SRC Member ryz Posted June 9, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted June 9, 2004 Yes!! Finally decided to go ahead with it!! See ppl's FOWLR see untill I gian already.. I'm setting up a 3 feet by 20" by 18" tank... no sump... I'm using Removable IOS... the IOS is 17" by 17" by 6" (length by height by breadth) Need suggestions from you guys... 1. Which way do you guys suggest I place the IOS? Against the back glass in the centre or against the side glass(willtake off 6" from the viewing glass) or against the back glass by the side??? 2. What Fishes should I keep?? Tank quite small... 3 feet only... Keep butterfly fishes?? Angels?? what do you reckon would be a good choice?? 3. how much LR should I use?? use a few big pieces and go for zen look? or use more LR to build a wall structure to cover the back glass and IOS(will mean less swimming space for fishes also)?? 4. What lighting should I use?? I'm thinking FL 3 feet. but I think also not cheap man... one set... want it to be bright.. maybe one tube of white and one tube of blue... but anyone got any cheap light set?? I think the last time I saw a light set like that cost almost $100!!! Thinking maybe I put many Rocks of macro algae on the rocks and keep tangs?? good idea? or else what should I keep?? Maybe can keep some soft corals and sponges that dun need much light also haha... beautify the tank... Quote Live and Let Live Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terryz_ Posted June 9, 2004 Share Posted June 9, 2004 Bro... Whats a removable IOS... Quote Member of: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ryz Posted June 9, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted June 9, 2004 removable Internal Overflow System... it's basically a block lock... a cuboid... wwater flow in from the top into one compartment, passes into the next thru filtration media and all then gets pumped back inteo main tank... just like an IOS but it's not attached to the tank... can take out one. Quote Live and Let Live Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terryz_ Posted June 9, 2004 Share Posted June 9, 2004 Oh... 1. Which way do you guys suggest I place the IOS? Against the back glass in the centre or against the side glass(willtake off 6" from the viewing glass) or against the back glass by the side??? Place it at the back glass by the side would be pretty okaie... 2. What Fishes should I keep?? Tank quite small... 3 feet only... Keep butterfly fishes?? Angels?? what do you reckon would be a good choice?? I think Angels and Butterflies should be okaie... 3. how much LR should I use?? use a few big pieces and go for zen look? or use more LR to build a wall structure to cover the back glass and IOS(will mean less swimming space for fishes also)?? Go for the Zen look... More spacious but still provide some hiding place... 4. What lighting should I use?? I'm thinking FL 3 feet. but I think also not cheap man... one set... want it to be bright.. maybe one tube of white and one tube of blue... but anyone got any cheap light set?? I think the last time I saw a light set like that cost almost $100!!! Go for PL if you wan to keep some Low light intensity corals... The FL light now should not cost that much... Last time i saw a 55w pl for only $30??? Cant remember liao... Quote Member of: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ryz Posted June 9, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted June 9, 2004 a 3 feet double tube FL light set not cheap le... 55w PL is 2 feet only... think 3 feet PL light more ex... maybe I get 3 feet PL with 2 x 24W... dunno how much.. Sigh~ IOS against back glass by the side?? oh... but like that need to cover it with LR right? If not will look weird... Unless I put at the centre against back glass?? Dunno leh... not a big fan of butterflies and angels... Think butterfly hard to feed right? Need to buy corals for them to eat? Then slowly wean them to wat?? Angels? Got any nice ones to reccomend?? Looking for cheap and nice looking fishes... haha sekali in the end go for damsel tank(cheap and colourful) Reccomend me some specific nice fishes.. haha.. not too ex also hor.. yep.. thinking of just getting a few pieces of LR and go for zen look also... quite nice Quote Live and Let Live Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terryz_ Posted June 9, 2004 Share Posted June 9, 2004 Is there 3ft PL??? Confused... LOlz... Going to bed liao... Abit blur blur liao... Quote Member of: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ryz Posted June 9, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted June 9, 2004 got lah... but not one single tube.. the light set got two bulbs Quote Live and Let Live Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ryz Posted June 11, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted June 11, 2004 Quote Live and Let Live Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member bubble_gum Posted June 11, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted June 11, 2004 u so fast buy aredi? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ryz Posted June 11, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted June 11, 2004 was in my storeroom Quote Live and Let Live Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member bubble_gum Posted June 11, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted June 11, 2004 bro ur tank looks preety thin Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ryz Posted June 11, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted June 11, 2004 yep... 6mm... was used as a softies tank before also... no problem... hope win wahve problem also loh... Quote Live and Let Live Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member bubble_gum Posted June 11, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted June 11, 2004 bro i think can lah... anyway i doubt u using tons of LR right??? will cost a bomb Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ryz Posted June 11, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted June 11, 2004 I using a few pieces only... more room for fishes? bare bottom or a little bit of sand. Quote Live and Let Live Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ryz Posted June 18, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted June 18, 2004 bought some butterflies and moorish today... nothing responding to food yet... not even my smelly smelly mix!! sigh~ they're pecking on some melting mushies and my zooanthids though.. hope they're eating.. weileong if you're reading this, what are you feeding your butterflies??? Brains?? can anyone suggest what to fed them? I tried to tempt them with mysis, cyclops mix. but they look at it only nv eat. how? Quote Live and Let Live Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member that was niceeeee Posted June 18, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted June 18, 2004 bro y dun u put all moorish idol in your tnak swim in groups Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ryz Posted June 18, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted June 18, 2004 dun dare to try. anyway I trying butterflies now. dunno whether tey'll starve to death or not. Think maybe I move a few softies over see whether they eat. anyone else got any suggestions on what to feed them?? Quote Live and Let Live Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member that was niceeeee Posted June 18, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted June 18, 2004 hiya i got a few mushrooms that never open for so long n threw it away...or else give it to u to feed your butterfly Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weileong Posted June 18, 2004 Share Posted June 18, 2004 try with a brain. Nothing else interest them Once you have the brains and they start eating then you can flood your water with lots of mysis and hope they start to eat. Quote Weileong's 4ft tank Part I Weileong's 4ft tank Part II Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ryz Posted June 18, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted June 18, 2004 *sigh~* expensive food. unless I find a dying brain in LFS lol. so hard to feed. urs start feeding on mysis yet? Or still flooding and trying? Quote Live and Let Live Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weileong Posted June 18, 2004 Share Posted June 18, 2004 Mine already started on mysis. Two of them eating those floating in the water column one. The raccoon still eating those that landed on the LR. Quote Weileong's 4ft tank Part I Weileong's 4ft tank Part II Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ryz Posted June 18, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted June 18, 2004 oh I see.. hmm... I hope mine will start soon. Anyway I've got a few Unidentifiable butterfly fishes. hope you ppl can help me id them. I can only id the black back butterfly. here's the black back on the left. the one on the right has vertical lines running down it's body. will post a beter pic of it Quote Live and Let Live Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ryz Posted June 18, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted June 18, 2004 the one in the background is the one on the right in the previous picture... can anyone ID it??? unidentified butt 1 Quote Live and Let Live Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ryz Posted June 18, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted June 18, 2004 unidentified butt 2 Quote Live and Let Live Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ryz Posted June 18, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted June 18, 2004 unidentified butt 3 anyone knows what butterflies they are? Quote Live and Let Live Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...