School during our childhood time.....

kschew1498

Those where our childhood, those were the days!!

School During Our Time (very touching esp for those born 1970-early

80's) brings fond memories back...

School-life during our time....

1. You grew up watching He-man, MASK, Transformers, Silverhawks and

Visionaries. Not forgetting, Ninja Turtles, My Little Pony and Smurfs

too.

2. You grew up brushing your teeth with a mug in Primary school during

recess time. You will squat by a drain with all your classmates beside

you,and brush your teeth with a coloured mug. The teachers said you must

brush each side 10 times too.

3. You know what SBC stands for.

4. You pay 40 cents for Chocolate or Strawberry MILK every week in

class.

5. You watch a popular Malay dubbed Japanese drama on RTM1 about

schoolgirls who possess powerful skills in volleyball called Meoro Attack and

another one called Oshin or those 3pm chinese drama serials on ch8 with the

likes of aileen tan, zoe tay & cherie lim.

6. You find your friends with pagers and handphone cool in secondary

school.

7. SBS buses used to be non-airconditioned. The bus seats are made of

wood and the cushion is red. The big red bell gives a loud BEEEP! when

pressed. There are colourful tickets for TIBS buses.The conductor will check

for tickets by using a machine which punches a hole in the ticket.

8. Envelopes given to us to donate to Sharity Elephant every

Children's Day

9. You've probably read Young Generation magazine(you know who's Vinny

the little vampire and Acai the constable) or those lame bookworm gang

bookz.

10. You were there when they first introduced MRT here. You went for

the first ride with your parents and you would kneel on the seat to see

the scenery.

11. Movie tickets used to cost a mere $3.50.

12. Gals are fascinated by Strawberry Short Cake and Barbie Dolls.

13. Missing Sesame Street or The Electric Company was a mortal sin.

14. You longed to buy tibits called Kaka, Tora and Ding Dang, that had

a toy in it and it changes every week not forgetting the 15 cents animal

crackers and the ring pop, where the lollipop is the diamond on the ring. And

chewing gum was not banned !

15. You watched TV2(also known as Channel 10) cartoons because Channel

5 never had enough cartoons for you.

16. Hardy Boys, Nancy Drew, The Three Investigators, Famous Five and

Secret Seven are probably the thickest story books you ever thought you have

read. Even Sweet Valley High and Malory Towers.

17. KFC used to be a high class restaurant that serve food in plates

and let you use metal forks and knives and you get a free pirate plastic hat

everytime you ate at Long John Silver.

18. The most vulgar thing you said was idiot or stupid and THE MOST

EXTREME WAS 'super white'...you just couldn't bring yourself to say the

hokkien relative.

19. Playing catching was the IN thing and twist as the magic word.

20. Your English workbooks was made of some damn poor quality paper

that was smooth and yellow.

21. CDIS were your bestfriend.

22. The only computer lessons in school involved funny pixellised

characters in 16 colours walking about trying to teach you maths.

23. Waterbottles were slinged around your neck and a must everywhere

you go.

24. Boys loved to play soccer with coulourful small plastic balls in

the basketball court.

25. Teng-teng, batu lesung, hopscotch, hentam bola, one-leg and zero

point were all the rage with the girls and boys too...

26. Science was fun with the balsam and the angsana being the most

important plants of our lives, guppies and swordtail being the most important

fish.

27. Who can forget Ahmad, Bala, Sumei and John, eternalized in our

minds from the textbooks. Even Mr Wally & Mr. Yakki. What abt Miss Lala???

And of course.......Zaki and Tini in Malay Textbooks.....

28. We carry out experiments of our own to get ourself badges for

being a Young Zoologist/Botanist etc.

29. Every children's day and national day you either get pins or pens

with 'Happy Children's Day 1993' or dumb files with Happy National Day

1994'.

30. In Primary six you had to play buddy for the younger kids like big

sister and brother.

31. We wore Panda, BM2000, BATA or Pallas shoes then moved on to

Paichi & US Masters in sec school.

32. Your form teacher taught you maths, science, english, social

studies & health education.....oh and sometimes PE too.

33. The worksheets were made of brown rough paper of poor quality.

34. You went to school in slippers and a raincoat when it rained, and

you find a dry spot in the school to sit down, dry your feet, and wear

your dry and warm socks and shoes.

35. School dismissal time was normally around 1 pm.

36. There would be spelling tests and mental sums to do almost

everyday.

37. Your friends considered you lucky and rich if your parents gave

you $3 or more for pocket money everyday.

38. You see Wee Kim Wee's face in the school hall.

39. You freak out when the teacher tells you to line up according to

height and hold hands with the corresponding boy or girl.

40. Boys like to catch fighting spiders & play goli (no kissing, no

sound no count).

41. Collecting and battling erasers was a pastime for boys.

42. Autograph books were loaded with "Best Wishes", "Forget Me Not",

and small poems like "Bird fly high, hard to catch. Friend like you, hard

to forget".

43. Class monitors and prefects loved to say "You talk somemore, I

write your name ah!"

44. There were at least 40 people in one class.

45. Large, colourful schoolbags were carried. And remember those

Bodypac & High Sierra bagz.....yeah....

50. You brought every single book to school, even though there was one

thing called the timetable.

:lol::lol::wub:

hahaha.....remembered all these...those were the days.....fun time.....National day celebration got to sing in the parade sq and after that....lower pri got sports day...while the upper pri all enjoy concert in the hall.....

Tank: 5 X 2 X 2.5

Sump : 3 X 1.5 X 1.8

Tunze 6060

Tunze TF08

Oceanrunner 6500

Deltec AP 902 Protein Skimmer

I-Aquatic Calcium Reactor

Arctica Chiller

this a good one bring back most of my pri sch days

kids nowadays dont even know how to catch fighting spider hahah

born in the later part of 80s but can still relate to most if not all of the above... those were the days...

still remember during primary school, every recess the boys will be playing soccer! but with a tennis ball! :lol: and the girls hopscotch. sometimes, I play with the girls too! :lol:

Those born in the later part of 80s is the generation whereby the new and the old mix. which is a transition period for the whole new generation.

But those were the days...looking back just cant imagine how fast time fly past...awwww

Whenever it rains, will go to catch tadpoles. Mum also freak out, not because scared we'll drown but because of cleaning the dirty school uniform.

Those days, mums always say "give birth to a char siew better than you".

All my aunties follow the style of 'Lin Feng Jiao' and everyday dream of 'Chin Han'. All their husbands turn out to be way off that.

My toys were playmoblie and later 'Xuan feng Xiao fei Sia'

Most time during school holidays were spent watching my mother play mahjong. (best way to learn the art)

Really miss those days.

Some additional information, those born 1 year less 1970 = 1969! The year man landed on the moon!

Those where our childhood, those were the days!!

School During Our Time (very touching esp for those born 1970-early

80's) brings fond memories back...

School-life during our time....

1. You grew up watching He-man, MASK, Transformers, Silverhawks and

Visionaries. Not forgetting, Ninja Turtles, My Little Pony and Smurfs

too.

I remember only the small frog cartoon in Mandarin (xiao ching wah) and the catchy song...  anyone still remember?

2. You grew up brushing your teeth with a mug in Primary school during

recess time. You will squat by a drain with all your classmates beside

you,and brush your teeth with a coloured mug. The teachers said you must

brush each side 10 times too.

Who brushes teeth during that time! :)

3. You know what SBC stands for.

In school, SBC means SUPER BO CHAP!

4. You pay 40 cents for Chocolate or Strawberry MILK every week in

class.

Those who are real skinny get milk powder free!  My brother was on one such scheme...  these days... its the reverse...  obese programme for children... :)

5. You watch a popular Malay dubbed Japanese drama on RTM1 about

schoolgirls who possess powerful skills in volleyball called Meoro Attack and

another one called Oshin or those 3pm chinese drama serials on ch8 with the

likes of aileen tan, zoe tay & cherie lim.

Remembered on Japanese tennis drama?  The tennis balls will hover and move along the edge of the tennis net!

6. You find your friends with pagers and handphone cool in secondary

school.

Huh?  Not my time.....  will think they are carry black matchboxes on they waist....

7. SBS buses used to be non-airconditioned. The bus seats are made of

wood and the cushion is red. The big red bell gives a loud BEEEP! when

pressed. There are colourful tickets for TIBS buses.The conductor will check

for tickets by using a machine which punches a hole in the ticket.

Who still has those tickets...  I remember one indian boy in my school (Bukit Batok East School) that actually will pay you for them.  The bus conductor punch the whole according to where you board and thus know how many stops you have travelled when the ticket inspector checks right?

8. Envelopes given to us to donate to Sharity Elephant every

Children's Day

I remember one rich classmate who slotted a S$50 note into the donation cans and expected change.... she cried the whole day after realising "sorry, no change"!

9. You've probably read Young Generation magazine(you know who's Vinny

the little vampire and Acai the constable) or those lame bookworm gang

bookz.

Bookworm Club started the birth of MLM I think - multilevel marketing....  :)

10. You were there when they first introduced MRT here. You went for

the first ride with your parents and you would kneel on the seat to see

the scenery.

Wow...  already struggling in secondary school already...

11. Movie tickets used to cost a mere $3.50.

what movies...  black and white TV!

12. Gals are fascinated by Strawberry Short Cake and Barbie Dolls.

Too young to be interested in girls....

13. Missing Sesame Street or The Electric Company was a mortal sin.

Agree..... cookie monster!

14. You longed to buy tibits called Kaka, Tora and Ding Dang, that had

a toy in it and it changes every week not forgetting the 15 cents animal

crackers and the ring pop, where the lollipop is the diamond on the ring. And

chewing gum was not banned !

Ate chewing gum during class one day in Primary one and Ms George (still remembered her name!) saw and shouted - SWALLOW IT! and I did.  Worried about it tying up my stomach the next fews days.....  Ms George would probably be fired if this happens these days...

15. You watched TV2(also known as Channel 10) cartoons because Channel

5 never had enough cartoons for you.

Only remembered the Small Frog cartoon still....  was so long ago.

16. Hardy Boys, Nancy Drew, The Three Investigators, Famous Five and

Secret Seven are probably the thickest story books you ever thought you have

read. Even Sweet Valley High and Malory Towers.

How about Enid Blaton or something like that...

17. KFC used to be a high class restaurant that serve food in plates

and let you use metal forks and knives and you get a free pirate plastic hat

everytime you ate at Long John Silver.

Chicken pieces were definitely bigger then compared to now!  But someone told me its because we grew up but the chicken pieces did not...  sounds logical... ?

18. The most vulgar thing you said was idiot or stupid and THE MOST

EXTREME WAS 'super white'...you just couldn't bring yourself to say the

hokkien relative.

Who says...  "Hokkien sweet nothings" rule....

19. Playing catching was the IN thing and twist as the magic word.

Still got the brusies to show....  anyone remember "hamtam bola"?  Using tennis ball was the rage....  real painful man!

20. Your English workbooks was made of some damn poor quality paper

that was smooth and yellow.

Don't really remember having such items as books during school....

21. CDIS were your bestfriend.

Is this where you really dose off into dream land?

22. The only computer lessons in school involved funny pixellised

characters in 16 colours walking about trying to teach you maths.

Huh? Probably think its a TV that displays only green text....

23. Waterbottles were slinged around your neck and a must everywhere

you go.

Find any tap I can find....

24. Boys loved to play soccer with coulourful small plastic balls in

the basketball court.

Was the rage indeed...

25. Teng-teng, batu lesung, hopscotch, hentam bola, one-leg and zero

point were all the rage with the girls and boys too...

Yeah...  my time....

26. Science was fun with the balsam and the angsana being the most

important plants of our lives, guppies and swordtail being the most important

fish.

Longkang fish and fresh water crabs for me as they are free... I have friends who still don't believe there's freshwater crabs in this world...  used tio catch them in the streams at Bukit Timah Hill.

27. Who can forget Ahmad, Bala, Sumei and John, eternalized in our

minds from the textbooks. Even Mr Wally & Mr. Yakki. What abt Miss Lala???

And of course.......Zaki and Tini in Malay Textbooks.....

Sorry... text book all forgtten already......

28. We carry out experiments of our own to get ourself badges for

being a Young Zoologist/Botanist etc.

Huh...  only remembered holding a test tube in secondary school and heating something.....

29. Every children's day and national day you either get pins or pens

with 'Happy Children's Day 1993' or dumb files with Happy National Day

1994'.

1984 they did not have such things I think.... :)

30. In Primary six you had to play buddy for the younger kids like big

sister and brother.

Whack them more likely......

31. We wore Panda, BM2000, BATA or Pallas shoes then moved on to

Paichi & US Masters in sec school.

Panda and the luxurious BM2000 for me....

32. Your form teacher taught you maths, science, english, social

studies & health education.....oh and sometimes PE too.

And also teach you to swallow chewing gum!

33. The worksheets were made of brown rough paper of poor quality.

rough recollection of this..... :)

34. You went to school in slippers and a raincoat when it rained, and

you find a dry spot in the school to sit down, dry your feet, and wear

your dry and warm socks and shoes.

Got such thing meh.... walk bare-footed or with wet shoes on.....

35. School dismissal time was normally around 1 pm.

But we stayed around studying the gardens for spiders and longkang for fishes...

36. There would be spelling tests and mental sums to do almost

everyday.

Really cannot remember studying.....  did not know what PSLE was about..  REALLY!

37. Your friends considered you lucky and rich if your parents gave

you $3 or more for pocket money everyday.

Lucky if I have 20 cents a day...  mee rebus was my favourite at 10 cents per plate... (but very small serving).

38. You see Wee Kim Wee's face in the school hall.

My time... can't remember but think also went to meet his creator already...

39. You freak out when the teacher tells you to line up according to

height and hold hands with the corresponding boy or girl.

Seems familiar... to do what huh?

40. Boys like to catch fighting spiders & play goli (no kissing, no

sound no count).

"Gusing" also.. wooden tops with the thick white string...

41. Collecting and battling erasers was a pastime for boys.

that's for girls!  :)

42. Autograph books were loaded with "Best Wishes", "Forget Me Not",

and small poems like "Bird fly high, hard to catch. Friend like you, hard

to forget".

Still have them....  wonder how all are doing then....  no emails then to keep in touch... :)

43. Class monitors and prefects loved to say "You talk somemore, I

write your name ah!"

Was one in school but did not know why I was chosen.... probably have to write my own name in the black book....

44. There were at least 40 people in one class.

is it?  thought it was smaller?

45. Large, colourful schoolbags were carried. And remember those

Bodypac & High Sierra bagz.....yeah....

hug.....  green canvas bag for me......

50. You brought every single book to school, even though there was one

thing called the timetable.

:lol:  :lol:  :wub:

You mean you bring books to school....  :)

Looks like I am really one of those "kampong boy" that play the whole day.....  really wonder how I finally got my BA with Merit from NUS.....  :)  No re-papers mind you....

How come you missed mandarin cartoon "Siao ching wah!"... the frog.. cute cartoon. Never missed an episode although I don't understand what they are talking about.

And another one... Tempe Asoka.. Japanese cartoon..

How come you missed mandarin cartoon "Siao ching wah!"... the frog.. cute cartoon. Never missed an episode although I don't understand what they are talking about.

And another one... Tempe Asoka.. Japanese cartoon..

Wow....you still remember that? :bow: ....I remember I was still in Primary School......hahaha ....."Siao Ching Wa....ko kwa.....ko kwa....Siao Ching Wa".....hahahaha :lol::lol:

.."Siao Ching Wa....ko kwa.....ko kwa....Siao Ching Wa".....hahahaha :lol::lol:

ko kwa ko kwa ? ha ha ha !!! sounds like bak kwa or ah kwa !!!

even cartoons like "xiao tian tian" and superfriends bring back some memories....

not to mention the diamond backs and skylines and shimanos if you know what i'm talking about....

den there was 'wu suo nanyang" starring huang wenyong & xianyun and a couple of years back, "man in the net" by Mr Chow who is now in hollywood....

:(:( time waits for no man

ko kwa ko kwa ? ha ha ha !!! sounds like bak kwa or ah kwa !!!

even cartoons like "xiao tian tian" and superfriends bring back some memories....

not to mention the diamond backs and skylines and shimanos if you know what i'm talking about....

den there was 'wu suo nanyang" starring huang wenyong & xianyun and a couple of years back, "man in the net" by Mr Chow who is now in hollywood....

:(:( time waits for no man

Shit.....we sound so old......kekeke.....but young at heart!.......those were the days that we chiong disco like no tomorrow....."FIRE"..."RUMOURS Tea dance"..........

Yuhoooo.......all those chio bu......kekeke.....know my first GF there.....wow.....she's hot man!......still kind of miss her.... :fear:

Favourite version of sesame street..hehhehe.

Flash Gordon....anyway.....about me......kaki bukit kindergarten ------kaki bukit primary sch.-------ping yi sec.sch---------ite bedok------NS(SPF)hehehee

hehehe......me....the tallest primary school in Singapore! .....anybody knows where and which one??? :lol:

wow, thanks for all the fond memories ... like kampong but in HDB ...

bee bee , police and thieves , block catching , goli , more and more ....

now i dun even know who is my neighbours loh ... if i can just go back for a while haha :D

hehehe......me....the tallest primary school in Singapore! .....anybody knows where and which one??? :lol:

Selegie....?????...hehehehe...

Now the school become what uh?

Do you guys remember the Eunos Flyover Collapsed!!!.....then ppl start to created rumours....they need heads for sacrificing...... :(:(