Resun FR

sugi

Its suitable for small tanks as it can't hold that much media.

Haven't seen it yet but I believe one sponge is supposed to be sitting at the bottom?

Affordable price.

Better than DIYing yourself from those tupper ware jar.

As for the performance, I have not tested yet.

Good buy, let us know if its leak proof after testing it externally. ya, AT is correct.....one sponge should be below and the other on top.........anyway you ahven;t put in the media yet :-)

Eric

i think boss mentioned before that the screw-on caps will have rowa stuck inside the screw thread and will be very difficult to unscrew them...

another thing i noticed, it doesn't come with a ball valve, gotta get one to control the flowrate, if not your rowa will flow into your tank and pollute everything...

Yup.... the sponge has to be placed correctly.

Just wash it up.

There is a rubber gasket at the bottom and on top of the cap

to revent water from leaking.

It seems I cannot twist and open the below cap.

May be it is glued.

Anyway, I don think it will leak.

Having used a screw-cap for my old DIY FR design... the cons would be that tiny grains of media will cause difficulty in closing the cap... you get a lot of grinding sounds when that happens! So you will have to use a wet colour to wipe away any grains from the screw threads.... a little more leh-cheh. ;)

i think eric's water bottle type is more user-friendly...heheheehe...

You cant have cheap and good stuff at the same time :lol:

We have to trade a little here and there.

Usually what is the pump size required for FR ?

1000L/hr ?

Sugi, can the centre inlet tube be removed from the top? If cannot then it will be a hassle/obstruction when filling up the media.........the same reason why I decommission my DIY water bottle FR.

I think 1000l/hr flowrate should be more than sufficent, you might even want to go lower 600-800l/hr to increase contact time between media and water for full absorption.

Eric

You cant have cheap and good stuff at the same time :lol:

We have to trade a little here and there.

Usually what is the pump size required for FR ?

1000L/hr ?

i think for something that size, a 400ltr powerhead should be enough...

my fren is using joe's FR, has about 1ltr of rowa inside, using a 3000ltr dolphin powerhead, and reduce the flowrate with the ballvalve by about 3/4...so i believe it should be around 500ltr only...flowrate cannot be too strong, if not rowa will flowback into the tank....i suggest u get a small ball valve from hardware shop, get a 13mm kind shoud be sufficient...very cheap only, less than $5...better than getting a suitable pump...

S**t it was glued :o

Saw the smaller model and the centre pipe was not attach to the top cap.

So you mean the FBF-1000 has the centre pipe glued to the top and the FBF-500 has the centre pipe glued to the bottom?

Can't be leh..........unless its a manufacturing defect.

Eric

glued???

good luck...how to replenish your rowa??very troublesome....

i have a stupid suggestion...

after emptying the old rowa, close up the cap...then top up the rowa from the outlet pipe...but this way, the top filter wool have to omitted, which means there might be a little flow back of the rowa into the tank...to solve this, try to add as little rowa as possible and use very slow flowrate...

the top layer of the rowa should be waving and not flying all around when your FR is operated...

So you mean the FBF-1000 has the centre pipe glued to the top and the FBF-500 has the centre pipe glued to the bottom?

Can't be leh..........unless its a manufacturing defect.

Eric

The smaller one was not glue to the bottom.

It is not support to be glued to the bottom.

But it seems like when i took out the top cap, it was not glued.

I am not sure about it. I was buying in a rush as wife was waiting in the car.

May be someone who bough the smaller unit tell us.

glued???

good luck...how to replenish your rowa??very troublesome....

i have a stupid suggestion...

after emptying the old rowa, close up the cap...then top up the rowa from the outlet pipe...but this way, the top filter wool have to omitted, which means there might be a little flow back of the rowa into the tank...to solve this, try to add as little rowa as possible and use very slow flowrate...

the top layer of the rowa should be waving and not flying all around when your FR is operated...

Wah lao............so troublesome..........like that I might as well cut the centre pipe into 2 (nearer to the top) and use a tight fitting pvc joint to connect it..........so after topping up the media, I can just slot it into the pvc joint.

Eric

but must find a suitable pipe fitting loh...and wat about the bottom support?? wat will support the bottom piece??

aiyo...headache liao...lucky i never order...

sugi: paiseh, dun mean to splash water on u...

well, cheap things are not always good and good things never come cheap...hehehehe...my gf taught me this...