Iwaki pump owners

Achilles Tang

Arrgh.... my Rena pump doesn't seem to do too well as an external pump inspite of what the manufacturer says.

Seems not to cope too well with head pressure.

Any Iwaki pump owners here who can advise? Or any pump alternatives?

I am looking for one that can do about 4000 - 5000 litres per hour with good head pressure.

But of course budget is a big factor. :(

Hmmm... I am eyeing the Eheim 1262.

It's selling for around $230 for the 1.7m cabled version and $360 for the 10 metre cabled version! Duh!

Technical Data 1262:

Pumpoutput: 3400 l/h / 750 Imp.gal / 900 US gal

Delivery head: 3,5 m / 11'6"

Power consumption: 80 W

Hose connection order no. suction side: 25/34 mm / 1"

Hose connection order no. Pressure side: 16/22 mm / 3/4"

It seems more attractive because it only consumes 80watts compared to the 100 over to 200 watts that Iwaki pumps comsume.

My Rena 6000 does 4650l/hr and consumes 106watts. Funny, its rated for 3 over meters of head.

Shouldn't be a problem... but it's leaking air in somehow... perhaps its sand particles in the o-ring... gonna go home and double check and test again.

Iwaki pumps are very reliable. Downside is that it is very noisy because of it being fan-cooled. Very few pumps can beat Iwaki in pressure rated operations. The powerhead-type external pumps are more for flow than pressure.

I run two Eheim 1060 and one MD40R, the Iwaki is cooler.

For your application you would need a MD55R.

iwaki pumps r great. if u get 1, u will b ensured great reliablity, unless u get a sour one.which does happen.

however the disadvantages might outweigh the advantages.

1) iwaki pumps r very noisey.

because the pumps r made for industrial use, noise level might be pretty high. many ppl in RC experience very very noisey models. even resorting to sound proof their cabinets.models wif fan will make the problem twice as bad.but if u remove the fan ventilation will not be gd n the pump might overheat

2)heat

they run very very hot.the ideal temp they run on is abt 10secs of wat our hands can tahan.however little heat is transfered to the water column

3)price

the price can kill man. s'pore selling 800 for the md55 model.

4)power consumption

like wat AT said. iwakis suck alot of power. 200+w for 24hrs a day is no joke man.

What choice of pump you have if you have to run a high capacity skimmer?

And also for circulation without using alot of powerhead in a big tank?

There are very little choice for pressure rated pump for aquarium use.

Interm of heat transfer to the water column almost nil, not like the powerhead where the temp of the water can increase by 1 degree or more depend on the amount of powerheads.

Iwaki pumps are relatively quite and they are fan cooled or at least the MD55R and MD100R are. These 2 pumps are currently running my tank.

The pump can cause alot of vibration due the speed it is working and need to be securly mounted.

Morgan is right! Do we have a choice?

Can try the Hayward pool pumps! I've always wanted to get my hands on those! one pump to power everything. They are rated in HP not flowrate! Very noisy but can be placed far away.

Hi guys... I realised that my Rena pump's impeller cover has gotten loose with use.

It doesn't fit as tightly as before.... the pump is still in perfect condition except for this problem. I will still use this pump in the mean time as I will silicon the joint to seal it.

If I need to take out the impeller to wash it... I will have to scrap away the silicon! ;)

Now I know why it was cavitating so much... and it worked when it is placed in a sump... the water sealed the gap and once air was vented, the pump worked again. It wasn't the O-ring.

I will investigate the new Eheim pump 1264 when it hits the market soon.

I trust Eheim pumps a lot as they are quiet as well as not being electricity hogs.

Spiff is right... I won't need a high capacity pump at all to increase my water circulation in my new tank. My reeftecs will do a much better job and at much lesser electricity consumption!

Iwaki pump motor hosing is made of full metal. If the housing is left to vibrate on a hard flooring or surface, that's explain the loud noise.

You can sit the pump on a piece of heavy duty ruuber mat or simply a mouse pad to absord the metal vibration.

As for the fan noise, after long usage, the fan will tends to make noise due to dust and blockage of the vent. You need to clean them to increase air flow and reduce the air noise.

Iwaki MD-70RLT draws 210watt and output 5160 Litres/hr at head of 4.0 ft.

Iwaki MX-70M draws 250watt and output 5400 Litres/hr at head of 4.7 ft. MX series is suppose to take over MD series, where the later will be phasing out soon.

iwaki-md.jpg

iwaki-mx.jpg

AT,

I'm also using an MD55FX rated at around 65 litre/hr, max head ~7 meters. If you want high turn over on your tank especially for skimming then you need an Iwaki or equivalent.

Eheim 1060 is rated at 2200 li/hr but if used as a return pump it probably only pumps at around 60-70% of the rating. Same thing will happen witht he new Eheim 3400 actual flow rate will probably around 2000 l/hr or less if your head is more than 1 metre. Check the pump curve usually non pressure rated pump has full flow at 0 head and 0 flow at maximum head.

Thanks Robe and all....

I will consider all these factors. Actually I don't think I will need a heavy-duty pump for circulation at all. I just need a pump sufficient enough to pull water out of the sump back into the tank.

I am also aiming for slow circulation in my refugium and sump to allow for detritus settlement.

My reeftecs and closed loop will be more than sufficient for turbulent intank circulation.

Hey AT!

The Eheim 1264 I dun think it (dun think only..not too sure) will be powerful enuff for ya tank's height...I bought it for my current tank and realised the flow power is not up to my satisfaction...in the end I used it for my chiller....

u can try it out

I m currently using Iwaki and am very satisfied with it.

fyi....

I'm gonna break the cycle

I'm gonna shake up the system

I'm gonna destroy my ego

I'm gonna close my body now

Guys, I bought my new pump yesterday!

It's the Aqua Medic Oceanrunner OR6500 from Germany.

It pumps an amazing 6500l/h, 11.4 ft (3.8m) head and consumes only 115watts!

Only costs me $280... a fraction of the cost of those chemical pumps like Iwaki... so even if it kaputs in 5 years time... I'm sure the pain is minimised!

The yet-to-hit-the-market Eheim 1264 only does 4500 l/h, 3.5 m head and power consumption is: 100 W, probably costs more than my new pump.

Well... full steam ahead with my project!

:lol::P

I was about to suggest Aqua-medic ocean-runner pump.

But then I never use before, so can't recommend lor.

Quite an interesting pump. AT, mind review that pump once you get it running?