MH dilemma

hi guys

i'm thinking of getting a mh lamp but as u guys know...its very ex so i need lots of advice before getting them.

i hope those old birds can throw in their 2 cents worth.

can throw in anything regarding how to mount it...perhaps the issue of UV production, weight, brand, problem with heat etc etc.

thanks

i'm attaching a pic of my tank and how implausibly high my ceiling is to better assist the advisors.

just in case anyone needs the info, my tank is 4 by 1.5 by 1.5ft thickness of 6mm(i figured such a short tank no need 8mm...haha)

thanks

post-6-1093843740.jpg

Get those with stands then

for a 4ft tank, i think the simplest is at least 2 X 150W....dun have to hang it on the ceiling, just get a simple DIY stand kind...Dr Evil can help u with it...

IMO, since your tank is only 6mm thick, i dun think u should have too much LRs, very dangerous....

if u are thinkin of getting MH, get those with external ballast, dun think u wanna stress your tank as it is only 6mm...

another thing i noticed, u are using cannister...better if u have a sump, better filtration system...

i wonder wat kind of corals do u intend to keep, LPS SPS or just softy?? if u are thinkin of softies, y not just T5??u can even keep LPS with t5...it won't generate as much heat as MH...

doesn't seem like u have a chiller, so better option would be t5...

oh yah, upgrade your skimmer too...

read up more on the husbandry of keeping corals, it should help...

sorry for the size of the tank guys....i don't know how to resize....

hehe...thanks for the comment...my tank is 4ft...thought i typed above?

regarding those with stands...can my tank thickness withstand the weight?

might be too heavy with the ballast..... ask dr evil to diy one for you with the ballast outside the mh...... it will help alot.......

as for the stand i am not sure if dr evil got do it as well.....

now i'm beginning to worry bout the thickness issue...

maybe i'll setup a new tank and let this old one be FOWLR set up so no need MH

u guys recommend wat size i should get for my new tankie?

metal stand or wooden cabinet?

New Tank? Get the largest you can get. Less trouble with water parameters and more space for fishes to swim around..

You have a spare area where a large tank would be perfect? Ideally at leasts 6' length or that you can hang a 6' MH commercial set (thats the largest they make)

now i'm beginning to worry bout the thickness issue...

maybe i'll setup a new tank and let this old one be FOWLR set up so no need MH

u guys recommend wat size i should get for my new tankie?

metal stand or wooden cabinet?

hahaha the bigger the better......

you private house ah then go 8 - 10 ft lah hahahaha.......... :evil:

i prefer metal stand.....but make sure stainless ..... ask AT.... he should be able to advise u on this

no la!

hdb la!

too big a tank also means all the equipment to support it will be ex lor~!!

can''t can't can't.....my mum will also explode along with my bank account.....i measure here and there best is still 4 by 2 by2...heh

4 x 2 x 2 looks good....that's the size of my next upgrade... blast it with 2 X 250W...

if u are thinking of upgrading...do at least a month of research...look around and see wat other reefers are doing and see if u can handle the equiptment upgrades

1) skimmer

2) lights

3) temperature problem

4) wave makers

5) sand (not a big issue)

6) amount of LRs (big big issue)

7) other future equipts like CR, FR, watever...