keeping butterfly n angels in a reef tank

hamannbmw

seen a REEF tank with butterfly n some angels in the tank... according to the guy, first u need to put the butterfly of angel into a container (do not release it into the tank) keep it there for weeks and feed them with pellets, BS etc etc. Once there get use to the foods that u have been giving them , its time to release them into the tank.

It will not nip on yr corals from now on.... :huh:

Anyone here had been keeping angels or butterflies in their reef tank ?

seen a REEF tank with butterfly n some angels in the tank... according to the guy, first u need to put the butterfly of angel into a container (do not release it into the tank) keep it there for weeks and feed them with pellets, BS etc etc. Once there get use to the foods that u have been giving them , its time to release them into the tank.

It will not nip on yr corals from now on.... :huh:

I tink its a good idea to have them trained to eat, but chances are that they might one day take a nip at your corals, u can never 100% guarantee, also, the "box" has to be big enough not to stress the fish too much! you can keep the fish boxed up for a few weeks without stressing it!

my angel used to leave peacefully with the corals...but once was busy with work and didn't feed them as much.....then they start attacking my LPS....so IMHO, i don't think that even if you do get them interest in food only, there is no guranttee that you can alway feed them on time and regulary...

i don't think i can agree with your suggestion on "training". ;)

i have a banner butterfly since february till now. it will not disturb, nip or "tock" the corals. most peace loving fish i have seen. :P

guess what ??? in the last few days, it keeps nipping at the corals, even though there has been no change in the feeding cycle or quantity. :angry:

have just moved him to the sump. personally i feel very sad for the fish, all of a sudden having to be alone. :cry2:

If you play with fire, have to be prepared to get burned once in a while.

I have a coral beauty and a blue face angel in my tank. So far has been peaceful, except 2 of my soft coral up lorry. After that was ok. Thinking of introducing a copperband butterfly too (sorry lah...cannot resist its charm). With so many coral attacking fish, I only resort to keeping inexpensive coral. Those $10-20 bucks type.

any more comments .. i love the golden angel.... :paiseh:

hehe....I have a golden angel in my tank.....have never seen the fish eating what I fed (Mysis and brine shrimp).....but still surviving and fat fat..........hmmm.......my LPS are still ok leh......donno what the joker fed on :fear:

Contemplating to add a flame angel..... :evil:

[hehe....I have a golden angel in my tank.....have never seen the fish eating what I fed (Mysis and brine shrimp).....but still surviving and fat fat..........hmmm.......my LPS are still ok leh......donno what the joker fed on :fear:

Contemplating to add a flame angel..... :evil:

wa..... u make me very tempting :wub: , how long have u been keeping the golden angel..... :huh: , please dont let me see any in the LFS :ph34r: