life rock red

weiloong

oicoic :thanks:

Most common reasons for Cyno

1) Water circulation is not enough - there are dead spots within the tankl that water is almost stagnant

2) Too much nutrients - Reduce feeding and improve skimmimg. Use a good skimmer

Remedies

1) Siphon off cyno

2) Increase water flows with the tank by have another powerhead

3) Nuke it with chemical (last resorts)

From what I know, cyno are bacteria. not algae and thus reducing photoperiod is not very effective in controlling them. ;)

Most common reasons for Cyno

1) Water circulation is not enough - there are dead spots within the tankl that water is almost stagnant

2) Too much nutrients - Reduce feeding and improve skimmimg. Use a good skimmer

Remedies

1) Siphon off cyno

2) Increase water flows with the tank by have another powerhead

3) Nuke it with chemical (last resorts)

From what I know, cyno are bacteria. not algae and thus reducing photoperiod is not very effective in controlling them. ;)

oic thankz :D if i change water does it work ?

It depends on:

1. Budget

2. Space available

3. Tank size

Most hobbyist started with Weipro, Macro or Prizm and slowly advances to Aqua C, H& S or Backett.

oic thankz :D if i change water does it work ?

already told you u need some medication if its cyano, go to a LFS and ask for some Red Slime Remover. If the substance found on the sandbed is diatoms, as already suggested by Vinoth, use of Rowaphos would help ease the problem. However, if its cyano, the rowaphos wouldn't help and the increased circulation might even fuel its growth.

If you still dun understand, I suggest you do a search on "Diatoms" & "Cyano" and read up more about it.

Good Luck!

Vincent Ho

When using this Red Slime Remover, pls take note of those corals on the sandbed, try removing them as it may prove detrimental to their existence.

My $0.02. :)

When using this Red Slime Remover, pls take note of those corals on the sandbed, try removing them as it may prove detrimental to their existence.

Agree with you sis.

I have tried that before and sacrificed my torch over it. :angry:

Anyway, I personally feels that it is best to use chemical as a last resorts thus I term it as "Nuking the tank".

The priority is always good husbandry and lastly "Boh Bian" then nuke.

:o how much does it cost for the Red Slime Remover and which place got sell ?

1. IMHO means In My Honest Opinion.

2. Red Slime Remover can be bought at most marine LFS, I bought mine from Marine Life for $18

2. Red Slime Remover is very effective. But as mentioned earlier some invertebrates cannot with stand the "POWER"

Thus the moral of the story is "Prevention is better than cure". ;)

oh.

thanks for advice.

btw, i saw red slime remover selling for $39!! at a shop at yishun...

wah... urs cheap... hmmm where is marine life.

i think i need to buy it..

Sorry should be $38 not $18. typo error......

Actually I only use once and have the full bottle with me. If you are interested to buy? Can PM me... ;) Self collect at Punngol :D

No choice lah. Me not actively selling.

I work around Bt Merah, that is another window for us to meet.

PM me if you want. I dun want wait kena warning by MODS.

Cheers,