bwilly Posted July 3, 2004 Share Posted July 3, 2004 Some misconception abt this fish being an eel which may clean the ich off the fishes. Not sure its being any good, from the book I got, it seem to bite tankmates. Difficult to house with other fishes. So those who got it recently, not a good thing if its latching onto your fish. Mine? Already in the stomach of my hawkfish. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bwilly Posted July 3, 2004 Author Share Posted July 3, 2004 should keep this marine fishes 500+ essential to know aquarium species in my car boot.. happen to kpo today when I see my new fish in my hawkfish stomach. a good buy book... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
auberon Posted July 3, 2004 Share Posted July 3, 2004 Read about it too from the same book as well as a few books. Saw it once sometime back in a LFS. Attracted to it's colors but remembered reading about it so I decided against it. Wish some of these LFS would take more care about what they bring in. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
giantbicycle Posted July 3, 2004 Share Posted July 3, 2004 Some misconception abt this fish being an eel which may cleanthe ich off the fishes. Not sure its being any good, from the book I got, it seem to bite tankmates. Difficult to house with other fishes. So those who got it recently, not a good thing if its latching onto your fish. Mine? Already in the stomach of my hawkfish. Is this the fish at EAN new shipment yesterday?? If it is , wat edmund said is to clean off parasite from the body of the fish?? Hope its a different spieces but looks the same.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member flubberina13 Posted July 3, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted July 3, 2004 Oh...it jumped out and committed suicide... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
giantbicycle Posted July 3, 2004 Share Posted July 3, 2004 Oh...it jumped out and committed suicide... so called as your ikan billis?? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bwilly Posted July 3, 2004 Author Share Posted July 3, 2004 look at the scienctific name lohz.. so many species.. sometimes not easy to ID. esp the lighting abit dark.. I was taking the plastic bags n shine under a tank MH for better view. anyway good choice of fishes, best to do some research yourself before commiting, nobody force u to take mah.. quite colourful lah.. I like fierce fishes.. !! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member flubberina13 Posted July 3, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted July 3, 2004 Bwilly...apologies...I thought I found one to replace your eagerly anticipated sharknose...so I suggegsted it to you... Solie... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bwilly Posted July 3, 2004 Author Share Posted July 3, 2004 Bwilly...apologies...I thought I found one to replace your eagerly anticipated sharknose...so I suggegsted it to you... Solie... alamak.. told u in PM liao.. its fine.. like I said above.. I like fierce fishes.. haha... sissy one can go into my sump like the sunburst (fathead anthias) that bugger been in my sump for 1week+.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Supporter Joe_P Posted July 3, 2004 SRC Supporter Share Posted July 3, 2004 alamak.. told u in PM liao.. its fine.. like I said above.. I like fierce fishes.. haha... sissy one can go into my sump like the sunburst (fathead anthias) that bugger been in my sump for 1week+.. I will buy the "sissy" fish from you if you don't like them... Jus curious, anyone experience fishes with less flesh after the addition of the so called eels? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member flubberina13 Posted July 3, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted July 3, 2004 I guess not all are experts in identifying fish...Moreover, some fish does look alike... I mistook the eibli tang for the eibli angel and nearly missed on a good buy too... Guess, we should bring along a fish atlas whenever we go lfsing....sometimes, in our excitement when we see uncommon fish...and to ask the lfs owner to reserve them...we .... Guess it's our fault too... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member flubberina13 Posted July 3, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted July 3, 2004 Jus curious, anyone experience fishes with less flesh after the addition of the so called eels? My current fish still okay...will keep you informed... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weileong Posted July 3, 2004 Share Posted July 3, 2004 got some bite marks on my AT Banish mine to the sump liao... play safe. Quote Weileong's 4ft tank Part I Weileong's 4ft tank Part II Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member nicholasloh Posted July 3, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted July 3, 2004 good choice... i think it is usually confused as they are also kept together with other fishes in LFS...sometimes even latching lor... so ppl see liao think that it is cleaner without really observing Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Maxima Posted July 3, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted July 3, 2004 Guys, I think the shipment comes with a mixture of both the poinrt mouth & flat mouth Cleaner eels. Both looks the sameThis fish is used to feeds on parasite that attach to fish & will take bites off fish if it goes hungry. It will also eats mucos of fish,fish scale & all sort of Nudi. inlcuding parasitic nudi. From what the collector stated that if will only attack certain fish, and these are big table fishes and will still be harmless to these big fishes. We have place one purple tang with one of the eel & one in our display tank with yellow tangs & numerous clams & damsel. See how it goes. So far so good. Max Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weileong Posted July 3, 2004 Share Posted July 3, 2004 I was there at EAN and saw the purple tang is fine Quote Weileong's 4ft tank Part I Weileong's 4ft tank Part II Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member flubberina13 Posted July 3, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted July 3, 2004 I was there at EAN and saw the purple tang is fine Wah!!! You really go there again!!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FuEl Posted July 3, 2004 Share Posted July 3, 2004 http://www.austmus.gov.au/fishes/fishfacts/fish/prhinor.htm Quote Always something more important than fish. http://reefbuilders.com/2012/03/08/sps-pico-reef/ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terryz_ Posted July 3, 2004 Share Posted July 3, 2004 Actually Judging from the appearance... It has a high percentage that it is fang blenny... Quote Member of: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weileong Posted July 16, 2004 Share Posted July 16, 2004 Finally spotted the blue/orange one. Wasted no time in catching out. Took a close in shot. Can anyone confirm if this is fish safe ?? The mouth does not look like the fann benny. Quote Weileong's 4ft tank Part I Weileong's 4ft tank Part II Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achilles Tang Posted July 16, 2004 Share Posted July 16, 2004 The one above is the eel, the ones pictured before that by Bwilly is the fang blenny. I think this info was buried somewhere before... perhaps in Wei Leong's thread... and some of us including myself, correctly ID'ed his fish as a fang blenny. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weileong Posted July 16, 2004 Share Posted July 16, 2004 I bought 2 of the fishes. One of them the blue one was a fann benny. This orange/blue one I did not have chance to photograph it at that time. Now the question.... is this eel fish safe or not? Keeper or I should get rid of it heheh. Was surprised it was still alive Quote Weileong's 4ft tank Part I Weileong's 4ft tank Part II Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achilles Tang Posted July 16, 2004 Share Posted July 16, 2004 *cheep cheep!* early bird trying to catch the worm? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weileong Posted July 16, 2004 Share Posted July 16, 2004 You can say so lol... I am off to catch it now See you there. Quote Weileong's 4ft tank Part I Weileong's 4ft tank Part II Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member flubberina13 Posted July 17, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted July 17, 2004 when you guys were posting, I was still in Dreamland, fortunately a great motivator stirred me from my slumber at 6.50am to grab great stuff... See how fast I cheong? Reached there by 7.15am... Oops...did you spell bad breath? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...