Flame Hawk

Hi Anyone knows where flame hawks are sold?

Saw one in Iwarna last Wed . :lol:

That one is in the display tank.....between will prefer other places (too far leh and no luck with fishes there)...any to recommend?

No , there was another one in the fish tanks behind..not the one in display tank , tat means sold liao . :rolleyes:

Anyway bought one yesterday, 18 Sept 04 and this morning swiming around but gill moving fast like breathing hard, then noon, died (wah liao !!!) If anyone knows where to get good Flame Hawks that is of good quality please let me know....

it might be due to your water too...in my opinion,when fishes breath hard, it indicates that the water is not ideal...

i just dropped mine in my tank, wonder wat will happen to it...hehehehe...

Believe the flame hawk is a hardy fish......since my Yellow Tang is not breathing so hard.....but my dead flame hawk was moments ago.....i would like to think the attribution may not be the water quality......since the less hardy fishes are doing well.....moreover my royal is ok leh.....not gasping like what another reefer in another thread describes....

maybe he just wasn't use to your water parameter...

I dont whether this is correct or not.

I notice that whenever I have new fishes that refuse to eat for a few days, they will be breathing very heavily before they died.

Maybe the fishes you have bought have been in the shop for a few days. I have seen some shop stacking their fishes in boxes like highrise flats. I wonder if they will open up all the boxes to feed each of the fishes.

irwana still has a few pieces (4?) left.....accurate as of 19 Sept 1pm.

Irwana fishes so far very reliable.

:pinch::nuke:

I wudnt say irwana fishes are that good/or bad.

Bot a Flame hawk from them about 8 months ago-still alive & kicking :D

Bot a purple tang 6 month ago- die after 3 months out of the blue :blink:

Lime green wrasse from them - after 6 months still around & doing well

Bot a brazilian gamma (last one in the tank) 2 weeks ago- die 2 days later. :(

Suppliers are impt, but I guess its ur luck with the fishes.

when i first started, all my fishes are from iwarna and all die within 1 week. then i listen to bros here and started going to other places like cf, ######, etc. surprisingly the fishes lived longer but oso died after a longer while. then i buy from reefers, wah most of them lived beyond my expectation.

then i realised something... over those periods, my tank was maturing, i was gaining more experience with each death and finally... the thing that made the difference is not where i bought from but how to condition the fish. having said that, dun buy a skinny fish with sunken stomach, twicthing body and hope it will live. even cynide ones... if you select carefully, they can survive.

another important factor. assume lfs a fishes are slightly more stressed (50 fishes in one bare tank) than lfs b (one fish per tank in air con place). if u buy one from each lfs and juz throw both into ur tank, lfs a one sure die but lfs b probably live cos lfs a fish already stress, u throw into tank, more stress... die of itch! however, if no itch or ur tank really bad, maybe lfs b fish will die cos it was not used to bad water condition.

rationale? it is the owner, not others. got it?

juz my 2 cents.

cheers!

when i first started, all my fishes are from iwarna and all die within 1 week. then i listen to bros here and started going to other places like cf, ######, etc. surprisingly the fishes lived longer but oso died after a longer while. then i buy from reefers, wah most of them lived beyond my expectation.

then i realised something... over those periods, my tank was maturing, i was gaining more experience with each death and finally... the thing that made the difference is not where i bought from but how to condition the fish. having said that, dun buy a skinny fish with sunken stomach, twicthing body and hope it will live. even cynide ones... if you select carefully, they can survive.

another important factor. assume lfs a fishes are slightly more stressed (50 fishes in one bare tank) than lfs b (one fish per tank in air con place). if u buy one from each lfs and juz throw both into ur tank, lfs a one sure die but lfs b probably live cos lfs a fish already stress, u throw into tank, more stress... die of itch! however, if no itch or ur tank really bad, maybe lfs b fish will die cos it was not used to bad water condition.

rationale? it is the owner, not others. got it?

juz my 2 cents.

cheers!

ich not itch lah bro....... ;);):lol::lol:

i nvr had prob with iwarna stock though, they all last very long. my first fish is still alive with felix. mebbe the fish that u picked are not healthy, look out for the signs, and introduce them properly, not dump them to lit tank.

No need to teach me how to suck eggs ! I know better what to do. So there are fishes in it that are not healthy? :D

when i first started, all my fishes are from iwarna and all die within 1 week.  then i listen to bros here and started going to other places like cf, ######, etc.  surprisingly the fishes lived longer but oso died after a longer while.  then i buy from reefers, wah most of them lived beyond my expectation.

then i realised something... over those periods, my tank was maturing, i was gaining more experience with each death and finally... the thing that made the difference is not where i bought from but how to condition the fish.  having said that, dun buy a skinny fish with sunken stomach, twicthing body and hope it will live.  even cynide ones... if you select carefully, they can survive.

another important factor.  assume lfs a fishes are slightly more stressed (50 fishes in one bare tank) than lfs b (one fish per tank in air con place).  if u buy one from each lfs and juz throw both into ur tank, lfs a one sure die but lfs b probably live cos lfs a fish already stress, u throw into tank, more stress... die of itch!  however, if no itch or ur tank really bad, maybe lfs b fish will die cos it was not used to bad water condition.

rationale?  it is the owner, not others.  got it?

juz my 2 cents.

cheers!

In my thread all i am asking is whether anyone out there KNOWs where else to get Flame Hawk of good quality - did not really ask for other comments. I perfectly know what i am into, what kind of water quality i am having i know, what kind of redox potential i also know. Mine is not exactly a BRAND NEW TANK, if so my intro of new tangs would have died too.

How then to explain when fishes bought from ML (Hong Leong Gardens) not dead right after the death of my Golden Angel & Flame Hawk ? The fishes i bought from Sealife? The fishes i bought from Big Blue Signboard? Oh something could be wrong with me?

Anyway dun tell me about textbooks stuffs, to drip the tank water into the bag and all that crap....i think i know what to do....anyway did you see lfs who brought in fishes drip water before they put into the tank? I have knowledge of what they do, and i also know what to do in intro of fishes into my tank....so thanks very much.