DIY Fluidised Bed Reactor

ervine

Nice tank! Got a front view of it? Maybe a shot that shows all yor DIY stuff.

Guess if you got the time, the skills and the know-how to DIY, why not. Guys who first started marine reef keeping had to DIY all their stuff and had a better knowledge of how things work.

Though personally I won't try DIY stuff that in the event of a fault floods my floor! Cannot tahan the sticky floor. Hard to mop up!

Nice tank! Got a front view of it? Maybe a shot that shows all yor DIY stuff.

Guess if you got the time, the skills and the know-how to DIY, why not. Guys who first started marine reef keeping had to DIY all their stuff and had a better knowledge of how things work.

Though personally I won't try DIY stuff that in the event of a fault floods my floor! Cannot tahan the sticky floor. Hard to mop up!

That sort of IS the front view actually... I view it from this angle... makes the tank look deeper... here's a view of some of my DIY stuff

post-9-1089118508.jpg

ervine u very show off ah....show off all your DIY stuffs.... :D:D:D

typrobin: Someone asked to see mah.. so I show lor...

auberon: Can't see the bubbles in the skimmer nevermind lah... can see the skimmate can liao (which isn't a lot actually... need to upgrade the pump.. shucks)

It's not a nano.. 55gals... 2.5ftx1.5ftx2ft... 200 over litres, I think can classify as a small to medium tank... definitely not nano...

Anyway.. here's the DIY FBR in action... notice the sealant used at the top, I think because the lid isn't originally flat, the O-rings can't form a proper seal, thus the need for the sealant...

I also raised the FBR off the ground with a container (a spare lock & lock.. hehe) coz it was a little too short...

I raised the foam in the container using 2 pieces of PVC... not the best to use but it was the only thing I found lying around.. well as long as it works...

Wanted to buy another bottle of phosguard but eaquanature was out of stock.. darn

post-9-1089280431.jpg

Well.. I'm taking the FBR out of commission.. it's leaking... apparently the stupid locking system is not tight enough to completely form a watertight seal around the lid of the container, especially under internal pressure...

It's dripping one drop per 10secs... which in one day will be a puddle...

So for you folks out there who want to try this.. DON'T!...

Sigh... back to the drawing board...