SRC Member pisces Posted September 7, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted September 7, 2004 Hi, Can anyone help me to name a few places where agar disk/starter cultures can be bought and how much is the cost ? Thanks Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member jesperlam Posted September 7, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted September 7, 2004 from our sponser EAN. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member pisces Posted September 7, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted September 7, 2004 And whats the cost ? I am asking the cost coz I wanna calculate the approx difference in buying the ready plankton and culturing. No point in going through all the effort if culturing is only saving me a few $$. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member nicholasloh Posted September 7, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted September 7, 2004 depends on the disk... dun forget lighting cost too. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member dradttg Posted September 7, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted September 7, 2004 An Nano disk cost $24 at Reb***. I have been thinking. It is not possible to start a culture using DT because it is not concentrated enough. Since Aquaz is very concentrated, is it possible to start a culture with it? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member pisces Posted September 7, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted September 7, 2004 thanks Jesper/Nicholas/dradttg Lightings ok.I guess the phyto's dont need T5's for cultivation. My FL should do. Nicholas, do you sell the disk or just the readymade plankton ? What's Aquaz ? I thot Aquaz made T5 lamps ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member nicholasloh Posted September 7, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted September 7, 2004 i haf if u want. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blueheaven Posted September 7, 2004 Share Posted September 7, 2004 I could try to grow phyto on agar disks I use for my Life Science project Quote But if you tame me, we shall need each other. To me, you will be unique in all the world. To you, I shall be unique in all the world... You become responsible, forever, for what you have tamed. -Antoine de Saint-Exupery Keep our hobby sustainable, participate in fragging NOW CHAETO Farmer Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Tigger Posted September 8, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted September 8, 2004 An Nano disk cost $24 at Reb***. I have been thinking. It is not possible to start a culture using DT because it is not concentrated enough. Since Aquaz is very concentrated, is it possible to start a culture with it? thou aquaz are dead plankton? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member nicholasloh Posted September 8, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted September 8, 2004 aquaz is dead phyto in the form of gel. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ah^siao Posted September 9, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted September 9, 2004 u can make ur own agar disk... it's just normal agar but don't add in any sugar.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member pisces Posted September 9, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted September 9, 2004 Pardon my ignorance....but Does the mean that you take a part of the agar disk and put it in the water to start the culture ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member iori_del Posted September 26, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted September 26, 2004 anymore advise to this thread... Quote GIve up liao!!!!!!!!!!! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...