SRC Member lastmanstanding Posted June 23, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted June 23, 2004 my friend is trying to catch his damsel from his tank, but in vain! cos the damsel always 'take cover' under the LR.... Is there any way to catch it without removing the rock? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member yuji Posted June 23, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted June 23, 2004 there's really no way u can catch a damsel without removing the LR unless you are real lucky. i have experienced that before 2. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Golden Tooth Posted June 23, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted June 23, 2004 Try the plastic tank trap lah. BTW caught mine easily cause it's handfed by me. Quote Bevor Sie das Licht sehen, müssen Sie sterben! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Yellowbelly Posted June 23, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted June 23, 2004 Observe where it sleep at night as they tend to go back to the same spot night after night, then in the middle of the night, just remove the rock where he is hidding in or where he is located, viola, he is there for the taking cause he is stunned Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member madmac Posted June 23, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted June 23, 2004 This is what I did to catch that trouble-maker. I bought a box of tiny hooks, size 20. Tied the hook to a floss and baited it with some meat. The fish took to it in seconds when I placed it near its hideout, I pulled it out... remove the hook quickly and put the fish in some container. It was fine and swimming around as though nothing happened. I managed to trade the fish for $2/- at I*****a. No noticable scars on the fish. Can't believe that when I got it out, "Speak softly love" was playing on iTunes. No sweat chicken feet... har ha Now does anybody want to buy a box of size 20 hooks, only one is use, 99 left... give me $2 and its yours. : ) mm Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ryz Posted June 23, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted June 23, 2004 my damsels can trick into net using brine shrimps leh... but must starve for 2 days first. Quote Live and Let Live Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member shiraz Posted June 23, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted June 23, 2004 yea.. starve them then leave a frozen cube of brine there to defrost at the top of the tank with pincers... they'll be trying to get the brine out then just scoop everything up... i caught my damsels (4) and 3 died because their fins were stuck in the net... Quote The world is such a wicked place,war btween the human race. People work to earn their bread,while across the sea they're counting dead Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
serkp78 Posted June 23, 2004 Share Posted June 23, 2004 Hi, I use a simple method & caught even the most tricky one, i use a plastic bag with making some small hole by the side and bottom, then submerge it into the tank, after 10min when the damsel is comfortable with it, it will enter as food will be place inside. when it get in to the end of the bag, hehe, just pull up th e bag, there, u got the fish...I caught all my 6 damels... Btw, i have try the plastic float tank, not much use.. Good Luck to u bro. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member lastmanstanding Posted June 23, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted June 23, 2004 Thank All..... will try all methods... haha Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member rockfish Posted June 24, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted June 24, 2004 I caught my fish using a simple DIY fish trap. just cut the top of the coke bottle. invert it and secure it . put prawn meat inside .. fishes will swim in and cannot get out. pls dun use hooks .. dun hurt those poor fellows!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member rockfish Posted June 24, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted June 24, 2004 this is the schematics.. try making it .. only took me 5 min to make it .. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member rockfish Posted June 24, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted June 24, 2004 opps! .. forgot to attach the image Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member lastmanstanding Posted June 24, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted June 24, 2004 opps! .. forgot to attach the image Haha, the picture really help..... Just caught the damsel.... (finally....) Thanks all for your wonderful advice! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Siput Posted June 24, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted June 24, 2004 Traditional way to "catch" a damsel... 1) But suit of armor 2) Buy horse (must be able to carry u and suit of armor) 3) Find Dragon (!) 4) Fight Dragon 5) If win in 4), go to 6); if lose, go back to 3), but find smaller one 6) Win damsel! Sorry, feel facetious tonite... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member rockfish Posted June 24, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted June 24, 2004 i also just caught a damsel in my tank ... that bastard killed my bicolour angel... given my a frend .. put in only 1 nite ... already commited murder liao .. now lock away in my sump..life sentences.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ryz Posted June 24, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted June 24, 2004 haha nice one siput Quote Live and Let Live Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Navyblue Posted June 25, 2004 Share Posted June 25, 2004 This is what I did to catch that trouble-maker. I bought a box of tiny hooks, size 20. Tied the hook to a floss and baited it with some meat. The fish took to it in seconds when I placed it near its hideout, I pulled it out... remove the hook quickly and put the fish in some container. It was fine and swimming around as though nothing happened. I managed to trade the fish for $2/- at I*****a. No noticable scars on the fish. Can't believe that when I got it out, "Speak softly love" was playing on iTunes. No sweat chicken feet... har ha Now does anybody want to buy a box of size 20 hooks, only one is use, 99 left... give me $2 and its yours. : ) mm You fish in your tank ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member madmac Posted June 26, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted June 26, 2004 2 seconds mate... you choose ; ) Gotton this fish together with the tank and cruelty aside, it lost me no less than 4 other new ones. You won't believed the thrill when I pulled it out... priceless! Been thinking about trapping 2 mated pair of pistol shrimps now and I don't think the hook method will work... maybe a lobster trap : ). Anyone outthere with a tiny, lobster/crab trap? mm Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...