Qn on Tank/Cabinet Maker & FOWLR

seamonkee

Hi bros, know of any good tank ###### cabinet maker who is able to build a tank and wall partition between my kitchen & living room? The length of the wall to be covered is 3.4meters with a 6'x1.5'x1.5' tank in the middle and tank sump below... Roof Hood + Tank Sump should be opened from the kitchen side...

The front side, I am looking at wood panel design. Know of anyone good?

Also, I am thinking of going FOWLR... less demanding than keeping corals. Is PC lightings or T5s good enoff? and if so, since I am not into MH, do I need chiller?

Please advise. Thanks!

Hi bro

for a FOWLR no requirement for a chiller. As a partition, you will have to worry about venting the exhaust and noise, unless you intend to run one of them artica external compressor units. Besides, bills will go up and up.

Plumb all pumps externally, make sure area around tank is tiled (no wood for safety) and easily mopped up (salt water can be VERY sticky). Make sure the lights setup (t-5 or otherwise) is served by a PC fan for ventilation. You might want to include an option in your cabinet to add if necc additional fans for cooling, and a space to mount a water top off.

Man, looking forqard to your pix :)

If you basically deepfry like most oriental kitchen, I believe you should also look into the condition and quality of your hood... :rolleyes: Some oil vapour may travel... :(

I also advocate T5s. Used PL before...found them very hot...and FL dun look presentable... :rolleyes:

Seamonkee...since you are building it from scratch...you may want to consider long term plans and thus...build some compartments in preparation to house certain equipment in future which meanwhile can allow your wifey-to-be to use it as mini storage places first until your next fancy... :rolleyes::D

Thanks flubby.... thought of that...

3.4 meters.... less 6' (1.8 meters) tank length will give me 1.6 meters of drawer spaces on left and right... :) which I may use to keep my crockery...

I planning for a "longish" looking tank... discussing with my designer tomorrow... if more compartments or drawer space needed, I may reduce the tank to 5'.

The front side (facing the living room) will be mostly "sealed" but maybe with ventilation shaft at the top to allow lighting heat to pass thru... Was thinking of having the ventilation shaft at the other side (facing the kitchen)... thanks for reminding me about cooking "oil vapours" as well. but the sump will still open from the kitchen side...

confusing huh? I go draw a picture first hehe...

Anyway, know of anyone able to do that?

This is what I have in mind... tentatively... please advise...

Here's a section of my floor plan (5-room flat)... the area highlighted in brown/light brown are the cabinet partition and tank to be built. It will separate the living room (sofa/tv lounge area) from the kitchen. The kitchen has floor tiles while the sofa/tv lounge area is on a raised wood platform. Sump tank will be accessed from the kitchen area.

I will explain the difference in the light brown & brown shading later... it doesn't mean a different shade of wood. :)

Cabinet is 3.2 meter long serving as a partition between kitchen and living room.

Tank is 6' x 1.5' x 1.5', longish in appearance (Good for sharks.. hehe)

Sump tank is 5' x 1.5 x 1.5' with space allowance for top-up tank. (Someone must teach me how to use top up tubby.... :huh: )

post-11-1088336346.jpg

This is a cut-off view between the living room and kitchen...

Tank can be viewed from both the kitchen or living room side...

It explains the different shading of brown/light brown in my earlier top view picture. Yes, I plan to have a mid protusion serving as a kitchen top counter. This will also give more space allowance at the bottom for my equipment.

post-11-1088336662.jpg

This is my last pix... from the kitchen side... showing the lift-up top hood for the lights.

I plan to have an exterior overflow that is hidden from view. I still trying to figure out the return flow and pump.... anyone can help me on this?

Also, for circulation in the main tank, I thinking of 2 tunze streams... is this sufficient for my 6' x 1.5' x 1.5' longish tank? Also, how to hide the tunze?

I planning this tank to be a FOWLR tank... aesthetic, no coralline algae on the glass and with two islands of live rocks... will tonga rocks look good?

The left side will have drawers to store my crockery, cutlery & other kitchen stuff...

Since FOWLR, no chiller lah... but still can convert a section of the left drawers for chiller storage if I want to keep corals in the long run... :D:D

Lastly, I need ventilation for the lights.... as per flubberina, I am still deciding whether to have the ventilation holes made on the living room side or kitchen side? Please advise.

I will appreciate if someone can advise me on the socket points, return flow and pipe runs as well... I am poor in my thematic drawing and design... please help, bros...

post-11-1088337071.jpg

Errr... can anyone give advice? I meeting my interior designer tomorrow leh...

Also, Mods not sure if u need to move this to member's tank section...

thanks...

This is a cut-off view between the living room and kitchen...

Tank can be viewed from both the kitchen or living room side...

It explains the different shading of brown/light brown in my earlier top view picture.  Yes, I plan to have a mid protusion serving as a kitchen top counter.  This will also give more space allowance at the bottom for my equipment.

If your sump tank not under your tank, wouldn't it waste a lot of space in terms of piping and yet cannot put things in between the spaces? :rolleyes:

And really should tell your designer to build in some ventilation outlets for the heat generated and why not build supports for supporting small fans? :P

This is what I have in mind... tentatively... please advise...

Here's a section of my floor plan (5-room flat)... the area highlighted in brown/light brown are the cabinet partition and tank to be built.  It will separate the living room (sofa/tv lounge area) from the kitchen.  The kitchen has floor tiles while the sofa/tv lounge area is on a raised wood platform.  Sump tank will be accessed from the kitchen area.

I will explain the difference in the light brown & brown shading later... it doesn't mean a different shade of wood.  :)

Cabinet is 3.2 meter long serving as a partition between kitchen and living room.

Tank is 6' x 1.5' x 1.5', longish in appearance (Good for sharks.. hehe)

Sump tank is 5' x 1.5 x 1.5' with space allowance for top-up tank.  (Someone must teach me how to use top up tubby....  :huh: )

having raised platforms? :rolleyes:

Dun mind this but 'touching wood', will there be opportunities to clean up mess in case the equipment fail? :P

And do remember to coat your wood with quality finish/coating as salt water may erode the coat?

having raised platforms? :rolleyes:

Dun mind this but 'touching wood', will there be opportunities to clean up mess in case the equipment fail? :P

And do remember to coat your wood with quality finish/coating as salt water may erode the coat?

Alternative one, do away with raised platform in tv/lounge area.... sacrifice cosiness for tank... hehehe... but the most ideal...

Alternative two, rather than wooden cabinet, a tank within a cement wall? Is this feasible and more durable? but need to design very carefully...

Otherwise, stick to original design and try to design it such that should seawater leak, it will flow out to the kitchen rather than the living room...

As for the tank above sump tank... sori lah, this is only an "aga-aga" drawing... so not in specs... but I will try to ensure that the sump tank directly below the main tank to minimise piping....

Here's a more accurate drawing... (Height not measured yet though but should be around standard HDB height lah)

Wall length to be covered by cabinet is 3422mm... that gives me around 11' to play with...

After careful dimension consideration, I have to narrow the main tank to 5'L x 1.5'B x 2'H. 6' DSB will be used but covered by cabinet skirting. So Tank View is 5'L x 1.5'B x 1.5'H....

Lower Cabinets/Drawers has a width depth of 2.5' giving more space for marine equipment and drawers and also provide a kitchen counter top.

Please advise....

post-11-1088388166.jpg

With the cabinet opened (denoted by white areas), you can see the sump tank and piping.

I plan for a 4' x 1.5' x 1.5' sump tank... there will be enough depth room for my skimmers, top up tank and other stuff as well...

External overflow... dun want to drill a hole in my main tank... hehe...

Two tunze streams... one flanking the right and the other on the left... anyway to hide these?

Please advise on my setup...

Also... My wife and I decided to scrap away the raised wooden platform for the TV/Lounge Area....

Left and right drawers will be used for storing crockery, cutlery and other kitchen stuff. Currently my tank will be a FOWLR but in the long run, if I want to keep corals, I can convert the left drawers as a shelf to put the chiller... :D

post-11-1088388561.jpg

Otherwise, stick to original design and try to design it such that should seawater leak, it will flow out to the kitchen rather than the living room...

For experienced renovation contractors and workmen, they will usually make your floor slightly sloped towards the nearest water drainage system...if you get what I mean. :P

Usually most toilet and kitchen flooring will not be in too extreme horizontal surface...based on experience unless trends have changed... :rolleyes:

I am thinking of getting Lim Han Teck... heard a lot of good reviews about him... but is the design above feasible... pls srutinise it and give advice....

Spoken to my designer... she likes the idea... so I will be contacting Lim Han Teck as subcontractor for my wall partition/tank.

As for the raised wooden platform for the tv/sofa lounge, it will remain... To solve the problem of water leaking into the wooden platform, we thought of leaving a concrete curb (see picture....) between the wooden platform and kitchen tile flooring. This will ensure that should there be a leak, water will flow to the kitchen. :D:D

Please advise....

post-11-1088429561.jpg