Do emerald crabs ever grow at all?

FuEl

Had mine for many months...but now I caught them..they still look the same size. Another reefer also had an emerald crab for many months in an algae abundant tank but it too did not grow.

Do they grow so slowly that it takes years for them to double in size? :blink:

Had mine for many months...but now I caught them..they still look the same size. Another reefer also had an emerald crab for many months in an algae abundant tank but it too did not grow.

Do they grow so slowly that it takes years for them to double in size? :blink:

A reefer i know has 2 emerald crab... He told me that they grow like hell

Mine I have kept for 6 months at least. They have not grown at all..I even doubt that they have moulted. Cause I remember buying a crab with 3 legs on each side..after so many months still 3 legs on each side. <_<

hmm.. mine kept for ard 6 mths liao too... nv grow oso :D

Yea..how weird..furthermore I doubt our tanks are so small that it would stunt them..Mine have 4ft to roam around but they still dun grow.. :blink:

I dun have hair algae..but I have other types of algae. Meaning they grow fastest on hair algae? :blink: I've tried handfeeding them mysis. They took it into their claws and then tossed it away...unappreciative buggers.. :lol:

Mine I bought about 1 t0 1.5cm across the carapace. Until now still the same.. :blink:

Huh..got fake emerald crab one meh? :lol:

I don't know how big emerald crab could be , I know only thing that my emerald carb RIP yesterday.. without any reason, just lying up :off:

I was told some people paid 25 , and some say 10. Mine free.... he was hiding in the macroalage.

I dun have hair algae..but I have other types of algae. Meaning they grow fastest on hair algae? :blink: I've tried handfeeding them mysis. They took it into their claws and then tossed it away...unappreciative buggers.. :lol:

Mine I bought about 1 t0 1.5cm across the carapace. Until now still the same.. :blink:

i thot emeralds r herbivours? :blink:

tink they like those green colour hair algae the most lah....

last time got a lot n i see it happily munching away....

now onli got some patches of bryposis but it nv go as far as to touch them loh... :(

Hmm..price will fluctuate depending on demand and supply. Anyway minsmarine..wanna get my pair? Hehe...I got tired of waiting for them to grow..I want them as big as those in the display tank of ML! :evil:

i thot emeralds r herbivours? :blink:

tink they like those green colour hair algae the most lah....

last time got a lot n i see it happily munching away....

now onli got some patches of bryposis but it nv go as far as to touch them loh... :(

It depends on how you define herbivore. ;) If being herbivore meant having your diet made up of 100% of plant matter then I could define cows, giraffes, deer, dugongs as omnivores and not herbivores. Imagine how many insects a cow can ingest in its lifetime while munching on grass. Imagine how many snails a dugong would ingest while grazing on seaweed. While emerald crabs are stated as herbivores...I am certain they will feed on animal protein if given the chance when they are hungry. :angel:

Huh..got fake emerald crab one meh? :lol:

I mean many animals, especially crabs are hard to ID and especially when they are small they all look very similar. Often when the supplier got something from the ocean they have to ID and give a name to whatever they sell, when they can not ID the stuff, they will still need to come out with a name. Like "linckia stars" often labelled are not necessary from the genus "linckia".

Just a thought though :unsure:

emerald crabs are not herbivores,

i have a pair, and they will feed on any meat they can get.

although they do graze on algae,

i have often found them in the chicken essence bottle trap i leave out

for the hairy crabs. <_<

hey my friend emerald did that too.. tossing away food.. wah lou super hao lian