Pics of shades use when changing bulbs

Hi guys,

Changing back my 20K MH to 10K, worried the PAR changes might be too much for the sps and lps........my MH lights are fixed to the hood, unable to shift them higher so looking for shades to block off some of the light and slowly remove them one by one to acclimalise the corals.

Anybody has a picture of the type of shades use that can withstand the heat of the MH ? Where to buy them and roughly how much per piece?

Thanks,

Eric

bro how abt reducing the operating hrs....then slowly rise it back again to norm hrs....

or i read somewhere.... increase the ht of mh n slowly bring it down

hope im giving the right advise  :rolleyes:  :rolleyes:  :rolleyes:

I know increasing the height of the MH and reducing the duration can help.......problem is my MH is fixed to the hood so can't shift it higher. Reducing the duration I will definitely do it but even the short duration with sudden increase in PAR might breach or kill the SPS/LPS.

Giantbicycle - My tank quite fully pack liao, no space to shift the corals around. Farther more, I always refrain myself from touching the corals and stressing them.

Noone has a pic of the shades?

Eric

You might want to use layers of butter paper to shade the coral and remove piece by piece over a few weeks?

Placin paper under strong intense lightin like MH could cause the paper to catch fire so be careful. Better join in fire extinguisher bulk order. :P

Alamak, you mean the butter paper cannot take the MH heat also ar? Wah lao.......is there any shades that can take the 250W MH heat from 4" away>?

Eric

huh...if cannot take the heat then how come can put inside oven??

Bro.... the word "could" ;)

Could meanin may or may not. Lookin at the bright side it dun....but sway sway caught fire. Then will hit the headline of newspaper again.

When usin this paper for oven usage...bakin, cookin.....oil is bein use and these paper absorb the oil causin the paper to be oily and moist and hence tat may explain y they dun catches fire. Plus bakin time is usually less than 5hr and after tat these paper will be discarded coz they r torn and oily. Sometime a slight burnt mark can be seen at the edges of the paper coz the edges r the one tat dry up faster then any other areas. Any longer in the oven, dun say the paper catch fire....watever u r bakin also burnt lah.

And the fact tat cookin is bein look after so even if the paper were really to catch fire, the cook is still ard to tackle the fire.

In Eric case, he gonna use paper to shield off light...where the MH will be runnin for at least 8hr per day. As paper r not oily or damage like in the process of cookin. Eric will presume to leave it there for up to 2wks for the coral to acclimatise to the lightin. In the event tat lightin is on timer, and when timer power on the MH and nobody's hm. Imagine the consequences. :huh:

I've heard of ppl using egg crates for that purpose.

It should be ok and you can just place it above the area you place your coral?

If one piece doesn't give enough shade stack up 2 pieces and blocks the holes further?

Kevin

I've heard of ppl using egg crates for that purpose.

It should be ok and you can just place it above the area you place your coral?

If one piece doesn't give enough shade stack up 2 pieces and blocks the holes further?

Kevin

Thx for all the information guys..........looks like no one has a pic of the shades.......in that case, will use the egg-crates stacking method to shield off the lights since I still have some left over egg-crates in the store.

Thanks again!

Eric