Quarantining your fish...

Hi

After my Tangs got infested by ich.....I was thinking of setting up a quarantine tank but a not too elaborated one.......and I came across this article by Reefkeeping magazine.....so thought of sharing with you guys........ ;)

http://reefkeeping.com/issues/2002-02/atj/feature/index.htm

One headache is I need to find a place for my quarantine tank...... <_<

I dont even bother about quarantine..

cause I dont anyhow buy fish and will only buy fish from LFS that I trust and ask how long they r already in the LFS (the longer they r in the LFS the higher the chance) and eating well be4 they go into my tank...

Sigh.....I gonna tackle that "impulsive" buying attitude!!!! Sigh!

Keeping my finger cross for my fishes.....sigh! Already loss my 1 and only anthias to the damn ich......

Been using this Kick-Ich medication for the 3rd day already....sigh.....started to worry because I have also switch off my Protein Skimmer in order to have effectiveness for the medication......worry <_<

Damn Ich!!!! :angry:

Kick-Ich medication from SL...

bro, I once also use medication for ich.. try it once.. and swear never to use it....

result ich not totally kill as they make a come back... RTN a few of my corals...

pollute my water parameter....

medication will be a no no.. for me..

I thought u r using UV light..???? feed your fish well and make sure they eat and poo.. then will be ok...

anthias also will gatta ich.. hmm I never see my 4 anthias suffer from ich except my blue tang... but his body use to it and recover very fast.

Sigh.....I gonna tackle that "impulsive" buying attitude!!!! Sigh!

Keeping my finger cross for my fishes.....sigh! Already loss my 1 and only anthias to the damn ich......

Been using this Kick-Ich medication for the 3rd day already....sigh.....started to worry because I have also switch off my Protein Skimmer in order to have effectiveness for the medication......worry  <_<

Damn Ich!!!! :angry:

As another forumer had mentioned in one of my thread. ICH is not a problem if the LS is eating as it will fight it off by itself. Same thing happen to me when I bought my coral beauty and it was cover with ICH on the 3rd day but once it starts to "makan" and some help from the CS :unsure::unsure: it recovers. No medication added.

Kick-Ich medication from SL...

bro, I once also use medication for ich.. try it once.. and swear never to use it....

result ich not totally kill as they make a come back... RTN a few of my corals...

pollute my water parameter....

medication will be a no no.. for me..

I thought u r using UV light..???? feed your fish well and make sure they eat and poo.. then will be ok...

anthias also will gatta ich.. hmm I never see my 4 anthias suffer from ich except my blue tang... but his body use to it and recover very fast.

Bro.....is it? No good huh?.....I was thinking a bottle of that couldnt last me for the 15days treatment....because of my tank! ......and its real expensive......even more expensive than my family doctor!!! %$#@$%$%

So far my Corals have been reacting well to my MH......only feeding my tangs with lettuce now.....even the powder brown (host infector of ich) eat like a pig!....has still been very active!!! :unsure:

In fact I am running my 35w UV lights 24hrs a day....but still kanna leh!!! :erm:

It true!.....my anthias kanna also.....then for 2 days.....become food for my shrimps....Sigh! DAMP $#^%$#$%@#^ ICH!!! :angry:

try garlic... it's very true and help fish fight stupid ich...

from what I know last time when I use kick-ich.. it kill some of those big worm in the LR or something and it die and rot there and no shrimp or whatever can go in and help eat it...

well alot do clam UV does not really help in killing ich.. me dont know how true..but for me I hardly on my UV at all.. as I dont want to kill off those gd stuff in my tank..

dont need to just let them eat veg.. let them eat anything meat or veg with garlic mix in it... the more they eat the better...

Quarantine fish? In my experience, will make the fish condition worst.

Cause normally quarantine tank is small and don't have good filtration system. Feel that it will stress the fish more.

I even tried putting in a yellow tang. Ich full around body on 3rd day in the quarantine tank. Then I put it in main tank in those acrylic container. It recovered a little and I releaes it before fully recover, it still struggle through Ich attack.

So agree with the rest, most important is that it MUST eat..

Tank 4x2x2.5

it's always the tang that start the ich.. dam it..

keep away from tang and u will be ich free lor... lolz...

dont know here in SG so many ppls into tang... they r hard to keep and troublesome fish.. I only get tang to help in eating algae... lolz...

should try schooling of fish.. they look nicer and stay longer as they r lesser in stress...

Sigh!....I try that Alan.....my mysis and brine shrimps are both soaked with garlic.....the joker (Power Brown) never recover.....thats why I resort to use medication!

Strangely my brown and blue tank can??? :huh:

I didnt dare feeding them with shrimps because I off my Protein Skimmer.....due to the medication.......will monitor how it goes on the 5 and 6th days......damp worried i must say....sigh!....the consoling part is at least they eat like pig.......

May the force be with my fishes!!!! :angel:

Chrislwp.....I agree with you.....

Alfa.....thanks for the encouragement......lets say together.....DAMP ICH!!!!! :lol:

give the brown sometime.. his body is not use to fighting off ich...

and monitor with care... which explain where the fish come from and how use they r to ich...

like my blue tang who is so use to ich.. he never bother about it and day 1 gatta ich.. day 2 ich free for very long unless stress again, with nothing done to aids him in recovering..

I don't really know whether is this true coz while my coral beauty is in the recovery period. My CS like to jump on her. Is the CS cleaning her of ICH or just other parasites? :unsure::unsure::unsure:

But what I do know is that everytime I see my CS jump on her to do some cleaning, the ICH will get lesser the next day.

some CS after some time dun do cleaning task.

they wait for food u drop to feed the fishes.

if got abalone to eat u want to eat shit??

Well yes I do agree with that.. but it's also partly reefer fault result from over feeding..

it's always the tang that start the ich.. dam it..

keep away from tang and u will be ich free lor... lolz...

dont know here in SG so many ppls into tang... they r hard to keep and troublesome fish.. I only get tang to help in eating algae... lolz...

wah-lao-a totally agree man, tang really is very the troublesome

I bought one yellow tang size about 50cent coin hoping it will help with the algae problem but end up it help itself to whatever shit I throw into the tank., and alage happily growing.

this felle grow fast, now 50% bigger and worst of all become territorial and crazy. Behave like a detective/pink-panter always swim very fast close to the LR..Chee-Sin! :angry: and push any fish away from the hiding area.

time to set it free :evil: