6'x2"x2.5"

seamonkee

I think if it is possible - you could try to setup a partition between your kitchen and your tank so that even if worse scenarios you have to cook the smoke will not get into the room. Looking at your plan you might need to move your door position if there is not enough space to build a partition.

I think no one will dare to tell you that the weight is ok because 6 x 2 x 2.5 is a hugh tank and since AP already brought up that you need a permit if the tank is bigger than 4 ft. Either you chose to have a permit or trust your gut feel .... :D

Back to my floor plan... do u think it will be a weight issue?

AT, Tanzy and other lao jiao.... I waiting for you all to advise leh....

the blue area is the tank... 6" x 2" x .25".... sigh... otherwise, i may have to relocate the tank liao.... sigh...

I don't see a need through.

Reason it is

First Dimension

6' - 6 feet

2" - 2 Inch

2.5" - 2.5 Inch

2nd Dimension

6" - 6 Inch

2" - 2 Inch

2.5" - 2.5 Inch

3rd Dimension

6" - 6 Inch

2" - 2 Inch

.25" - 0.25 Inch

Shunk :lol::lol::lol::lol:

What gives you the idea that the floor can hold?

Just feel like cracking a joke. Sorry bro.

Why the first plan wouldn't work...

1) Taking up too much precious space for kitchen/sofa lounge... got headache balance area between both.

2) Glare from Tank will affect my TV watching because of the way my tv is positioned...

3) Oil/Grease from kitchen....

4) Fengshui, water next to fire.... even though I don't believe in it...

Thanks for everybody's advice...

So here's the alternative plan...

Considering the above factors and that more opportunities for tank enjoyment (Since it is next to dining and tvlounge area)....

Hehe.... probably need to reduce tank size to 5'x2'x2.5'

Is this better? Makes the tv lounge area more cosy as well...

blue and yellow area denotes new tank area...

post-34-1088676545.jpg

Actually, it is the reverse, the larger your tank, the more stable it is... and less fluctuations...

But for coral reefs, headache ah... dun wan to think so far yet... I love a FOWLR setup like those you see in CK Tang Clarins counter... I think they only have mushies the most...

Totally Agree with you on the fowlr setup at CK Tang....my 4ft tank arriving tomorrow and most likely using it like that over the Clarins Counter - but with a bit of corals (heheh)

Bro i think the second plan is better - tank between the living and cosy corner.

Bro, perhaps you may wish to reconsider as there is only 1 view (if not used as in your previous plan for partition) + only people at the main door can get to see it. Are you going to put you sofa etc. at that area?

Decided not to do partition even though I know it can be quite nice... Gotta thing of long term lah.... so partition is definitely out...

As for the position of the tank... still deciding....

I may include it as part of a long wall feature.... as pix...

How's this???

post-34-1088688531.jpg

Yah, IMO its also a good position. Perhaps you may also want to recessed it into the walls so that aesthetically, it will be more pleasing and also will flush with the decor. Have you found any Interior Designer yet? He should be able to advised you. In fact, if you are considering a hassle free water change via built-in concealed piping works - should do so and also prepare a part of the bathroom for de-ionised water containment. when needed can do the water change easily !! :lol:

If I put the tank as it is, I think there is no way for me to extend a water pipe over there... but there will be a top-up tank in there...

Err... what is de-ionised water? u mean a container ogready-mixed saltwater?

I asked the question actually three times already but nobody answered me about this leh... :( I was asking if anyone keep aside a large container of saltwater in their house at anytime or only prepare the solution nearing to water change? Sorry because last time keep nano tank so didn't really consider this....

Also, I dunno what is a denitrator... I heard it is important if I am going for a large FOWLR setup....

bro, not too sure if u can accept this idea, but i believe w the position of ur structural columns clearly indicated there would be a beam running across ur dining/living area (i indicated in yellow dash)... would be great if u costumize ur tank w the overflow compartment in the center so it would be a 360 deg view panel...

also, not trying to mess up ur house, but i believe ur walk in closet should be adjacent to ur toilet.... im into this line of profession and thats how i would do it for practicality and function... just my opinion bro....

post-34-1088691362.jpg

Yup reefer guy, I thought of having the walk-in wardrobe there initially because it is near the bathroom but then again, that area is a small area and if I sealed off that corner.... we will lose natural lighting... (since the windows are there)... I guess having there will have the convenience of taking things when you need them and it's near the bathroom...

Having it were I planned, well, at least I get to see my wife running out ###### to get something from the wardrobe.... :rolleyes::rolleyes::D:D:lol:

That'll be nice !! :paiseh::evil:

May reduce dimensions to 5' x 2' x 2' due to space and design factors...

I am now considering whether to go acrylic since I am planning this as a long-term feature.... wat do u guys suggest? Is acrylic better than glass? I heard so much good thing about acrylic

Also, since I am using T5s rather than MH (no chiller), I would like to know if I can afford a depth of 2.5' (with 0.5 DSB) or remain at 2' (still with 0.5 DSB)? I am going for a FOWLR setup with easy to keep corals such as mushies and zoos....

Lastly, one stupid qns, are there 5ft T5s? Sorry lah, sotong me....

Hi Bro,

Been following ur thread. Wat's ur storerm's length? Would u want to build the tank in the storerm's walls?

Thanks Mohamed.... that's also another possibility...

Advantage:

1) Near Kitchen so possibility of linking a water pipe there to top up tank.

2) Save more $$$ and dun have to worry about cabinet design

3) Hide equipment and wiring...

What do u guys think.... I can only fit a 4' x 2' x 2.5' there... I may consider it...

post-34-1089018629.jpg

I only hv two questions concerning the wall-in tank feature...

As seen in my pix.... can anyone help me on this?

Thanks!

post-34-1089018698.jpg

I only hv two questions concerning the wall-in tank feature...

As seen in my pix.... can anyone help me on this?

Thanks!

I seal off the gaps between the wall and the tank to prevent water from going to the front when I change water or anything that involve sticking my hand into the tank.

T5 lights will still heat up your store room because of ventaliation problem. So I would reckon that you wouldn't be closing your store room door, right? Another thing to take note that this is marine tank and having breeze/ circulation air in enclosed area might sometime cause oxidation or rust.

Question.

Is this a new flat? or 2nd hand? Sorry lazy to go to the 1st thread to see.

most of the time ppls with built in wall tank...

that part of the wall is built of wood... which solve all your above mention issue...

but one question.. r u sure u can hack the wall of the store room..

I thought that is a bomb shelter..?? HDB wont approve on that...

most of the time ppls with built in wall tank...

that part of the wall is built of wood... which solve all your above mention issue...

but one question.. r u sure u can hack the wall of the store room..

I thought that is a bomb shelter..?? HDB wont approve on that...

If it is a old flat, he can knock down the store room if he wants. Base on the picture of the floor plan, he can.

Yup... it is an old flat... store is not a built-in bomb shelter...

sigh... so much consideration... I headache liao... :(

Tell me honestly, of all the tank placement area.... which is better?

Personally, I prefer this... cause it is next to the window... better ventilation and allow consideration for chiller in the future...

As for storeroom, nice concept but I have to consider these other factors... so if I decide on placing in the storeroom, does it mean I have to remove the storeroom door for ventilation purpose? defeats the purpose of hiding the equipment right? Unless we are talking about drawn curtains rather than doors... wonder if that is feasible....

post-34-1089023426.jpg

I seal off the gaps between the wall and the tank to prevent water from going to the front when I change water or anything that involve sticking my hand into the tank.

T5 lights will still heat up your store room because of ventaliation problem. So I would reckon that you wouldn't be closing your store room door, right? Another thing to take note that this is marine tank and having breeze/ circulation air in enclosed area might sometime cause oxidation or rust.

Question.

Is this a new flat? or 2nd hand? Sorry lazy to go to the 1st thread to see.

How do you exactly seal off the gap? That was my question... silicon? Cement?

I request the setup crew to push the tank as near the wall as possible. Then, I use silicon to seal the gap there after I notice water trace on the other side of the tank.

I have been advised to get all my equipment (pumps, tunzes, etc) before designing the cabinet... in this case, I will have a better consideration on the number of electric sockets to have, height and space factors...

Is this so?