Blueheaven's 4ft Tank

blueheaven

well, the prawn is placed to kick start the cycling process by introducing ammonia for the bacteria so I'll just let it rot until bits and pieces start flying all over then I will change

You will know that you have finished the cycling process when you observe the following:

1)A spike in ammonia (NH3)

2)Sudden drop in ammonia levels to 0

3)A spike in nitrites (NO2)

4)Sudden drop in nitrites to 0

5)A spike in nitrates (NO3)

4)gradual decrease in nitrates to acceptable levels

One thing to note is that you should remove the prawn after you see a drop in ammonia or maximum leave it for a few more days only :lol:

• Replies 1.9k

Wow you seems to be an authority in reef keeping :D

haha no lah :paiseh:

I just read up on interesting articles and somehow i manage to memorise and use these techniques :lol::lol:

still in cycling stage but im sure soon ur gonna add a kole if ur water params permits u? :rolleyes::P

hehe..how did you know? :yeah:

Yep i love the Koles cause they look nice and eats algae on the glass too :lol::lol:

Hi guys, guess what I saw today morning

Was cleaning the glass with a magnet cleaner and I got a whooper when i saw PODS!!! :yeah:

Immediately checked my sump and yep there are pods there too :lol::lol:

I will try to get a pic of them close-up soon :whistle

Wow.... :bow:

Nice tank!

Envy sia.... Hope to get something like yours...

But still newbie... maybe till my knowledge increase.... :D

Well I get lots of information from books, online articles and magazines :lol:

Anyway, here's a preview of a new book i borrowed

Its written by Eric Borneman himself and will sure to be of good help to me :yeah::yeah:

post-34-1089989636.jpg

if you're young, consider that I am only 15 yrs old :lol::lol:

I am impressed by the cooling of the tank

Total loss of water due to evaporation: Approx. 0.3kg

Specific Heat Capacity of Sea Water: 3900J per kg

Specific Heat Capacity of Sea Water for 0.3kg: 1170J

Specific Latent Heat of Vapourisation of Water: 2260000J per kg

Specific Latent Heat of Vapourisation of Water for 0.3kg: 678000

Assuming there is no heat gained from external sources and heat is absorbed from the medium (Water),

Temperature loss: 678000J divide 1170J = 579 degrees!!!!

Spread for whole day: 24 hours

579 divide 24 = 24 degrees Celcius

Which means, my tank will lose 24 degrees every hour if there is no heat gained my surroundings

Finally, estimate tank gains 15 degrees from surroundings, temperature will be 9 degrees below room temp.

Hope i'm correct... :lol::lol:

An insight of my intended livestock:

Kole Tang :lol:

Sailfin Tang

Sohal Tang

Atlantic Blue Sailfin (If still have)

Blue Green Chromis (About 6 or so)

Bartlett Anthias (3 will do)

Bannerfish (Still researching on feasibility)

Noticed that the hole drilled in the return pipe which is supposed to break siphon is actually acting like a venturi and now my sump compartment work like a mini skimmer too (will try to post video tomorrow

Plus the Beckett I am getting soon, I will try and see the max. i can stock

Anyway, tomorrow i am going to get a bottle of DT to try sustain and increase pod population. i also spotted an earthworm looking worm in my refugium :yeah::yeah:

Bannerfish out of the list cause its not reef-safe

Better not take chances :lol::lol:

I will be observing pod populations these few days as I dose DTs once every 2 days.

So far, the only critters i see are pods(increasing tremendously), small transparent worms and tiny featherdusters on my LR :lol:

According to the book, it stated that DOM, detritus and free floating particles and bacteria form a part of coral nutrition called bacterioplankton :ph34r:

In fact, all the corals tested fed heavily on bacterioplankton so it suggests that to maintain healthy, thriving corals, you should only skim to an extent that the water is clear of the yellowish tint and not more than that. This might be a point of discussion in the subject of overskimming.

A phrase widely used in foreign reefkeeping is "Less, Technology, More Biology"

Maybe its just me but I tend to hate people who think that the more sophisticated equipments they have, the better. Yes, it is necessary to use certain equipments when an aspect of reefkeeping cannot be met by natural means. And for everything else, just leave it to nature to do the job :lol::lol:

A phrase widely used in foreign reefkeeping is "Less, Technology, More Biology" Maybe its just me but I tend to hate people who think that the more sophisticated equipments they have, the better. Yes, it is necessary to use certain equipments when an aspect of reefkeeping cannot be met by natural means. And for everything else, just leave it to nature to do the job

I agree with whatcha said, good point bro! :lol::lol::lol: Just let nature do its stuff and use the necessary equipment to help it along thats all. :angel:

Btw I like your setup and your sump. Great tank in the making and you're so young! Haha! Keep it up man! :peace:

Got a Foxface today :lol::lol:

Actually looking for a Kole or the C. Binotatus but couldn't find one so I got him instead :lol:

post-34-1090679650.jpg

I used two clothes clip to clip the bag to my hood :D

post-34-1090679760.jpg

Finally after 1 hour of acclimatization, I released it to the tank

Darted into the LR straight away :rolleyes:

post-34-1090679890.jpg

And look who's out to explore the tank :lol::lol:

post-34-1090680023.jpg

Another pic:

Reminds me of the scene in Finding Nemo where the angelfish talks to her reflection on the glass :lol::lol:

post-34-1090680182.jpg