Any guys here into 3D modelling?

ervine

Hi guys,

Just picked up 3Dsmax over the hols and have been trying to figure things out... was wondering if anyone here is into it?

Here's a pic of something I'm working on, I'm trying to model a mini copper but having some problems with the smoothing along the bumper...

Anyone can give some advice?

Thanks,

Ervine

post-11-1089810304.jpg

Hi guys,

Just picked up 3Dsmax over the hols and have been trying to figure things out... was wondering if anyone here is into it?

Here's a pic of something I'm working on, I'm trying to model a mini copper but having some problems with the smoothing along the bumper...

Anyone can give some advice?

Thanks,

Ervine

cool bro... im doin modelling in sch but still new :paiseh::paiseh: cant help u.... btw what is it made of?

Using 3Dsmax 6, poly modelling... not a technical project, just visual.. so no need to be too precise software...

Managed to resolve some of the problems by checking the vertices, some were not welded properly, then converted some triangles to quads (supposed to be able to allow Meshsmooth to work better) and tweaked the vertices again here and there...

Here's an updated render, still have some problems in the bumper area though... the middle of the body nevermind first coz I haven't welded the two halves together..

post-11-1089820325.jpg

thats cool man!!!! :bow::bow:

im using 3dsmax 6 as well, but more for architectural and interior animations.... btw, is that a single object? would be better if u separate doors, windows for animaton and easier material applications.....

what renderer do u use?

Yup, i've already seperated doors and hood, will seperate the others later... everything else is now a single mesh..

I too use max for architecture (in fact that's why I started using it) but seriously it's not the best tool to model, to render probably but not to model... unless we are talking about organic architecture, if it's just HDB blocks there are much faster software out there to model...

Or is there some secret in max that I don't know about yet that will speed up modelling for architecture?? Hehehe...

Using the default scanline for now.. couldn't get my hands on brazil or some other more professional renderer... maybe I just wack mental ray...

welcome to the sleepless nites of architorture... heheheh.....

those plugins ive mentioned are good for our line; rpc are elements; people (moving & static), plants and trees, vehicles... u need not model ur cooper anymore... hehehe....

speedtree is a very good tool as it gives u realistic trees, which sways and moves if u assign a wind to it, best is none of them r the same when u try to duplicate it.

seascape is good water works; very realistic .....

lots of other things to learn but its hard to catch up and update coz its a never ending learning process and in the end u'll just burn out like i did.... hehehe...

good luck bro!

Hm.. architorture... u one year my senior? or old bird liaos?

Actually considering moving out of architecture, long hours, low pay, little self fulfilment, stressful working environment, etc etc... that's why started to hantam some max see if I can branch out a little...

architecture is fun..... challenges ur creative mind, and who says there is low pay in architecture ;) ........im old bird lah, from architecture swayed to 3d and animations which i find more fun than boring autocad detailing and planning....

High pay in architecture only for the bosses leh... the others get paid peanuts if you don't climb the ladder... but this is compared to other professions lah eg. docs lawyers, etc...

Also, there's too many restrictions which hinder one's creative limits... while at times the restrictions help guide one, more often than not they make things very monotonous... well I guess that depends on which firm you work with too huh...

Moron: Yup.. will get to that in a while.. I got the outline for the mini, not the mini S.. so will add in the little stuff later after I settle all the windows and rear bumper.. hold on to ur horses!

Anyway, here's the latest one... not much difference just cleaned it up a little, made certain things more defined and managed to solve the weird bends under the door...

post-11-1089913850.jpg