Macroalgae crashing?

RAV-65

juz started keepin macroalgae to combat the n03 in my tank, but am very paraniod about a possible crash due to the algae turning asexual as mentioned by reefers here, how do I know if it's onna happen? besides the algae turning white, any other clear signs? Abit worried as some part of my macroalgae is abit whitish.... :(

Bro....where got so easy turn asexual......just trim when necessary should be ok.......

Not convinced....check this out.

http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2004/...40611080718.htm

post-7-1095828071.jpg

My "grapes" juz turn spikey, Then one morning mins after i turn on the lights, release this huge greenish smoke screen into the water. :angry:

(WHich i believe is spores... <_< , i Think...)

Clouded my water for a few hours then cleared off by the skimmer, water parameters remains the same.... but the aglae juz turn into mush after 2 days... and now the rocks.. botak liao.. :cry:

My "grapes" juz turn spikey, Then one morning mins after i turn on the lights, release this huge greenish smoke screen into the water. :angry:

(WHich i believe is spores... <_< , i Think...)

Clouded my water for a few hours then cleared off by the skimmer, water parameters remains the same.... but the aglae juz turn into mush after 2 days... and now the rocks.. botak liao.. :cry:

maybe the algae is purging everything it absorbed back into the water??

Nah... cant be...

Coz the ammonia, NO2 and NO3 is as for normal. (For my tank lah) :blink:

Juz a smoke screen, my fishes and corals are not really bothered by it. Though My star colony didnt open till it cleared up. :whistle

And my YT seemed to be swimming happily in and out of it. <_< Crazy fish...

But it Crashed after a couple of days lah. Turned into green mush.

Nah... cant be...

Coz the ammonia, NO2 and NO3 is as for normal. (For my tank lah) :blink:

Juz a smoke screen, my fishes and corals are not really bothered by it. Though My star colony didnt open till it cleared up. :whistle

And my YT seemed to be swimming happily in and out of it. <_< Crazy fish...

But it Crashed after a couple of days lah. Turned into green mush.

Opps!! :sick:

yeah.... :cry:

Now i know to avoid the 'grapes'. I go for the other one that looks like Moss. haha!

Looking good and my YT left it alone. :lol:

maybe your YT is fruitgetarian and not herbivorous!! :)

HAHA! At first That bugger stripped my 'grapes' covered rock within one week.

Then went out and bought 2 more... Then the smoke thing happened. <_<

Now setting up an special aglae tank in along my corridor to grow algae for it to eat man... juz left over water from changing, some rocks, a cover and plenty of natural sunshine. hahaha!!! :lol:

Maybe it didnt like the texture of the 'moss' one i bought. Good lah can suck up my nitrate. :heh:

Excuse me ah, i dont know the names of my algae well.. :paiseh: