MH fixtures

dr evil

• Sponsor

Hi Guys,

need some feedback from u guys on what do u look for in buying a MH fxture? i am working on some projects to minimise the cost and also the needs of most reefers.

1) Cost?? Are u willing to pay??

2) Made from?? are u very particular??

3) External ballast?? is it a must??

4) DE or SE?? preferance?

4) Design?? sleek?

5) suspended??sit on tank?

6) t5 suppliment? required?

what is ur needs when u look out when buying a MH fixture? please share.... :D

My feedback. bro, do look into it when i upgrade my lights hor!!! ;)

yes. but of coz to a certain extent that it does not exceed that of well known/well made brands. must take into account the worksmanship and material cost as well. must oso give u kopi monies la. ;)

as long as lightweight, does not succumb to warping due to heat can liaoz. :P

yes. will make the fixture lightweight and less heat in the fixture too. :peace:

DE. juz hv a liking for them. wider variety of bulbs & brands to choose from too. B)

5) Design?? sleek?

as pro as possible. best can look like AQ. :P luv to hv sleek design! :)

6) suspended??sit on tank?

sit on tank. that's why prefer to hv it lightweight, external ballast, etc. :D

7) t5 suppliment? required?

yes pls. coz i like to use 10kk for good growth, but a tinge on the yellow side. wld luv to hv T5s actinic supplement. will be most ideal to hv 4xT5s as supplement. :heh:

quite a hard man to please huh? :upsidedown:

For me, it depends on the usage, overall appearence and service

If it does not look at least decent, I will not pay

My father loves people who are able to socialise and be friendly and not keep promoting their stuff

Best is if it is a heat conducting material

I am not particular about the materials used

For me, I would definately want to have external ballast

I personally prefer DE bulbs although it is not UV coated but a UV glass solves this problem

5) Design?? sleek?

YES!!!! Design and overall look is important for me

Best of it is sleek, simple and sweet

6) suspended??sit on tank?

I prefer suspended setups as the height between the MH and the tank can be adjusted and it looks nice on the tank too

But if you can make it optional for supended and sit on tank then its best

7) t5 suppliment? required?

If you mean supplement with blue tubes then i would say use NO tubes instead

They bring the fluorescence better than any other tubes

If you mean T5 for supplementing light intensity then I'll say why not :lol:

Basically I look at the quality and appearence of the fixture

Other factors would be the type of reflector used and the type of ballast

But most important is the price as it decides whether i would take a second look at it

heat......a lot of MH, their casing does not disspate heat well espicially the DIY one....there are well made casing that disspate heat well enough that you can acutally hold on to the case while the MH is still on....The ATman MH is one good example (unfortunately their reflector and bulbs not as good...)

Would prefer MH casing is in the hood , so look good from outside, anyway we are showing of what are in the tank not MH casing.

- Able to move if needed ( let say 3-6", LR or UpDown ).

- DE so have more space.

- With T5 would love to if enough space.

- External prefer however don't mind if there is another layer on hood for bellast.

- If design nicely matched to my funiture, won't mind paying up to 250$ per MH. ( eg 3xMH = 750S$ , say come with 2 T5 bla bla )

Hope it's help you to survay market.

So now what do I get :P Normally whenever we fill up survay we got something back :)

• Sponsor
Would prefer MH casing is in the hood , so look good from outside, anyway we are showing of what are in the tank not MH casing.

- Able to move if needed ( let say 3-6", LR or UpDown ).

- DE so have more space.

- With T5 would love to if enough space.

- External prefer however don't mind if there is another layer on hood for bellast.

- If design nicely matched to my funiture, won't mind paying up to 250$ per MH. ( eg 3xMH = 750S$ , say come with 2 T5 bla bla )

Hope it's help you to survay market.

So now what do I get :P Normally whenever we fill up survay we got something back :)

2 turbo snail for u...........for ur kind survey. self collect.. :lol:

for the in hood ones, i have done many... :lol:

now looking for a good fixtures.........more challenge

Well, if you can find a way to combine style with $$, then i am sure you will be flooded with reefers :lol:

• Sponsor
Well, if you can find a way to combine style with $$, then i am sure you will be flooded with reefers :lol:

i dont mind flooded with female reefers...... :eyebrow:

well, most of the set back to do a good fixture is the cost. it may likely b above 1k.........not many reefers will pay. B)

2 turbo snail for u...........for ur kind survey. self collect.. :lol:

for the in hood ones, i have done many... :lol:

now looking for a good fixtures.........more challenge

Ha Yea 2 turbo snails only, my petrol will cost more than that Haa Haa JK.

I still think hood is better than hanging out there. Not only they keep the high intensity light but aslo look good.

Prefer MH able to move, I was thinking b4 to use small motor to move MH slowly so like sun moving from L to R.