LPS Placement

d00d

I am thinking of packing my tank more densely with corals. But I have a problem. As LPS cannot be placed close together, there would be parts of the tank that would be empty. not pleasing... :( So far only SPS, whoa so dense and beautiful. :angel:

May I know if there are any way out of this problem? Are there any corals that can be placed in between two LPS? Need ideas and suggestions! All welcomed! :D:D:D THANKS! :peace:

want to knw too...want to pack my tank with corals closely but dun knw how..Use a small piece of stone to seperate?? :lol:

had a long thought abt this but then it occured to me :idea: gg to set up a species tank.... all openbrains :yeah: trachyphyllia only tank :P (hope i finally get the spelling right :paiseh: )

I am thinking of packing my tank more densely with corals. But I have a problem. As LPS cannot be placed close together, there would be parts of the tank that would be empty. not pleasing... :( So far only SPS, whoa so dense and beautiful. :angel:

May I know if there are any way out of this problem? Are there any corals that can be placed in between two LPS? Need ideas and suggestions! All welcomed! :D:D:D THANKS! :peace:

Scape ur tank with tonga branches, give you lots of "holes" to place ur LPS & also assist in leaving a "distance" between the corals due to the different length and thickness of the branches.

Eric

Good suggestions so far! Keep them coming! :D

Eric's suggestions not bad. I think a mixture of tonga branch and also multiple layers of flat plate-like rocks would enable us to place corals closer together, or in the sense look closer, as what Navyblue suggested. :lol:

What ya guys think? :rolleyes:

i'm having that my problem myself too...

my big hammer stung my bubble till its half bleached, then my moon coral stung my big hammer till 2 inches if it (10%) is closed. then the big hammer stung my clove polyps after i moved the bubble away and put the cloves where the bubble was.

so sickening! :angry:

i was thinking of putting the LPS that can be placed near each other very close then put some Sea fans between the corals that cannot be placed near each other to fill in the gap. hope the sea fans cannot get stung themselves lah. :P

oh and will clams get stung by other corals?

i'm having that my problem myself too...

my big hammer stung my bubble till its half bleached, then my moon coral stung my big hammer till 2 inches if it (10%) is closed. then the big hammer stung my clove polyps after i moved the bubble away and put the cloves where the bubble was.

so sickening! :angry:

i was thinking of putting the LPS that can be placed near each other very close then put some Sea fans between the corals that cannot be placed near each other to fill in the gap. hope the sea fans cannot get stung themselves lah. :P

oh and will clams get stung by other corals?

Sea fan & clams comfirm will get stung.......you can try putting some polyps, buttons, soft corals in between.......they seems to have more resistance to stings.

Eric

For LPS like hammer etc that can come with long "bodies", I try to buy the longest and stick them into holes among the LR. Thus they look like "trees" and other LPS and mushrooms will not be stung by them.

In general, I use the alternative "high-low-high" (makes sense?) way to stack my rocks so that its easier to slot in the corals.

Nice placement of hammer and frogspawn, nutx. Seen lots of people doing this. Real cool. :D

reeflobang, haha! I know what you mean by high, low, high... Itis how you place your LRs so you can put corals high and low. So they won't touch each other. :lol: Correct me if I am wrong.

Ok, so far got a few methods... Summaries....

1. Species tank haha! :lol: >> bubble_gum

2. "High-low-high" >> reeflobang

3. Long stem to protrud outwards >> reeflobang

4. Multiple layering >> Navyblue

5. Tonga branch >> Eric

:D:D:D:lol::lol::lol::yeah::yeah::yeah:

Great job guys!