pangz Posted August 12, 2004 Share Posted August 12, 2004 My family is thinking of getting a new car, any good recomendations? Would like one with good mileage, good looks and easy maintenance. Wish we had more budget, but my dad's is of the opinion that cars are just meant for moving around together.... Thanks! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Tigger Posted August 12, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted August 12, 2004 toyota altis is good......sorry, i dont own a car, maybe someone can give better recommendation Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
terryansimon Posted August 12, 2004 Share Posted August 12, 2004 Toyota Corollas. they give the best mileage per litre. I manage to hit 16km/L before on a 1.6 FL-G9 with 16inch 205 tyres. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pangz Posted August 12, 2004 Author Share Posted August 12, 2004 Yeah, agree mileage for toyota best, but the altis model didn't struck me that well... *sorry to all altis owners!* think it looks boxy and squarish. if only they had a nicer design, bet it'll sell even better. No other make/ model? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roidan Posted August 12, 2004 Share Posted August 12, 2004 then maybe vios? looks smaller than altis but slight more sporty looking.... black vios Quote Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DeepBlue Posted August 12, 2004 Share Posted August 12, 2004 Toyota cars give you good mileage and parts are easily accesible.... thus maintaining it will be more economical.... Vios and Corolla are great cars at that price. next in line should be nissan sunny. or Mazda 3 ( a bit exp ) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pangz Posted August 12, 2004 Author Share Posted August 12, 2004 Sorry if i sound choosy for the small budget. Think vios too small.... hehe... dad too fat, so must get bigger one... actually thinking of Toyota Wish of about 87k. Anyone driving it? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roidan Posted August 12, 2004 Share Posted August 12, 2004 ahh..toyota wish....that would really throw sportiness out of the window..but nonetheless u get loads of space that you want.... honda stream also belongs to this category...the nonfullsize MPV....but i dunno if they are still selling new streams or not but the wish would offer generous cabin space for your family...especially on long trips along NS highway to KL/genting....everyone in the car will appreciate it Quote Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pangz Posted August 12, 2004 Author Share Posted August 12, 2004 My dad ah pek driver, no need sportiness lah... hmm, thanks for the comments though! Seems like range pretty limited, everyone is either driving a nissan or toyota.... how i wish i had the moneyto buy an Audi TT.... but then again, will have to find somewhere to put fat dad. the roof? hehe..... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Tigger Posted August 12, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted August 12, 2004 If i remember correctly I read that some where Wish is parallel import from Japan. It does not have an aircon blower for back passager. Neither does Honda Stream. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
terryansimon Posted August 12, 2004 Share Posted August 12, 2004 I heard of reliability issues with Mazda 3...not too sure yet. haven't drove. pangz... your father's car choice...will your preference have an impact on it? wait. is it even a car for your father or family? and will you be the main driver? as for Toyota Wish...its all parallel imported. so some features may be reduced/cut/added. I don't know why BM doesn't want to bring it in. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member iewnehz Posted August 12, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted August 12, 2004 go some used car centres walk around lor... many choices there ma.. ya have to agree only Toyota give the best mileage.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
terryansimon Posted August 12, 2004 Share Posted August 12, 2004 my FL-G9 and previous pre FL-G9 gave the best mileage on earth. wah lau. super siah. if I pump VPower *which I used to do before I switched to Mobil for SpeedPass purposes*, I could get 18km/L....easily. if I tried really hard, I can probably get 19+? powerful eh? aesthetically speaking, although the car is big, it is the car with the longest rear leg room. so it should be comfortable for passengers at the back. although I think the Renault Megane has the longest leg room for the car of its series.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jameshong Posted August 12, 2004 Share Posted August 12, 2004 If i remember correctly I read that some where Wish is parallel import from Japan. It does not have an aircon blower for back passager. Neither does Honda Stream. There is an aircon blower at last roll of seat for 2.0 Litre, but for 1.7Litre, it isn't Performance :--- Honda still the best.. Quote Knowing is not enough; we must apply. Willing is not enough; we must do. - Goethe Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jameshong Posted August 12, 2004 Share Posted August 12, 2004 There is an aircon blower at last roll of seat for 2.0 Litre, but for 1.7Litre, it isn't Performance :--- Honda still the best.. Sorry.. I talking about Honda Stream 2.0 Litre with back aircon blower..and it is very sporty like! Quote Knowing is not enough; we must apply. Willing is not enough; we must do. - Goethe Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pangz Posted August 12, 2004 Author Share Posted August 12, 2004 hmm... just trying to source around for dad, he's not so updated with the new cars. And since i'm helping out with car maintenance, petrol and insurance, would like to know what are the best choices available. And to answer terry's question, i drive half the time. so Wish does not have an aircon for the rear seat.... hmm... i do appreciate the space though.... perhaps will get down to the car dealers this weekend to look see. Thanks for the comments! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
terryansimon Posted August 12, 2004 Share Posted August 12, 2004 sporty? go for the new odyssey. even more sporty. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pangz Posted August 12, 2004 Author Share Posted August 12, 2004 odyssey nice.... but think ex right? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
terryansimon Posted August 12, 2004 Share Posted August 12, 2004 ah. I see. (= hopefully your father goes for something sporty! hehz. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pangz Posted August 12, 2004 Author Share Posted August 12, 2004 heh... best if sporty like WRX.... haha... can't imagine him driving it... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
terryansimon Posted August 12, 2004 Share Posted August 12, 2004 don't be surprised. I've seen old uncles the age of 60 - 70 driving STIs. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pangz Posted August 12, 2004 Author Share Posted August 12, 2004 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Michaeleu Posted August 12, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted August 12, 2004 Try this http://www.toyota.co.jp/Showroom/All_toyot...edan/index.html http://www.toyota.co.jp/sp/corolla/newcoro...olla/index.html Can find this from some parrallel importor in singapore. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pangz Posted August 12, 2004 Author Share Posted August 12, 2004 Thanks micheal. Nice car... will look out for it. Parallel importers u say? Anyone with lobangs? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member jc85 Posted August 12, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted August 12, 2004 Is this sporty enough for a Wish? Quote Earth Conservation Blog My Marine Blog For All Sengkang Residents Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...