My 4x1.5x1.5

zenus

My exams has finally ended. Now, I'm redoing my tank. Pls give me comments and advice to improve my tank, especially my sump tank.

Thank You!

(Thanks to weileong and bwilly for the grade 0 sand)

1.jpg

Overall view of my tank.

The tank is wrought iron. I have derust it, and coated with LAYERS of hammerite black paint

2.jpg

My internal overflow, intend to put bioballs and cotton on top

3.jpg

Water from main tank to sump

4.jpg

My sump. Any ideas to improve on it?

5.jpg

I hope it is okie to put grade 2 sand in my sump tank

Thanks for viewing

Just some pointers:

1) Try to use the smallest grain size for the sand in the sump if you want it to be a DSB

2)Coral chips in the sump does not really constitute to anything but rather trap detritus...

3)For wool, I advice you use polyfilter instead and place it in the sump rather than in the overflow

4)Place Durso standpipes to reduce the splashing of water in the overflow

Hope these will be of good help!!! :lol:

Yes, I agree that 8mm for a 4ft is kind of thin. Might want to be careful.

Its not that Grade 2 sand cannot be used but I just recommend that you switch the grades with the ones in the main tank :lol:

your sandbed got to do for now.

cause plus LR n water, its really straining.

I used to have a thin sandbed myself for my 6mm 3ft tank.

remove the coral chips when the tank is stable slowly.

avoid the bioballs if u can.. all are good ammonia n no2 remover,

but lousy no3 remover.

tried having some macroalgae with photoperiod eg. from 12mn to 7am,

when your main tank lights are off. for one, produce oxygen n work at nite when your stuffs are sleeping. :) dun want the macroalgae to compete for oxygen in the nite too..

n wat skimmer u using? weipro IMO is reasonable n priced.

if u got more budget look at the aquac ev120 this ckpeh is selling.

a good buy at $380 w/pump.

add more pump for circulation especially at dead spots.. good ciculation

prevent the algae to gain a foothold.

hope it helps. ;)

okie, i will remove my coral chips.

Yup. okie, i will not add anymore sand in my main tank.

Hmm, I'm using a Weipro2014. Will save up and buy a good skimmer later when i'm more experience.

I will look for a wavemaker (either tunze or those rotating head ones) when i'm cycling my tank.

Thanks for the advice!

get a locline n a normal PH which cost $10..

that should do for the moment. a maxijet should do.

those rotating one may jam after awhile.

weipro 2014 may b enuff depending on wat u stock up.

tunze is good, one is enuff for your tank.

I using 2, cause I kiasu.. haha..

haha. okie.

oh yah...hmm why starting must put the coral chips? Every fish shop i visit got coral chips in the sump leh..

weipro2014 will be good enuff for me.. hee, i intend to keep only around 8 fishes.

coral chips..? r they stocking up only fishes with bare base tank?

did u see any LRs in them? LFS do sales, fast turnover.

no good if they rear fishes for months like us.. no earn money.

Their main concern is reduce ammonia n NO2. NO3 is not much concern, since little of it cause not much stress to fishes.

eg. u go stay in hotel, u tik they going to put DVDs, magazines, tibits all nice nice for u??

erm... i am sorry to say this negative comment..... but given ur thin glass..... u should not stok up on LR.... instead buy more corals...... corals usually comes with rocks....... so IMO better to stock up ur tank with corals than rocks....... thanks.......

don't under estimate a normal 8mm or 10mm tank glass if good workmanship is done and proper bracing added. I had one for many years and not even a leak surfaced. His base is 10mm and his LR are not stacked against the glass. If you want to stack corals attached to rocks then theres not going to be enough base to render a magnificent display..... ;)

By the way zenus did you do bracing all around the base? I notice you have a centre brace just like I did mine a few years back