Whats this purple thing on my sandbed?

sorry to steal this thread, but thought can share some info.

yes, i got this cyanobacteria thing about 2 to 3 weeks ago.

grew quite ugly as the days passed.

i ended up taking off the top layer of sand.

what causes it ?

and is there a better way to prevent and if already "kena", how to have it removed ?

sorry to steal this thread, but thought can share some info.

yes, i got this cyanobacteria thing about 2 to 3 weeks ago.

grew quite ugly as the days passed.

i ended up taking off the top layer of sand.

what causes it ?

and is there a better way to prevent and if already "kena", how to have it removed ?

Its part and parcel of new tanks. Its caused mainly by high phospates and nitrates. To prevent it, increase water flow and lower your nutrient levels. If its already in your tank, suck it out and increase the water flow. Shorten your photo period if need be.

My tank water flow very strong leh... i using a 2500l/hr pump as my return pump for my sump leh... is this powerful enough to give good water flow?

2500ltr pump? unless it is a pressure rated pump if not definitely not enuf for your 3ft tank...i am using a 3000-4000 pump and still not satisfied, getting the new rio seio soon...

if my overflow down pipe is big enuf, i will prolly go for the rio hyper flow 32hf, 6000+ltr...ppppphhhhhhhheeeeeeeewwwwwww...no need wavemater liao...

i think your tank is super new right?? think the bio load is too much for your tank...try getting phosphate remover(best if u get rowa or contra with a FR) and do water change more frequently to reduce nitrate...feed your fishes less...

Ehh i have phos remove liao, i using phosguard by seachem. Plus i got no fishes in my tank currently cos i thinking of have a reef only tank. So far i haven change water yet cos my water now still under cycling after i switch from coral chip seabed to deep sand bed.