Travy

Thinking of getting one...

But scared it die one me leh.... :erm:

Will it add alot to the bioload? :ph34r:

i dun think they will...in fact, i heard that they help to clear nitrate to a certain extend...i dun feed my corals with anything, just light only...so i guess it will be little or no bio load...just my opinion...

SOunds good!

Been trying ways to decrease my NO3 haha! :D

Now my tanks looks almost like the 'underwater garden of eden' with all the marco greens... Good for my tank... and my YT... free flow salad... <_<

But wonder how much is it? loved to get a green one though.

About 3" across? haha hopefully not too expensive. :rolleyes:

First determine whether ur lightin is capable of sustainin the clam.

Nxt, do u hav LS tat r nt compaitable with clams? If yes, then no advisable.

Else no harm gettin one to try. Small size (2inch and below) would require phyto feedin. If u dose phyto frequently for ur reef tank then its ok else u may nd to dose like once-twice a wk.

Frm past experiences...once clam stop respondin to movements, mantle flodin in...they r 99% gone. I would remove them immediately before they die and contribute ammonia to my tank. Or i would observe them for 1-2 more days. No sign of improvements....out they go.

i recommend at least T5 HO n MH for the clam...

if u realli wanna try, try those cheap croceas first... my exp tells me croceas r less light demanding than max...

picking a healthy clam is crucial too... sometimes it can arrive unhealthy in ur tank then die off for no reason too...

pick those without crumpled mantle, feet attached to a rock... lotsa force when it closes... no see thru from top to feet... no gapping.... pick those with shells without holes... and without obvious parasites like pyramid snails n aiptasia...

when u happily get home, acclimatise properly...

then get some saltwater, use a brush or toothbrush, brush its shells with care... this is to prevent parasites like pyramid snails to go into ur aquarium... ;)

hmm... hard to explain without pics... u shld be able to find the info online somewhere lah ;)

btw, ur nitrate wont be eliminated by the clam... unless u r tokking bout a gigantic clam or alot of clams inside ur tank... otherwise it's effects r negligible :)

Croceas is one of the cheaper, but is also one of the most demanding light clam follow by maxima. If you dont have good lighting, dont go for croceas or maxima.

For the first time to keep clam, I would suggest you to get a squamosa or derasa.

These two clams are more hardy and less light demanding as compare to croceas and maxima.

If really want to keep croceas and maxima but without the support of mh or at least 4 x T5, than you need too place your clam high up on your liverock.

WOW GUYS GUYS!!!

Thanks for all the input!!! :bow::bow:

;) clownfish, jd_n, thioeh and 19...

For my lighting i have 2T5s, a daylight and a blue tube. I guess it should be enuf yeah? :erm:

yeah i thought that getting acheap one to start off is good, Inverts can be quite unpredictable... die without reason... experience it b4 with one shrimp and a clove coral. <_<

Jus died when the other more theorically sensitive ones are thriving. :blink:

BTW erm... croceas, maxima, squamosa and derasa... haha But any pics?

Cant tell the diff. :nc:

WOW GUYS GUYS!!!

Thanks for all the input!!! :bow::bow:

;) clownfish, jd_n, thioeh and 19...

For my lighting i have 2T5s, a daylight and a blue tube. I guess it should be enuf yeah? :erm:

yeah i thought that getting acheap one to start off is good, Inverts can be quite unpredictable... die without reason... experience it b4 with one shrimp and a clove coral. <_<

Jus died when the other more theorically sensitive ones are thriving. :blink:

BTW erm... croceas, maxima, squamosa and derasa... haha But any pics?

Cant tell the diff. :nc:

depending on the depth of ur tank, 2x T5s might not be enuff. go for 4x T5s.

indentification of clams??? www.liveaquaria.com

The depth of my tank is about 1ft lah. Quite bright really...

haha! but hey i might be wrong... so wanna get something cheaper.. :D:D

I suggest you get a 4 inch+ squamosa, not so expansive compare to maxima. IMO your lighting is enough for this clam since is only 1ft deep, just place it at the bottom of your tank will do. Also is more hardy compare to croceas and maxima.

HMmm yeah... hope they have nice colors. :D

Seen any of them ard? Might be dropping by pasir ris this weekend to see see look look. HAHA!

:lol::lol:

Hi Trvey

Go EAN....at Geylang.....got lots of Maxima (tear drop but brown color)....nice size for you.....and I feel the price is alright for a start.

Croceas is one of the cheaper, but is also one of the most demanding light clam follow by maxima. If you dont have good lighting, dont go for croceas or maxima.

For the first time to keep clam, I would suggest you to get a squamosa or derasa.

These two clams are more hardy and less light demanding as compare to croceas and maxima.

If really want to keep croceas and maxima but without the support of mh or at least 4 x T5, than you need too place your clam high up on your liverock.

how long do I need to turn on the light for the clam? :thanks:

Pros of Squamosa & Derasa:

1. Does not need high intensity lights as compared to Max & Croceas

2. Afforable pricing

3. Hardy

4. Active filter feeder as such better removal of Nitrates

Cons of Squamosa & Derasa:

1. Grows very fast, can get too big for your tank in no time

2. Consume large amount of Calcium, bring out the CR!

Hope that helps with your decision. ;)

Pros of Squamosa & Derasa:

1. Does not need high intensity lights as compared to Max & Croceas

2. Afforable pricing

3. Hardy

4. Active filter feeder as such better removal of Nitrates

Cons of Squamosa & Derasa:

1. Grows very fast, can get too big for your tank in no time

2. Consume large amount of Calcium, bring out the CR!

Hope that helps with your decision. ;)

HEy thanks alot man.... :peace:

Didnt know it will be so complicated. :erm:

But gonna drop by a few places on sat to check things out and gave my blue damsel away... :lol:

:D:D

No worries, cheers!

TOOK APART MY TANK TO LOOK FOR MY DAMSEL!!!! :angry:

LOOKS LIKE A HURRICANE HIT IT JUZ NOW!!! GEEZZZ...

Luckily now water cleared and rocks back... finally caught the culprit. :fear:

Hide in the damn rock... waited for half an hour b4 it swims out to the basin...

:evil:

Went to pasir ris today.... found clams... but all too large! :(

Most of them are twice teh size of my fist!

Geez!!! :cry2: