need help in wireless setup.

kee

wat brand and model u r using.

Basically wireless is signal with sight.

Some tips to share with you. If u r using "B" up to 22/44 mbps then your signal travels further but lesser speed than "G" 54/88 mbps .

Some recent prouct allows you to add external anntena to you adaptor (your workstation or notebook).

For Wireless router fro home product i dun think it can add external booster anntena. (even can it will cost quite a bit)

Like fellow neokn mention you can get repeater to extend the signal strength. But I personnally can tells you the speed will drops further again.

Is the best you are getting those model with high power anntena as your base station should solve your problem.

Or 2nd method see whether your notebook wireless adaptar can add in the external anntena which I mention in the mail. I know SMC model have that. (no use if your adaptar is a built-in model)

or 3rd relocate your base station to some where you can detect a better signal from your notebook and fix the point there (knowing you might have problem to have the power adaptar fixing at certain place) look for power over Ethernet adaptar to solve these problem

Moxa

My apartment has three floors and I place the residential gateway at the stair well so that all three floors can receive the signal.

For 3 storey apartment and this is yours as in you own the whole place(Reason for say so is because it's illegal to share connection with neighbour). Pardon me for being blunt.

1. You can buy a 8011.g router with 4 port.

2. You will definitely need a signal repeater.

3. You don't need a line of sight for wireless communication.

4. As for connection, just follow the instruction that comes with the router.

Sorry but high power antenna might cause ingress to the network causing your internet speed to slow down or loss connection.

neokn,

Are you talking to me? My apartment is three stories. All mine.

I'm using an Avaya RG and it is able to reach every corner of the house if it is broadcasting at the stairwell. I've tested the RG for distance too, I can surf the net 80m from the RG.

repeater..? is that the correct term??

Normal in office, another access point is added.

It is more "power" compare to what you says about repeater.

There is another device I saw in the market, it looks like an antenna

alike device. It amplify the signal.

As for getting signal on 2nd floor, no such problem. But strength may drop. Our office has been getting signal from neighbouring buildings.

As for choosing B or G, no difference on your surfing speed base on current ISP. Only when you do transfering of files between pcs. Else B should do.

Repeater is the term that I'm using for those found in the market antenna thingy. Technical term would be transponder. The device is to prevent packet loss/ drop line when you are using wireless as it is very important in a office when you transfer data from one storey to another storey.

I always advise pple to be more kiasu if they have the $, so G is still prefer in my case.

Repeater is the term that I'm using for those found in the market antenna thingy. Technical term would be transponder. The device is to prevent packet loss/ drop line when you are using wireless as it is very important in a office when you transfer data from one storey to another storey.

I always advise pple to be more kiasu if they have the $, so G is still prefer in my case.

current technology mostly using 512K.

Using B is more than enuff, even though 10mbps is more than enuff.

unless u talking abt transmitting from pc to pc lohz.

I dunno wats the exact term for that device I saw. could be or may

not be the same thing we talking abt.

But in office n technical person I know, they use additional access pts.

Typically, repeater is used to extend distance and to boast the signal strenght. And its not cheap. Thus for many wireless LAN, its is more feasible to use multiple access points but you need to have some cabling done for all the AP.

Whether to use a, b or g, my take will be to go for G since many AP/router in the market already supporting G. Will you want to use a old technology for almost the same price? ;) Do also note that cable modem can goes more than 1.5mbps.

Just my 2cts

JC

the topic starter, kee, is asking about a router for his house.

why are ppl talking about all the technicalities surrounding their office complexes?

how relevant are these to the first and original question?

food for thoughts ..... impressive answers :bow: but irrelevant ? an overkill ?

i am confused because i am relatively blur :P about information techno/IT.

please pardon me for speaking my mind thru this thread.

Every wireless device (AP or router) will indicate their signal strenght (choose the strongest device). Some will indicate how far their device can be received indoor and outdoor. This will give a gd guage on whether you can connect to it at different location (in this case 1 flr below). Do also take into accord that any wall or door will also limit the signal strenght.

My experience is that most AP/router will work for Kee's environment. Reason been, I have been getting signals from my neighbours' AP and a few of them may be either upstair or downstair from my apartment (HDB).

Hope this helps

JC

i get the d-link wireless card n router frm sim lim just now.. tested in my room the signal is low but still quite fast.. hmm my wireless is connected at 54mps which the guy tell me is the fastest in the market now. then.. as for the router i place it down stairs.. hmm the signal is low.. sometime very low.. can adjust one ah? hahaa

Some of the wireless card can adjust the transmit power to maximise the reception but at the same time it increase the power consumption. But if you are @ home, I reckon it doesn't affect you much as you will be on AC power most of the time.

Thx ALOT!! i tried to use the laptop on the 1st floor the signal is very good.. but the speed slow.. i use in my room which the signal was low it is faster

:blink: Doesn't make sense.

the topic starter, kee, is asking about a router for his house.

why are ppl talking about all the technicalities surrounding their office complexes?

how relevant are these to the first and original question?

food for thoughts ..... impressive answers :bow: but irrelevant ? an overkill ?

i am confused because i am relatively blur :P about information techno/IT.

please pardon me for speaking my mind thru this thread.

case comparison to support your power talk mah..

u dunno law always quote past cases as supporting meh..?? :lol:

Eventually it will also comes abt what equipment to buy, gauging

from the question. Hence the talk abt B n G, leading to signal strength from buildings as eg. (lecturer always quote eg when explaining a key point 2)

As for Cable modem, it never reaches 1.5mbps (online). Its just a context quote what it can do, but never achieve.

The B can hit 11mbps, which is very sufficient.

haha just now i tried sending files to my com at the lst floor frm my laptop the SPEED was... STUNNING! haha but when i use my laptop to surf net frm the 1st floor very slow leh.. hmm

it takes 5sec to complete 4mb.

Maybe the internet connection is slower than you think.