Gouldian Posted August 26, 2004 Share Posted August 26, 2004 Hi guys, I was at one of the LFS yesterday and saw a Longfin Banded Pseaudochromis. I was taken by it beauty and the assurance that it is reef safe. Brought it back and did a research and ended with the below link, check it out. I bought 1 out of the 3 there so it you guys want better hurry. http://www.liveaquaria.com/product/prod_Di...693&TopCatId=38 Quote "Reefs, like forests, will only be protected in long term if they are appreciated" Dr. J.E.N. Veron Australian Institute of Marine Science -----------------------------------------------------------------------Member of:UEN: T08SS0098FPlease visit us here: http://www.facebook....uaristSocietySG Facebook Group: http://www.facebook....gid=34281892381 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member neokn Posted August 26, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted August 26, 2004 But you didn't state the location of the LFS. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gouldian Posted August 26, 2004 Author Share Posted August 26, 2004 Pa#$#z R&*^f. he he he he Quote "Reefs, like forests, will only be protected in long term if they are appreciated" Dr. J.E.N. Veron Australian Institute of Marine Science -----------------------------------------------------------------------Member of:UEN: T08SS0098FPlease visit us here: http://www.facebook....uaristSocietySG Facebook Group: http://www.facebook....gid=34281892381 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FuEl Posted August 26, 2004 Share Posted August 26, 2004 Those with small shrimps be wary...I don't trust any pseudochromis.. Quote Always something more important than fish. http://reefbuilders.com/2012/03/08/sps-pico-reef/ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member neokn Posted August 26, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted August 26, 2004 Picture of the fella. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gouldian Posted August 26, 2004 Author Share Posted August 26, 2004 Those with small shrimps be wary...I don't trust any pseudochromis.. Yup. As per all pseudochomis smaller shrimps beware! That's why I chose the smallest one they have. So far my 1x CS, 2x PS & 1x FS still around due to their size. Quote "Reefs, like forests, will only be protected in long term if they are appreciated" Dr. J.E.N. Veron Australian Institute of Marine Science -----------------------------------------------------------------------Member of:UEN: T08SS0098FPlease visit us here: http://www.facebook....uaristSocietySG Facebook Group: http://www.facebook....gid=34281892381 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gouldian Posted August 26, 2004 Author Share Posted August 26, 2004 Picture of the fella. Wa bro, you garang ah. Cut and paste pix, you not scared ppl sue you ah? Anyway, correct this is the fish! When it is in the open, it sometimes curls up like in the pix - which is why I like it. Quote "Reefs, like forests, will only be protected in long term if they are appreciated" Dr. J.E.N. Veron Australian Institute of Marine Science -----------------------------------------------------------------------Member of:UEN: T08SS0098FPlease visit us here: http://www.facebook....uaristSocietySG Facebook Group: http://www.facebook....gid=34281892381 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member neokn Posted August 26, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted August 26, 2004 I didn't cut and post. But rather point the url of the image. Anyway, here is some interesting article that I found. All other fireworms in our tanks are content to gum food or dead animals. They do not perceive of live animals as prey, and in particular, they will not eat or enter Tridacna as susupected commonly by aquarists. In nature, as well as in some reef aquaria, fireworms will aggregate under these large clams. It simply is a good haven for them. If the clam dies, they may gnaw on the corpse, but they won't attack and kill it. In fact, as they determine their prey by odor, they won't even perceive of any healthy animal as a food source, nor will they attack it. Extract from here. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RAV-65 Posted August 26, 2004 Share Posted August 26, 2004 Wow, the pic looks fierce! Quote People do not plan to fail; Often they just fail to plan... Wat I do to prevent myself from tearing my hair out... My stress remedy... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member marcvelous Posted August 26, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted August 26, 2004 Look something like common fighting fish hor? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gouldian Posted August 26, 2004 Author Share Posted August 26, 2004 Look something like common fighting fish hor? Yah loh. Very interesting. Quote "Reefs, like forests, will only be protected in long term if they are appreciated" Dr. J.E.N. Veron Australian Institute of Marine Science -----------------------------------------------------------------------Member of:UEN: T08SS0098FPlease visit us here: http://www.facebook....uaristSocietySG Facebook Group: http://www.facebook....gid=34281892381 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gouldian Posted August 26, 2004 Author Share Posted August 26, 2004 I didn't cut and post. But rather point the url of the image. Anyway, here is some interesting article that I found. Extract from here. He he he, sorry for my ignorance. Thanks for the link on bristle worms, very informative. Quote "Reefs, like forests, will only be protected in long term if they are appreciated" Dr. J.E.N. Veron Australian Institute of Marine Science -----------------------------------------------------------------------Member of:UEN: T08SS0098FPlease visit us here: http://www.facebook....uaristSocietySG Facebook Group: http://www.facebook....gid=34281892381 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member surfedelic Posted August 26, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted August 26, 2004 In fact if you check on the Pseudochromis species - they all eat bristleworms .... But I am not sure really unless those which are bigger sized ones. Last night - i saw my Fridmani Pseudochromis sticking out of a crack with a bristleworm beside it. Will observe further whether they are neighbour or enemy Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Assillian Posted August 26, 2004 Share Posted August 26, 2004 A few other LFS also have. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member neokn Posted August 26, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted August 26, 2004 example? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member nicholasloh Posted August 26, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted August 26, 2004 i bought a dilectis dotty abt 2 weeks back from iwarna. man, that was the best fish i ever had lor. its very chio, check out liveaquaria. but on a note, not all of them eat bristles actually. some dun. and some other gobies and blennies do. funny hor? and if i'm not wrong, dilectis is one of the only dottys that are peaceful towards shrimps and inverts. mine has no problem with the anemone shrimps that are half of its size. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dispar_Anthias Posted August 26, 2004 Share Posted August 26, 2004 Huh the banded longfin dottyback is a rather rare fish Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gouldian Posted August 27, 2004 Author Share Posted August 27, 2004 Huh the banded longfin dottyback is a rather rare fish Yup bro. RARE. Anyway, you know where to get it right. I called yesterday evening was told still have two. Not sure today, maybe you already reserved liao. Quote "Reefs, like forests, will only be protected in long term if they are appreciated" Dr. J.E.N. Veron Australian Institute of Marine Science -----------------------------------------------------------------------Member of:UEN: T08SS0098FPlease visit us here: http://www.facebook....uaristSocietySG Facebook Group: http://www.facebook....gid=34281892381 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terryz_ Posted August 27, 2004 Share Posted August 27, 2004 i bought a dilectis dotty abt 2 weeks back from iwarna. man, that was the best fish i ever had lor. its very chio, check out liveaquaria. but on a note, not all of them eat bristles actually. some dun. and some other gobies and blennies do. funny hor? and if i'm not wrong, dilectis is one of the only dottys that are peaceful towards shrimps and inverts. mine has no problem with the anemone shrimps that are half of its size. I agree, the dilectis dottyback is a very nice fish... Quote Member of: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gouldian Posted August 31, 2004 Author Share Posted August 31, 2004 Dilectis? Nice....... Dilectis Quote "Reefs, like forests, will only be protected in long term if they are appreciated" Dr. J.E.N. Veron Australian Institute of Marine Science -----------------------------------------------------------------------Member of:UEN: T08SS0098FPlease visit us here: http://www.facebook....uaristSocietySG Facebook Group: http://www.facebook....gid=34281892381 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member neokn Posted September 1, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted September 1, 2004 Found another LS that can control bristle worm and mantis shrimp. Blue Flavivertex Pseudochromis Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RAV-65 Posted September 1, 2004 Share Posted September 1, 2004 Found another LS that can control bristle worm and mantis shrimp. Blue Flavivertex Pseudochromis Hmm... looks like a sunrise dottyback... did i see one of these at ML?? Quote People do not plan to fail; Often they just fail to plan... Wat I do to prevent myself from tearing my hair out... My stress remedy... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gouldian Posted September 2, 2004 Author Share Posted September 2, 2004 Found another LS that can control bristle worm and mantis shrimp. Blue Flavivertex Pseudochromis Beautiful! But something that can control Mantis worries me - what will happened to the Cleaner, Peppermint & Fire Shrimps in my tank. Maybe have to get the smaller ones that are smaller that the shrimps but defeat the purpose of control mantis. What irony. Quote "Reefs, like forests, will only be protected in long term if they are appreciated" Dr. J.E.N. Veron Australian Institute of Marine Science -----------------------------------------------------------------------Member of:UEN: T08SS0098FPlease visit us here: http://www.facebook....uaristSocietySG Facebook Group: http://www.facebook....gid=34281892381 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member neokn Posted September 2, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted September 2, 2004 Found this fella @ ML. Sneeky fella, hidding behind LR. May be we can buy and share among those whom have problem with mantis shrimp or bristle worm. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gouldian Posted September 2, 2004 Author Share Posted September 2, 2004 neoken: No AT not eating prepared food. But observed it pecking on algae on LR & tank wall Quote "Reefs, like forests, will only be protected in long term if they are appreciated" Dr. J.E.N. Veron Australian Institute of Marine Science -----------------------------------------------------------------------Member of:UEN: T08SS0098FPlease visit us here: http://www.facebook....uaristSocietySG Facebook Group: http://www.facebook....gid=34281892381 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...