HeRmit rEef...............!

hermit

Thomas ah, hope you dun mind i post a picture in your thread. This is a picture of the sump you made for me after setting everything up nicely the entire nite. But the return pump to the sump seems to splash water out everytime leh. You still got acrylic or not? I need to cover that part to prevent water from splashing out leh.

wah...your sump water level so high....will it overflow when your pump stop? :rolleyes:

• Replies 277

Thomas ah, hope you dun mind i post a picture in your thread. This is a picture of the sump you made for me after setting everything up nicely the entire nite. But the return pump to the sump seems to splash water out everytime leh. You still got acrylic or not? I need to cover that part to prevent water from splashing out leh.

transfer ard 4 or 5inch of sand to ur sump 4 ur refugium DSB...............

try to place ur skimmer as a hang on unit and place ur skimmer power head at the overflow compartnent in the sump............................

hence it will skimm off excess DOC once immediately it reaches the sump.............

BUT..............WHY U RUN THE SKIMMER WHILE DOING TANK CYCLING?????????????????

NO SKIMMER IS NEEDE IN TANK CYCLING MAH........................

OR ELSE HOW THE BACTERIA CONTINUES TO PERFORM ITS TASKS?????????

NO DIRTS BACTERIA CANT MUTIPLY LOR..................................

:shock:

I have a 5" DSB using Grade 0 sand. Its has since managed to reduced my NO3 to zero after 5-6months.

Suggest that u add a layer of fine gauze so that you can prvent those sand digging fishes (if u intend to keep) from disturbing ur DSB. I regretted not doing this for my tank, no Goby for me. :erm:

JC

just brought a bucket of the corallife salt mix...................

DAM HEAVY...................

WOW.....................

GOT FREE T-SHIRT..........

nice alot of box fish at the back

but........................

kena confiscated by wife.................. :cry2:

anyway going to do scaping maybe tomolo or sat evening.........

tats why i am asking whether the depth can anot lor.............

ppl say the standard is 5 to 6 inch............

mine is 6 wat...............

confusing?????????????? :erm:

yup i agree with weishun if you can afford 6inch ofcos is good,but a reef tank purpose is to sit down and enjoy viewing..

if u have a 6inch dsb and u dont enjoy it, than it doesnt serve the purpose of having a tank right?

maybe u can have a 6inch dsb in sump more or less helps abit.

finally got time to do up my scaping and start the system to cycling...............

dunno have to wait how long to place my first coral in................................?

post-34-1089813206.jpg

bro you have taken out some of the sand ??

to your sump ??

how the Overflow box doing did you test it out wan to know the result

bro you have taken out some of the sand ??

to your sump ??

how the Overflow box doing did you test it out wan to know the result

no lar i never take out some sand for my sump,

is already there liao............

jus reduce my dsb to 5inch lor............

u mean ur overflow box?

no jus see see look look only...............no enough piping to start it up........

btw have jus completed my new version of the overflow box................

will post it up in a few days lor............

bro, too little rocks...

bring in more...if u want small pieces i can give u mine...only the small ones and only when my RobSKim Mini and RobFLo Mi-nute is up, which is about 2weeks time...wat about the old LRs in your old tank?? u were saying tat u are going to convert your old tank into a predator tank right? that means u cannot take out the LRs mah...how??

hermit brother... i need my splash box asap.. me losing alot of water.. need to top up water for my sump because of the lose water due to splashing... reduced my pipe lower but its the bubbles that causes the splashes.... post your new version of diy overflow box leh.. i wan to see...

hey bro..............

how can you use my tread to hurry me for your stuff..anyway i will help you do it right

you should pm me instead............

like tat not very good leh................. :D

if it is so urgent, then do it yourself loh...y chase after pple?? how much are u paying hermit to do it for u?? prolly only material right??

well............

if possible me also wan to cycle for 2 mths................

but is it ok anot to cycle for say one mth bro?

i cycled for 2 months because i was saving money to buy all the stuff and because of work commitments...my tank was fully cycled in around 2 weeks.(used market prawn)...no need to cycle so long,as long as u see a rise in ammonia,den a drop in ammonia,den a rise in nitrites,den a drop in nitries,den a rise in nitrates,den a drop in nitrates.change 50% water to lower nitrates and u are ready to go...but please do stock slowly.....a good test kit is rec. for the cycling stage

Sorry Hermit, didn't know my post would cause so much discomfort to you. Did not know at all. Was just letting you know i need the splashbox asap but did not push you at all. Really very Sorry for that.. wun be a next time. Did not get an understanding that the posting would cause so much discomfort.

typrobin: This matter does not concerns you at all. Not trying to be rude, but wat you said affects me quite abit. I did not chase after Hermit for the box. Just letting him know the situation. I treat him as my friend and i appreciate what he has done and the help he offers. Furthermore if i know how to do i would also do it myself already wat, what for i need to trouble hermit to do for me right? I not DIY gurus like you guys leh. But one thing i need to confess is that i am not very familiar with the posting rules in here like what to post and what not to post. So please guide me in future. No need to be so harsh one.

Well, lets drop the matter and carry on. Really sorry to everyone who i have cause discomfort bout the posting.

today jus transfer most of my lr frm my 2footer into my new tank and reduce the bio load..............

looks quite full liao...........

dunno still need to get more lr anot........... masfloww is hanging on the tank so no pics lor...........

rocks view block by the overflow..............

Sorry Hermit, didn't know my post would cause so much discomfort to you. Did not know at all. Was just letting you know i need the splashbox asap but did not push you at all. Really very Sorry for that.. wun be a next time. Did not get an understanding that the posting would cause so much discomfort.

typrobin: This matter does not concerns you at all. Not trying to be rude, but wat you said affects me quite abit. I did not chase after Hermit for the box. Just letting him know the situation. I treat him as my friend and i appreciate what he has done and the help he offers. Furthermore if i know how to do i would also do it myself already wat, what for i need to trouble hermit to do for me right? I not DIY gurus like you guys leh. But one thing i need to confess is that i am not very familiar with the posting rules in here like what to post and what not to post. So please guide me in future. No need to be so harsh one.

Well, lets drop the matter and carry on. Really sorry to everyone who i have cause discomfort bout the posting.

cheers!!!