Can't buff PH up...

RAV-65

yet another problem in my problematic tank, the dkh now between 11-12, calcium about 380, but can't seem to buff the ph up to 8.3!! it keeps staying at 8.0... anyone knows wat's happening and can advise me on wat to do???

Vincent Ho :thanks:

Check this out......it was discussed before...... ;)

http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?...&hl=baking+soda

Me having problem with dKH instead of ph.........my ph always stays around 8.2-8.4 all this while...... :)

Kent ph buffer?? :rolleyes:

To boost-up pH .. use Seachem Reef Buffer and check your pH always at the same timing as temperature affects the pH reading.

Without impacting the pH and to maintain the pH level; use Reef Builder to increase your alkalinity and to prevent huge swings in pH.

aquatronica7na.gif

People Will Forget What You Said.

People Will Forget What You Did.

But People Will Never Forget,

How You Make Them Feel.

FuEL is right. Your parameters are in a very good range... don't mess around with it... For me, if the dKH is anything above 8, I never check pH as there should be sufficient buffer to hold it up. Assuming your measurements of dKH to be correct, then it would imply you have an alkalinity of 3.93 (11/2.8)... looking at the chart (excerpted from reefkeeping.com; http://www.reefkeeping.com/issues/2004-09/rhf/index.htm) Figure 1. you can see that you are right on the line of the elevated CO2 gradient, (pink one) => too much CO2, either in the air surrounding or in the water (do you use a CR?)... think that could be the cause of your low pH (but it is within acceptable range anyway.... it could get alot worst if your dKH is lower...but since it is 11 your fine. )

post-7-1096042202.jpg

To boost-up pH .. use Seachem Reef Buffer and check your pH always at the same timing as temperature affects the pH reading.

Without impacting the pH and to maintain the pH level; use Reef Builder to increase your alkalinity and to prevent huge swings in pH.

My kh pretty high leh... it's 11+, but it seems my ph is suppressed... :(

basically, if it is not off the range...avoid pouring chemical after chemical to tweak those little differences.

there are too many cases of reefers having their tanks crashed on them because of chemicals, either to tweak parameter or kill pests. ;)

AZ-no3 suppresses ph?? another one of my friend have the same problem, mg about 1250ppm, dkh 12, calcium 500, and his ph also 8.0... :(

Anyone can confirm the az-no3 is the culprit??

One of the by product of AZNO3 is CO2! Increase CO2 decrease PH.

What are you using the measure your pH?

If test kit then they are not that accurate in the sense that it is difficult to determine the color.

If using a pH meter or pen then make sure it is properly calibrated first.

Actually, being a typical kiasu Singaporean, I'm using both Salifert testkit and a PH test pen ( caliberated everytime I use ) to measure!! :P

Can you measure the pH of your tank at different times of the day? Like just before lights on and just before the main lights off and see what's the pH of the tank.

okie, will try to do dat, but normally I come home late and by then the lights already on liao ( reverse-photo )... :lol: