audiophile members needed for sharing experiences

giantbicycle

depends on budget lah..

one shop boss show me some new speaker he bought in..

$20k a pc.. two $40k.. good lah..

but I can't hear much different.

hifi link to tv or just plain radio, cd listen??

I used to be one time home threater seow.. maybe can helps abit.

amp is important, it push the speakers.. speaker also must b

able to tahan. if not u hear distort esp at higher volume.

sometimes have to depend on what type of music you are listenig....jazz, pop, vocals etc

I go for female vocals and that has to be complimented by tube amps. DIY myself many years back using WE300B tubes and another using SE211 tubes. Now sitting in my store rooms due to having children around and dangerous to have them touching the tubes...400VDC! to fire them up.

Lot of thinking has to be put before to get a home theatre. The sound quality depends on your home acoustic also. Each component is important in its own way. Bose is one damn good brand but very expensive to our liking.

Recently i have seen a demo for yamaha home theatre and the sound effects are very nice.

You should see the performance at lower volume. Higher volume always gives you the impression of good effect.

HiFi? my favourite !! It really depends what your preferences on music

whether it is jazz, pop, classical, vocals etc... from these preference(s) the

type of speakers + amplifier matching will be the next consideration and

thereafter the CD player.

Personally if you like jazz + vocals you can get LS35A, smaller versions of

the Sonus Faber, smaller versions of ProAcs, Totems Model 1, or even for

floor standers, smaller series of Thiels are good too. These are all cone

type speakers. However if you like better transparancy "airiness" get those

planar speakers - but usually has a much larger soundstaging than live.

If you like pop/techno - then its not audiophile type of quality you are looking

for cos it will not do justice in that kind of price - but if you occasional listens

to pop/techno, then with the above speaker types, you may wish to throw in a

sub-woofer like REL that will rock. REL in my opinion is more than sufficient

and the price is reasonable to get to the 25 - 20hz range.

For amplifiers, depends whether you want integrated, pre - power or

pre - monoblocks combi. The latter are much more expensive but delivers

that kind of power and control in music. Please take note that there

differences between tube & transistor type amps. Ratings for tubes are

usually much lower in wattage eg. 8 watts (i think) for Audio Note - Ongaku

will cost at those time mid 1990s about S$80K for 1000w (PMPO) Aiwa will cost

maybe S$800?

But in my opinion, good solid state amps (transistors) pre-power combi about

the range of S$3K - S$5K is good enough. Speakers about S$3K will do justice

for the usual range of listening pleasures (try Totems Model 1 or Sonus Faber

minima,electa amator(more expensive) - exceptional cabinetry).

For CD players they have both integrated (meaning the transport and D/A

converters are combined) and separates (you may have got it) I think

Sony makes good CD players so go for the higher end type like the ES Series

that will cost about a good S$3K. If you have the budget try Wadia, Mark Levinson

types that will cost S$20-S$30K (transport only hor :lol:).

Then there are the cables, allow for about 10% of your spending for good quality

cabling and interconnectors.

Hope these basics help.

Cna PM me if you like

Just to add, the LS3/5A will not sound nice if you go with solid states, as the efficiency will 'kill' the solid states amp, better to go with the tubes rated within range of 10-15 watts, and better if it is a single ended with tubes like WE300B or the 211s.

Had the martin logans planar very long back and not very advisable if you cannot air con your room 24 hrs as the humidity will damage the panels within 2 years max. You will need to replace both planars at one go due to uneven aging and going to cost a bomb.

Totally agree with weisoon ! LS3/5A matches better with tube amps - if correctly set-up the transparancy + soundstaging for vocals will match those costing $20-30k.

Planars are sensitive and yes - agree with weisoon on the need for temperature + humidity control. Even for cone type speakers get those with rubber surrounds not foam type as foam will rot in about 1 year time. For good rubber surround + good cone manufacturing see the examples of Dynaudio ! Volt and a couple of others which are not bad.

There are only a handful of speakers components manufacturer in the industry. Even brands like Thiel using Scanspeak drivers. Depending on what's on ones favour, UK made will be Volts and Sweden made Scanspeak, Denmark made DynaAudio.

If one is to go the tube way, should take a look at some of the Japanese made amps using exotic tubes and output transformers. Even DIYs by this expert Mr Kondo even surpass the commercial units. Unfortunately, he has passed away. However, he has written a book on his works before he left this world. Managed to got the book from him personally but its written in Japanese, but the circuit diagram is still universal.

Bose ah? :lol: If really that good for a satellite system then the high end manufacturers will have to close down! even Sony may have to close down :blink:

There are only a handful of speakers components manufacturer in the industry. Even brands like Thiel using Scanspeak drivers. Depending on what's on ones favour, UK made will be Volts and Sweden made Scanspeak, Denmark made DynaAudio.

If one is to go the tube way, should take a look at some of the Japanese made amps using exotic tubes and output transformers. Even DIYs by this expert Mr Kondo even surpass the commercial units. Unfortunately, he has passed away. However, he has written a book on his works before he left this world. Managed to got the book from him personally but its written in Japanese, but the circuit diagram is still universal.

And of course the French - Focal drivers ! Infact previously owned a small Genesis Technology loudspeaker, very airy, excellent soundstaging - American made. Americans

know how to make good speakers too !

Yes, I forgot the focals with their famous kevlar drivers. But may sound a bit metallic for some.

For Bose, it is a hype. How can good sound sound come from two small cubes! The barely 2 inch full range drivers can fill the room with loud sound but what about the definition? Example the concert speakers, they only generate sound, not pure definition. One good way to test out speakers is to sit in front of a pair of speakers at about 8-10 feet and play the music and close your eyes. You should be able to tell instruments/singer placement both in width and depth. That's what they call soundstage.

Back to the topic, to start off, one should fix 1 or 2 components according to ones budget and feedback and build the full system from there. Best if you can take the trouble to bring down your existing components to test out the new components you wanted to buy. Go for auditions. Do not let the shop's system affect your decision unless of course you are buying the complete system which is then more or less optimised.

I think we've got a good audiophile - weisoon here which many can benefit from. From experience you should spend no more than S$8K for a good system (Speakers, amp & CD Player + Accessories) S$10-15K being the most ideal - thereafter the law of diminishing returns will pace-in.

Anyone else here into HiFi??

i got my pioneer home theater system...quite happy with it :P

haha, me too :P

SBS_Transit

Bose stinks... its only good for noisy action movies... put a classical track in and you'll puke buckets...

Couldn't agree with you more :lol: the best thing is...the system is selling for around S$4000 !!! I think a Sony, Aiwa or Pioneer will be good enough.

Thanks Melvyn

You are very right about the law of diminishing return. Hope there is a chance in future to meet and chat.

Weisoon - will be more than pleased to chat with you over a cuppa tea...with music and admiring the fishes in the tank :D

Couldn't agree with you more :lol: the best thing is...the system is selling for around S$4000 !!! I think a Sony, Aiwa or Pioneer will be good enough.

Yahz... I wasted so much $ on that shit. If only had doone more research first.

Am very happy with my Yamaha Pianocraft hifi... dunno about rock and music, but it plays my classical discs very well. Very clean transparent sound. :)

Yahz... I wasted so much $ on that shit. If only had doone more research first.

Am very happy with my Yamaha Pianocraft hifi... dunno about rock and music, but it plays my classical discs very well. Very clean transparent sound. :)

If you see the inside of the BOSE system....everything from the cone of the speaker drivers, the foam surround, capacitors, inductors, wiring etc are all cheap grade type....the cone drivers are made of paper (crying out loud) and best thing is ... they say its high grade paper !! &*^$%#@! hehheheheheeh

I think Yamaha is good.... good choice BRO !!!