SRC Member alexgan Posted August 31, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted August 31, 2004 Hi All Master DIY I intend to DIY a skimmer for my 5ft tank. Wondering can all the sifu here can help me to provide info like.... 1) A diagram of skimmer? 2) Where to get those part? or so? or maybe someone here already constructed a diy and wanted to sell for upgrade purpose? Cheers Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
lightningstrike Posted August 31, 2004 Share Posted August 31, 2004 u can try the following threads or pm the reefers who posted them. http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=18251 http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=20776 http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?...790&hl=typrobin http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?...987&hl=typrobin Quote Austin the Westie: "I may be your best friend, but you are my everything". Lightning Strike's Back!!! Reefkeeping Is Not My Hobby, It's My Obsession. Austin's Birthday Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member typrobin Posted August 31, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted August 31, 2004 u can try the following threads or pm the reefers who posted them. http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=18251 http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=20776 http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?...790&hl=typrobin http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?...987&hl=typrobin wah bro, thanks for the advertising... it all depends on wat kind of skimmer u intend to build...beckett, venturi, needlewheel, air driven or spray injector? Quote MY OLD 3ft!! My Latest Plan!! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member jc85 Posted August 31, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted August 31, 2004 A little off topic but can anyone share with me where u get the arcylic cut? I need to get some cut to my dimension for a project at work (note not marine based). Can PM me? I only know Serangoon Nrth cut arcylic but I need a higher quality job. Hopefully laser cut. Anyone? Thanks ina dvance JC Quote Earth Conservation Blog My Marine Blog For All Sengkang Residents Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member neokn Posted August 31, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted August 31, 2004 A little off topic but can anyone share with me where u get the arcylic cut? I need to get some cut to my dimension for a project at work (note not marine based). Can PM me? I only know Serangoon Nrth cut arcylic but I need a higher quality job. Hopefully laser cut. Anyone? Thanks ina dvance JC Link is here. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member alexgan Posted August 31, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted August 31, 2004 hi typrobin, i guess all is the same right? but what i want is external skimmer where i dont need to put inside my sump tank loh. Prefer a skimmer about 3ft tall something like that lah....but due to singapore dont have those spray injector....guess is very hard right? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member neokn Posted August 31, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted August 31, 2004 You can always order from oversea or from ebay. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member alexgan Posted August 31, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted August 31, 2004 bro, can i have the ebay html address? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member typrobin Posted August 31, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted August 31, 2004 hi typrobin, i guess all is the same right? but what i want is external skimmer where i dont need to put inside my sump tank loh. Prefer a skimmer about 3ft tall something like that lah....but due to singapore dont have those spray injector....guess is very hard right? they are all not the same...although the ultimate aim is to produce as much foam as possible... external 3ft unit? how bout a gigantic beckett skimmer? i think so far that's the only skimmer that i've seen pple building it oversized... or if u want, an oversized needlewheel with 4-5 extra circulation pump...but so far i've only seen one person who successfully made a customised needlewheel impeller which i would say is of top quality, not the bio ball type...dun think tat person wants to be named...but u can find his thread in our DIY forum... as for venturi or air stone units, i've never seen a 3ft tall kind... i am thinkin of making a 3ft tall spray injector skimmer.i have my own frabicated mould for the spray injectors.. .. but then again, i dun think it is feasible cause it will cost a bomb to run it...we can discuss it via pm if u are interested... Quote MY OLD 3ft!! My Latest Plan!! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member jc85 Posted August 31, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted August 31, 2004 Link is here. Hmm.... Wat's the search key word? Quote Earth Conservation Blog My Marine Blog For All Sengkang Residents Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member typrobin Posted August 31, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted August 31, 2004 for laser cut...i go to AMK industrial park 2...the co name is latech... Quote MY OLD 3ft!! My Latest Plan!! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member jc85 Posted September 1, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted September 1, 2004 for laser cut...i go to AMK industrial park 2...the co name is latech... Thanks Bro, that's wat I'm looking for. Quote Earth Conservation Blog My Marine Blog For All Sengkang Residents Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member neokn Posted September 1, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted September 1, 2004 Search for Company name call Dama. Distributor for Arcylic. Give them the design and specification and they will fabricate the whole thing for you. Don't even need to go though the process of gluing and welding. Cheers Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Zero Oxygen Posted September 1, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted September 1, 2004 Search for Company name call Dama. Distributor for Arcylic. Give them the design and specification and they will fabricate the whole thing for you. Don't even need to go though the process of gluing and welding. Cheers wont it be very expensive ah......??? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member neokn Posted September 1, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted September 1, 2004 If you choose to diy yourself then just ask they to cut the arcylic to dimension for you. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member jc85 Posted September 1, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted September 1, 2004 Search for Company name call Dama. Distributor for Arcylic. Give them the design and specification and they will fabricate the whole thing for you. Don't even need to go though the process of gluing and welding. Cheers Thanks again. Quote Earth Conservation Blog My Marine Blog For All Sengkang Residents Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...