SRC Member andysho Posted August 22, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted August 22, 2004 PM just announce that all civil side will change to 5 day work week include army side too~~~ guess it is a good news for those in the army side sia Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member minsmarine Posted August 22, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted August 22, 2004 Ha no good for ppl not from civil servent. like me. It's mean if need to do something with goverment service, than need to take leave Quote Life is like a peice of Uncured Live Rock [ from LFS ], you never know what you gonna get......... Ocean Gump Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Creetin Posted August 22, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted August 22, 2004 Tot civil service should serve public by opening on sats? Quote Get Paid To Read Emails. Free To Join Now! http://www.emailcashpro.com/?r=okdk11 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RAV-65 Posted August 22, 2004 Share Posted August 22, 2004 PM just announce that all civil side will change to 5 day work weekinclude army side too~~~ guess it is a good news for those in the army side sia Huh?! izit true?!?! Quote People do not plan to fail; Often they just fail to plan... Wat I do to prevent myself from tearing my hair out... My stress remedy... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member kee Posted August 22, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted August 22, 2004 huh.. wat do it mean?? can come out on friday?? then when go back. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Supporter ReDDeviLs Posted August 22, 2004 SRC Supporter Share Posted August 22, 2004 those under government who need to work on sat will get their off on 1 of the weekends.. thats what i heard from him.. unless i heard wrongly Quote [ ] [ ] Reef Reefing Reefed Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member flubberina13 Posted August 22, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted August 22, 2004 anybody has the webby to read any of PM's briefs? TIA... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member thc Posted August 22, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted August 22, 2004 Sounds like bad news to me.......i think there is more to it.....Just hope it's not pay cut .... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member flubberina13 Posted August 22, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted August 22, 2004 Got the webby...try this... http://www.channelnewsasia.com/ndp2004/rally/highlights.htm http://www.gov.sg/ Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member bum Posted August 22, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted August 22, 2004 please, 5 day week....BUT no reduction in work hours, and those activities that have to be carried out on saturdays will still need to be carried out. so guard duties, saturday CCAs will still have to be done, right? i'm still skeptical Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member flubberina13 Posted August 22, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted August 22, 2004 please,5 day week....BUT no reduction in work hours, and those activities that have to be carried out on saturdays will still need to be carried out. so guard duties, saturday CCAs will still have to be done, right? i'm still skeptical yalor... When can we really have Saturdays off...that why I taking no pay in T4. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member nicky30092002 Posted August 22, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted August 22, 2004 Sounds like bad news to me.......i think there is more to it.....Just hope it's not pay cut .... one more day to go LFSing ... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member thc Posted August 22, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted August 22, 2004 LFSing....hmmmm, that is a good idea...... Btw, i read thru the speech very carefully, he only mentioned 5 days work, but never state the working hours of the 5 days. If the working hour is extended from '0800H to 1720H' to '0800H to 1820H', it covers the working hours of Saturday from '0800H to 1200H'.....Still think there is something behind all this.... Reduced number of days working + same amount of work to be completed = OT, OT and OT Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
aong Posted August 22, 2004 Share Posted August 22, 2004 Yea, but I think it's fair to "cover" back the hours if u think linearly.... isn't that so in the pte sector as well? At any rate, the 5day wking week is surely good news for civil servants! imagine the hassle if u live far from ur working place that u potentially can save ;p Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Siput Posted August 22, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted August 22, 2004 Come on, pple, 5 days is far better than wasting a Sat morning, right??? Operationally, show must go on for those counter services...how many of u want to take half day leave just to go to HDB or CPF for eg? These I prefer to do on saturdays....I think they did mention that those who have to work Sats can take another of the weekdays off (for eg Mon)...hope this and all other points get paased soon.... Flubbie, imaging an add'l 2 days off to take your son out.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member jesperlam Posted August 22, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted August 22, 2004 Only those in the Government service Office Hours is included in this. Uniform man eg. Police & Civil Defence still have to do their shifts. Think this only benefits the office hours ppl. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Chris Posted August 22, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted August 22, 2004 5 day week means LFS will be very crowded on Saturdays.....yeah! Quote I think (marine) therefore I am Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member flubberina13 Posted August 23, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted August 23, 2004 Hmmm...shall we take it with some salt or champagne? Well...just have to wait and see... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weileong Posted August 23, 2004 Share Posted August 23, 2004 Only those in the Government service Office Hours is included in this. Uniform man eg. Police & Civil Defence still have to do their shifts. Think this only benefits the office hours ppl. That means they will get off during the weekdays... still good news for them Quote Weileong's 4ft tank Part I Weileong's 4ft tank Part II Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member jesperlam Posted August 23, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted August 23, 2004 No la...my friends in the police force do shifts even on public holidays. Its all according to their roster divided into 4 teams in a division. 2 Days work 2 days off...but still not bad already...haha Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member wolfie Posted August 24, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted August 24, 2004 Details wil b announced tml (or so I heard)... For the Army side, my worry is Guard Duty... If Sat reali off, den Sat's GD is as good (or bad ) as Sun's GD... That's not very good news... For the Public Service sector (eg, CPF, HDB blah blah blah), they will still open on Saturday. (As obtained from MINDEF's intranet). Basically, I'd believe that "he whose presence is not needed on Saturday can stay @ hm and sleep" and "he whose presence is need will have to come back". S/t to tt extend. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member mv3i Posted August 25, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted August 25, 2004 juz have to wait for teh final BAD news again .... it's really amazing how they package it to sound like it's the best thing that can happen to u n me .... n then ... they drop the bomb on u ! side tracking fm the 5 days week ... slightly .... juz curious ... any civil servants out there ?? As the private sector is moving into variable components of pay is the civil sector doing that too ??? i'm sure many here can vouch for that ! if so , what are the % involve .... ?? thanks Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member thc Posted August 25, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted August 25, 2004 Like i've said, everything will be balanced off some how or rather. You can never have best of both world Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member wolfie Posted August 25, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted August 25, 2004 i muz agree with thc. in my sector, we have man-hours to fulfill... and now we're worried that the 5-day work hours will be lengthen to fulfill the necessary man-hours... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Creetin Posted August 25, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted August 25, 2004 lengthening of hours is justified i guess. cant expect to give them a day off just like that rite? Quote Get Paid To Read Emails. Free To Join Now! http://www.emailcashpro.com/?r=okdk11 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...