help pls...

here is the situation......

i got 2 3 feet tank ... side by side in a L shape....... one tank is higher than the other BY 4 cm..... i was thinking of drilling a small hole on the higher tank so it will overflow into my other tank..... the question is will water overflow even if it is only 4 cm higher ????? thanks....

actually, 4cm is quite tall already...but the scary part is drilling the hole...

y are u connecting both the tanks together? its not as if the fishes can swim over.... and 1 thing that u have to note is, if 1 tank contracts disease (hopefully not), the other tank will kena too...

:bow: hmm.. thanks typrobin... clears my mind already.... well... the second tank is currently empty.... still cycling... and i am not planning on any fish........ just going to jam pack it with alot of LPS...... now my current establish tank got only 3 fishes...... so the next tank i am going fishless..... and no DSB,...... just SSB with lots of LR....... typrobin ....... is it true 4 cm is already high ??????? on what did u base ur answer on ??? did u experience B4 ... sorry...... i just need clearification..... didnt mean to question ur answer..... hope u not offended... :thanks::thanks::thanks::bow: thanks.... :bow:

Yes, the water would definitely flow over due to gravity. But the gap inbetween the two tanks no matter how small. Won't water sip in between while flowing? ;) Dunno how you gonna do it though. Maybe some pics would help. :D

Think your main reason to merge the two tanks is to get the stable water conditions of a 5 footer. It's a good idea pal. :lol: Ohh... one more thing, you got a pump to pump the water back to your higher tank? :D

and d00d... of course i have a pump... intending on a very small hole... so can get the smallest powerhead....... i am currently using that as my sump... my sump is fed by a pump.... and comes back to the tank by gravity......

Your said the water is going to overflow over right? Then it is going to cross in between the two tanks... Thus, in between the two tanks there would be a gap right? Water seeps... how to explain... haha seep is slower than flow lol! Think I spelled it wropngly thats why haha! Sorry! :rolleyes:

Dun really know your system, but I derived this thought from my imagination after looking at your tank in the member tank forum. :)

and d00d... of course i have a pump... intending on a very small hole... so can get the smallest powerhead....... i am currently using that as my sump... my sump is fed by a pump.... and comes back to the tank by gravity......

Just use a U tube or flexible hose to siphon the water over, to get the siphon started, just attached one of those below to the tube to draw the water over and automatically the siphon will begin until ur U tube suck in air when the higher tank level drops.........so you must always maintain ur higher tank level above the siphon U tube.

post-6-1090461617.jpg

i dont mind it seeping.... in fact my current set up.... the water from the sump is seeping into my main tank... for those of u who dont know... my sump works like an overhead filter........ water is pump up.... and fed by graity..... but the only difference is my sump is at the side of my tank nt over it.......

It is like ###### water from your tank with a hose to a pail lor. Start the suction then let it continue ###### water over to the lower tank. That means the tube have to be secured in between both tanks. Interesting... :idea:

erm... good idea...... but somehow i dont trust that flimsy looking stuff.... so prefer to drill a hole...... thanks for all ur answers...... and d00d ... is that the seeep u are trying to say ???? the slow movement of the water.????