....gid=34281892381 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member dradttg Posted October 6, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted October 6, 2004 Yea. My hands are off cleaner wrasse too. Over 10 fishes but I still cannot keep them alive. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member YzF Posted October 17, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted October 17, 2004 Anyone has any good sandshifter to recomend? Dun wan them to bury my corals at my sandbed! i dun like starfishes, cucumbers are usually too big! i dun have a lot of sand in my 4ft. Maybe abt 1inch or 2inch at most. Signal gobies are suitable due to their size and feeding habit. Someone mention hector gobies shiftsand also? efficient? Quote YzF's Tank Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member typrobin Posted October 17, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted October 17, 2004 my signal pair also gone... initially was my blue streak goby, then it died...so i was thinkin if i get a smaller sand shifting fish might last...but signal pair also didn't make it...they refuse to eat anything...no matter how i flood my tank... give up hope already...better to try star fish or cuke... Quote MY OLD 3ft!! My Latest Plan!! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member marcvelous Posted October 17, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted October 17, 2004 Anyone has any good sandshifter to recomend? Dun wan them to bury my corals at my sandbed! i dun like starfishes, cucumbers are usually too big! i dun have a lot of sand in my 4ft. Maybe abt 1inch or 2inch at most. Signal gobies are suitable due to their size and feeding habit. Someone mention hector gobies shiftsand also? efficient? Try the Sleeper Gold Head Goby. Very effective. My bi-colur blenny loves to dive kamikaze-style against the sand and end up turing the sandbed over and over. Works well for my 2ft tank. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...