Places to get diving equipment?

pangz

Try Lucky Plaza or Concourse.

Suggest you get a glove and long wet suit. Too much sharp edges to dive with shortie.

agree.. especially when u do nite dive.. helps to keep u warm.. but when having gloves does not give u reason to touch things.. more for keeping warm..

u might want to check out oceanic in concourse.. they are clearing some stuff as they are relocating to level 2... might be able to get your wetsuit cheap.

mask and fins, what abt snorkel??

ppl have different preferences.. single pane or double pane.. up to u.. double pane can change the lens..

Fins, basically divided into 2 types.. splits or paddle fins.. those u used in OWC probably are paddle fins.. and from there, u have full foot and fins with straps that required booties..

u might want to try out different fins first before deciding on which one suits u most.. me using Jet fins!!!.. hehehe.. splits dun really work for me..

wetsuit, dun have to get an expensive one.. maybe like $150-200 will do.. but do invest in a pair of good fins.. that is what gonna bring u ard underwater...

For mask, I am using Mares Opera because I need prescription. For fin I am using Mares Volo. It is a long fin.

What Kelstorm said is correct. You should try out different fins before buying. For split fin, you will need to kick very hard but it is very good for fighting current. For long fin, you can cruise in the water very easily but it is not good for fighting current.

Another thing to consider for fin is whether to go for full foot and half. For full foot, you can do with or without a sock but it is more difficult to put on and take off. For half foot, it is easier to wear and remove but you have to worry about additional things like bootie and fin straps.

As for snorkel, it is good to have because you might want to snorkel during long surface interval. Can try out the rollable ones by Aqualung?

Thanks! Will check out those shops. In my mind i was thinking about getting a shortie as i feel more comfortable moving abt in it. And it's much easier getting in and out of it. Any specific brands to recommend?

I didnt know so much about fins! Thanks so much! yup, i was using the paddle ones during my OWC. Ok, i guess i will do more research on fins before getting one.

However, suits and mask are still on my priority list for now. To think that so many pple have worn the rental suits and mask, I kinda felt disgusted. So thinking of getting a personal one.

Snorkel? never thought of getting one yet. Will consider when i go shopping for the equipment. Thanks again!

Thanks! Will check out those shops. In my mind i was thinking about getting a shortie as i feel more comfortable moving abt in it. And it's much easier getting in and out of it. Any specific brands to recommend?

personally, the difference in prices between shortie n longs aint much but when u accidently brush again corals or come across stinging cells, u will know.. :D recently i go down with just a rashguard n a pair of berms and always worried abt such stinging cells or brushing against corals or boulders when i swim under the overhangs or when resting on the sandbed. Diving is already stressful, i can do with less stress :P

However, suits and mask are still on my priority list for now. To think that so many pple have worn the rental suits and mask, I kinda felt disgusted. So thinking of getting a personal one.

personal suit is good.. coz it will stretch and fit into your body shape. after which, it is very easy to don it.. so, your expectation of shorrtie or longs dun really apply after a while. Also, it being shaped according to your size means that it offers better insulation against cold. Let not forget abt personal hygiene.. lets face it.. divers pee during their dives.. i do.. ppl who tell u they dun are probably lying thru their teeth...thus, imagine wearing a suit where hundred of students before u had used.. yucks :sick:

Snorkel? never thought of getting one yet. Will consider when i go shopping for the equipment. Thanks again!

What Dradttg had mentioned is correct.. sometimes, u might need to have a long surface swim to the reef (although seldom) or back to the boat (at times), conserving air is good... also, u can do some form of snorkelling when u are having your surface interval???

I'm using Bare wetsuit, jetfins, booties (Go sport)bought from beach road market, some cheapo snorkel, Tusa M14 mask and a weight pouch instead of weight belt.... basically, that's it for personal gear... after which, i recommend getting a dive comp.. but that is another story altogether..

Set a budget for your diver gear.. fins, can buy second hand. Mask, snorkel and wetsuit, preferably first hand unless u dun mind...

Fins usually ranges from $150 (jet fins) onwards for Paddle fins (varies brands) to over $260 for twin jets (split fins) from scubapro...mares avanti is ard that price.. mares volo is probably ard $190...

I would advise getting those that are half-heel and require booties.. coz some sites, u might need to do beach entry and u dun know what u might be stepping on...

peeing and getting rid of them fast, there is a method...

go ahead and pee, u will feel the warmth inside u.. when u are done, invert upside down, pull open the collar and exhale... the stream of bubbles will help to clear them very fast... hehehe...

do it during dives or during safety stop lah... :P norman, now u know what i do during safety stops.. damned.. :paiseh:

I think safety stop is too short a time. It is better to do it when you have at least 10 mins in the water. So that when you swim around, the pee is washed away.

if u are comfortable enuff, take off BC and unzip the wetsuit and let the water in to "flush" the warm "golden liquid"... hehehe..

Wah liao. So troublesome...have to remove weight belt someone.

Aiya...just do like rebreather. Connect hose and drink it back in. :sick:

hahaha.. sounds to me like u have tried.. hahaha.. j/k... ok, lets not digress from the topic..

some ppl just cant seem to pee underwater... FYI, it helps to keep warm too. :sick: