Wish me luck guys, clearing custom with fishes

kschew1498

Hehehe

Just bought a Dotty Black (yellow and pink), a mandrin and a colorful lobster for 40,000Rp......approx. SGD8......in Sumenup, Jakarta....kekeke :lol:

Bloody cheap but have to keep my finger cross.....hopefully the immigration dont X-ray my LS! :P

:fear::fear:

Keep you guys posted tonight.... :D

Hooo, best wishs, you should let us know ur flight details so we could aleart custom.

Kidding.

as long as you dun bring back corals or LR....you should be fine.

There was some postings a while back that you can bring back LS.

Custom officer: $100 bucks to clear!

me: :shock: Ah gu bought this fishes for 40,000Rp and you want 500,000Rp??? You must be joking!!! :lol:

Custom officer: ok la.....$5 - $10

me: NO LA..... :angry::angry: (I am not going to pay a single cents after all this hassle).....

I walk off!!! :angry:

This was how it goes.....upon reaching the airport, I told the immigration officers that these are fishes, please dont pass it through the X-ray machine.....then this guy says the Aircraft will not allow me to check in.....I said no problem la.....then we went to the SIA counter with this officer.....

This SIA staff did an inspection while I check in and then told me it is not properly pack.....it must be in a styloform box and properly seal and then check in....no hand carry!!! :( I ask what is the concern.....the answer was the salt water will leak! :huh: I insisted that if I use a few more plastic bag....its not going to leak.....but he just refuse!!! Then my colleage spotted a small cardbox! We ask if it is ok but the SIA staff just ignored us and just say it must be styloform box!!!

Then this custom officer say: Boleh! Boleh! Boleh! :yeah: .....so we got another SIA staff to tape it up for us....then comes the interesting part...this custom officer say after all this you come to look for me......as if that its his turn that we need to seek consent!!! :huh:

I felt something is fishy now.... :ph34r:

Then he says......100SGD! :blink: I burst into anger :angry: I only bought these for $8!!!! :angry: Then he says $5-$10......I say NO!!! :angry: Without hesitation I walk off.....pulling my colleague along!

Sigh! I am speechless!!!! :cry:

My fishes and Lobster!!! :cry2:

Later my colleage told me that they probably going to X-ray the luagages again before loading to the place.....and worse still, the cargo area of the plane is not temp regulated!....its gonna be freezing and the LS is not going to make it!!! :huh: Hmmm....was wondering if it is true!

Sigh!....so sad :cry2:

Bro luckily you never paid the custom officer. I had similar experience, after paying off one, another will go and tell the SIA counter that u carry lifestock and they will show a booklet of regulations that no live stocks allowed on plane and confiscate. Kena before.

You will lose what you pay and your fish. Maybe you should have put in the mineral water bottle and hand carry, go through x-ray no problem, done before....but that time only freshwater fish.

Bro luckily you never paid the custom officer. I had similar experience, after paying off one, another will go and tell the SIA counter that u carry lifestock and they will show a booklet of regulations that no live stocks allowed on plane and confiscate. Kena before.

You will lose what you pay and your fish. Maybe you should have put in the mineral water bottle and hand carry, go through x-ray no problem, done before....but that time only freshwater fish.

Is it? No problem going through the X-ray......If this is so.....next time I will buy a styloform box and seal it! I wont bother even to declare there are live stocks!! :evil:

Sigh!....I guess my dottyback and Mandrin become Sushi already.....sigh! :(

Is it? No problem going through the X-ray......If this is so.....next time I will buy a styloform box and seal it! I wont bother even to declare there are live stocks!! :evil:

Sigh!....I guess my dottyback and Mandrin become Sushi already.....sigh! :(

bro nel dun be :angry: or :( la...

but i think you are kinda cool to just REFUSE to oblige to their orders :upsidedown::whistle:bow:

update us if there are true survivors k? we would pray hard for the little souls

:eyebrow: btw, can find such small styrofoam boxes ma??? hmmm....

...what are u missing from your life?... dun wait till your last breathe before telling them that you care

bro nel dun be :angry: or :( la...

but i think you are kinda cool to just REFUSE to oblige to their orders :upsidedown::whistle:bow:

update us if there are true survivors k? we would pray hard for the little souls

:eyebrow: btw, can find such small styrofoam boxes ma??? hmmm....

Sigh!.....I was already at the SIA counter.... :( ......

Honestly this is not new in Indonesia airport.......previously when I went to Balikpapan.....for no reason the custom officer made you go into a room....or should I say a corner with only a certain (like a fitting room) ......saying they need to search you....then ask..."Kopi liu"...... :blink: ....lucky I anticipated that......my colleague told me to prepare 10,000Rp and you are free......so.... <_< ...or else I dont think I could board the plane so easily.....sigh!..

Got used to all these when pursuing projects in Indonesia......nothing is surprising there......anything can happen!!! :P

Anyway, I pray for my fishes and lobster!.....Sigh! :cry:

For your information, the cargo area has a few sections. Mainly the Forward, Aft and Bulk.The Bulk cargo is temperature regulated and controlled. This is the place where shipments of LS are place.

But then again, if the flight is only 1 hr 15 min from Jarkata, then no matter where the fish is loaded, they will not freeze to death. For the temperature will only falls from 30+ degrees before takeoff to at most 25 degrees at the end of the filght.

It is safe to pack the live stock into the cargo bags, but you have to pack it loose with NOT too much oxygen so that when the plane climbs, the oxygen will expand and not burst the plastic bags. Also wrap a few clothings around the bags just in case something sharp in you cargo bag comes into contact with the plastic bags.

Just to add, posted wrongly, it is the Aft cargo that is temperature regulated.

Agree with chris about too much hassle. And the life stock can be too stressed and may not survive after arriving singapore. Better to let the LFSs take the risk.

well......it really depends. I wonder how they transport animals like dogs and cats. maybe their cages are insulated? hmm.

Ya, too much of a hassle to bring in common fishes, a lot of stress for all.

To bring in dogs and cats, based on my own experience, you need to get a health cert and and export permit from the country of origin and an import permit from the country you wish to bring the animal in.

The animals (dogs/cats) are checked in at the normal check in counter where you check your bags in your fiberglass cage and peersonally hand carried to the aircraft cargo compartment. You have to pay for the freight as if it is an excess baggage. This is what I did more than 10 years ago, maybe it is different now. Quarantine depends on individual country's policies and it varies from one to another.

Well, Well, best wish for the fish.

First of all , you should not disclose what u bring out.

Fish going to XRay should be alright. Some1 here bring back coral from HK in handcarry.

In countries like that u better not disclose what u bring. It's not Singapore.

It's not for the S$8 that one should be worried, but for the LS and the risk of them not surviving the trip. It's not because it's cheap that i't worth taking the risk and waisting LS lives... we spend fortunes on the hardware for our tanks (lights, skimmers...), the LS in comparison is relatively cheap anyway.

I don't know, just my 2 cents.