Stacking of Base Live Rock

Hi Reefer,

is stacking of live rock right down to the bottom of the tank before adding the level of sand? The corect and better way?

Aim is to provide a firm foundation. Afarid that over period if the LR is stack on top of the sand might give way and topple.

Many thanks

Moxa

Yes, that is the correct way. Alternatively, a cheaper way would be to build a"foundation" using pvc piping with eggcrates. Both will keep the rocks a lot more stable. If u want to be even more "kiasu" than that, u can also join the rocks together using epoxy glue or via piping inserts afater u drill the relevant size holes in the LR - just like Meccano set... :P

Hope above helps...

Hi Bro Siput,

Thanks for the advice.

I am off to start the cleaning of my new tank and then a water leakage test (leave abt 4 a week) before started to place base LR mix with salt inside it. Is a 80 Gallons 3X2X2 and is a FOWLR.

Many thanks.

Moxa

Yes, that is the correct way. Alternatively, a cheaper way would be to build a"foundation" using pvc piping with eggcrates. Both will keep the rocks a lot more stable. If u want to be even more "kiasu" than that, u can also join the rocks together using epoxy glue or via piping inserts afater u drill the relevant size holes in the LR - just like Meccano set... :P

Hope above helps...

paisay, a bit suaku..... can anyone tell me where to get eggcrates...... :paiseh: actually dun even know what they look like.

hi moxa! hee, i always stack the flat solid pieces right at the bottom so as to create a firm base. later on can add others like softies on top. btw, where's your pic of your tank?

cheers.