Just started

Hi everyone :nc: ,

need some advice here..I've been given 2 tanks.

I'm really new in keeping marine so it will be great if I've got some help to start off. :paiseh:

Just washed the tanks, so my next action plans are as follows:

Day 1

- get marine salt (coral life, marine environment)

- get test kits(recommendations?)

- get powerheads, skimmer and cannister? (at this point do i need them?)

planned activities :look:

- to get live rocks during wkend..

- let the tank cycle...

- after cycle then put in the substrate? (no #1 type?)

Anything else I've left out? day time gotta work..so most stuffs will be done at night. :lol:

:thanks::bow:

post-6-1092828937.jpg

Add the substrate,salt mixed water and liverocks and a piece of market prawn(dead) to start ur cycling. But, pls pls, read up before starting, library will have some useful books. even online u can find in setting up a marine tank. and welcome on board, the expensive hobby.. :lol: yet exciting..

hmmm, im thinking of starting off with fish first and when everything's fine, I will go on with the corals :yeah: (i understand need to get lightings as well)

I noe the consequences of overcrowding so I dont intend to put too many fishes inside.. probably just 3-4? is tt too many? :erm: too few also a bit boring.. :P

Im thinking maybe i will try canister first... if time allows, i might try building a sump.. :angel:

terryansimon:

ok I will take note of that! Thanks! :thanks:

aStRoBo|:

Yup have been monitoring a bit n reading just a few details here n there :snore: to get things sorted out.. btw, I saw some sites saying mixing the salt with water..

water as in distilled water? Can i use our home tap water and mix? :heh: Or do i have to get some anti chlorine stuffs also? <_<

haha im really excited but I'll be patient esp the cycling stage.. hehe :lol:

you have two tanks right? and its given to you? so I presume its second hand? if it is second hand, take the one that is scratched slightly/more/lousier condition in terms of aesthetics and use it as a DIY sump.

in order to let the water overflow into the newly created sump, you may consider getting an IBox from Ian, one of the sponsors of this forum. (=

I also keeping a 2 x 1 x 1ft.

You need a canister if you intend to keep only fishes. Any Internal Overflow System (IOS) will simply mean you have less space for everything else.

I know I'd probably get flamed for saying this but I got 8 fishes in my setup and all are healthy and disease-free. It helps that all my fishes are of the small and cute variant.

Small tank has smaller water volume and thus less tolerant of mistakes or water parameters. One thing about FOWLR tank is that you can afford to keep salinity low (say around 1.018~1.020) which is good for fishes as parasites less likely to grow. Recommended salinity for reef (including corals, that is) tanks is 1.022~1.024. This is good for corals but parasites also grow (on fish) easily.

IMHO, if you are new to this hobby, start with fish only first. It is easier to upkeep and less taxing on your pocket/wallet/purse.

After you've learned more and saved up and finally think that you are ready, go build yourself a proper reef tank.

If you intend to keep FOWLR, all you need now is sand (about 1.5~2 packets) and water (sea-water or self-mix) some rocks (dead or alive), canister filter (and filter medium) and lights. All in all about $300.

Your next target would be a skimmer. For tanks our size, Prizm seems the obvious choice. There are a few people upgrading and selling on this forum. Go check it out!

I think this thread should be quite useful amongst others.

Try not to let anyone, especially the LFS, talk you into buying anything you don't need. You're in this for fun, not bragging rights by owning the most number of or expensive equipment. Financial burnout is one of the most common reasons for people to quit.

Hopes this helps.

aStRoBo|:

Yup have been monitoring a bit n reading just a few details here n there :snore: to get things sorted out.. btw, I saw some sites saying mixing the salt with water..

water as in distilled water? Can i use our home tap water and mix? :heh: Or do i have to get some anti chlorine stuffs also? <_<

haha im really excited but I'll be patient esp the cycling stage.. hehe :lol:

Yup, normal tap water will do, add in anti-chlorine, add salt, mix it, run it under a powerhead or a normal air pump(not the air pump into the water of cos) and leave it for 24hrs. Or, do the first 2 part first, den after 24hrs, do ur salt mix, run under the power head again to fully dissolve the salt mix.

Since you mentioned, if you using tapwater (different area in Singapore have different quality) and using anti-chlorine, get those that remove chlorine and chloramine. I think Seachem have one such product.

Actually, I think buy 6 packets of sea-water from LFS enough liao. I top up with distilled water. About 80 cents' worth per week.

I just got myself corallife sea salt..:look:

I didnt get any anti-chlorine becos no fishes in yet right so no worries? Any comments on this?:erm:

I'shd be getting a canister, LR, #1 sand by the end of this week I hope... and start the cycling. anything I left out? :unsure:

welcome to the club....i'm also running a 2 x 1 x 1ft from my left over goldfish tank.....infact its 8 month old already and now have SPS....I'm using canister but i used it entirely for mechanical and chem filteration..the entire tank has reach a stage where its 2/3 LR....started with 1 clown fish after the 1st month. Second month added a baby Blue Tang but third month got reckless and started having angels....at its peak got 6 fishes....but very very hard to keep condition tip top....last 2 month left with 3 fishes but again got reckless and added in a tang without QT and it wipe out all fishes....fortunately SPS still doing well and is begining to color up...

anyway, its possible to do a lot with a 10g tank....but you have to work hard on maintence....for me canister filter is clean every week (when started twice a week)...water change is 3 percent 2 times a week...

Seachem Prime. 

Yes, that's it!

BTW, pinocchio, ever wonder why they dose chlorine in the pool and tap water?! :shock: Is to kill bacteria!!!!! :nuke:

So if you don't have anti-chlorine/chloramine and attempt to start to cycle your tank, you may have problem.

I don't know much about this coz never read on trying to cycle with chlorine in tank... :D:P;)

Actually, I think buy 6 packets of sea-water from LFS enough liao. I top up with distilled water. About 80 cents' worth per week.

U wan to break his arms izit.. so heavy man.. and no garantee it wont burst.. somemore do own saltmix safer than buying from LFS.

Yup, normal tap water will do, add in anti-chlorine, add salt, mix it, run it under a powerhead or a normal air pump(not the air pump into the water of cos) and leave it for 24hrs. Or, do the first 2 part first, den after 24hrs, do ur salt mix, run under the power head again to fully dissolve the salt mix.

AstroBoi,

U r the first person I know to actually say it out right that tap waters fine. I almost beieved it was impossible to keep marine fish without RO/DI water. BTW ...Is tap water with anti chlorine ok even with corals (SC/LPS/SPS) ?

I believe pinnochio might find the info useful too.

Cheers.

actually, chlorine will be gone if u aerate it with a powerhead within 24hrs. It's juz tat we are worried abt the chloramine that is in our water tat's why we need to add the anti-chlorine with chloramine removal functions. Go look for those with these 2 functions at least. Of cos can use tap water, not all the reefers bro here have RO unit.. although i have one.. :P

Your quote: "Is tap water with anti chlorine ok even with corals (SC/LPS/SPS) ?"

Ans: I dun think it is a problem, because you will only start to stock up after ur cycling period, which u will be having alot of tests to make sure ur water condition is ok/perfect. So you dun have to worry abt this. :idea:

Disclaimer: I'm not proven to be right at what i mention, juz based on my experience

tap water is actually fine, if you are doing small water changes and your system is matured enough to remove small amount of NO3 from the system...for example, if tap water is 30ppm, then doing a 5% change weeking will raise your tank by 1.5ppm. A mature system should be able to handle this quite well...but IMHO, i like NSW because it really cuts down on the hassle of mixing water and if you think about 1 pack is about 10kg, but can last a 10g tank about 2 weeks....but 2 packs at the time wouldn't break your arms and can last a month.....the shop i get my NSW has a No3 measurement of 0.5ppm and i'm banking on my carbon to remove another chemical....so far no problem yet...

That's why I like to use NSW also. Mixing is simply too troublesome what with having to treat the tap water first then mix in salt slowly to the desired salinity. Actually I think most LFS sell $2 for about 6~8 litres so two packets is quite manageable. If you have car, buying 6 packets at one go should be okay too, but strictly up to individual loh...

Last time I self-mix, simply pour in the anti-c/c and then put salt. Don't even bother to pump air for 24 hours. Still okay leh but now tank so small so usually one packet NSW is enough.

Small got small good! :lol:

Issit? Aiyoh... me pay double loh...!!!

Anyways, is only $1 difference... and I buy froma few places all sell @ $2 so maybe you always go to that LFS and you super buddy with them that's why loh

I just go to the LFS near my place. Small price to pay for convenience lah. Travel so far need transport fee also. Heh heh heh.... :D:D:D

Ok thanks guys! :bow:

Think I will go head and get seachem prime later... hmm.

btw, which sand do you all use? No #1 brown or white? any difference? Sorry for asking such silly qns cos I just want to make sure everything is alright.. I didnt know sand also got brown and white..or was I smoked? <_<

Also, I'm considering to get a Eheim pro II canister... but the price is like almost $300. What if i will to get 2 Eheim classic 2213 and put different filter medias inside..Is tt a better solution for me? :rolleyes: anyone with such a config?

:thanks::bow::bow:

hi all,

I got my tank up with a canister already.

I've put 3 LRs inside.. im thinking of putting more LRs soon.. but can i kick off the cycling now and add the rock later? hmm :unsure:

also, i'm seeing white(cotton wool type) patches on the rocks.. what r those? issit normal? :unsure: