Questions on H&S skimmer

Creetin

hi guys, i am using the outsump model (400l) and currently am in e process of tuning. i used a valve to control e flow rate from pump into e skimmer - had some foaming wif a 1200l pump but decided that a 900l/hr would do and changed the pump.

however, after fixing the 900l/hr, it seems like it couldnt skim anything at all. i did get a layer of foam but its like super wet and couldnt get itself up into e cup. instead it slides up and down. and when i turn off the pump to feed e fish, e water level goes down, and it goes back into my water :(

i did try to increase e flow but e water level will overflow from the top of the chamber... :blink:

under 1200l/hr

- output flow very slow, tuned to the lowest with a valve

- air intake about 3/4

- foam occured within 1 day

under 900l/hr

- output flow slow, but more than e 1200/hr

- air intake about 3/4

- moving layer of wet foam

i have attached a pic from planetg's skimmer (same as mine, literally ;) )

red line shows e water level when both feeder pump and aquabee is on (bubbles are here)

blue line shows e water level when only feeder pump is on.

kindly advise.... :)

post-17-1086634583.jpg

Get Paid To Read Emails. Free To Join Now!

http://www.emailcashpro.com/?r=okdk11

i dun think the pump has anything to do with the skimming....unless u are running something that is very much higher than the recommended feed pump....i am not sure about the recommended feed pump, but from the senerio u provided, i personally feel that the 900ltr pump might be too much....i dun use a h&S...so it might be wrong too....

maybe u try to lower the feed pump's flowrate and see how loh....the bubbles might not have enough contact time with the water because of high turnover rate....just my opinion, might not be correct. in fact, i think it is most prolly wrong cos i dun use H&S.... :paiseh:

With a weaker pump, you have to adjust the air intake accordingly. Too much air and you'll not have foam of the quality needed to 'climb' up the riser tube.

Could be also the new pump could have enough oil on it to affect the skimmer, give it a week to 'break in'.

My 2 cents,

With a weaker pump, you have to adjust the air intake accordingly. Too much air and you'll not have foam of the quality needed to 'climb' up the riser tube.

Could be also the new pump could have enough oil on it to affect the skimmer, give it a week to 'break in'.

My 2 cents,

too much air could be one issue i guess.... i can look at e chamber n guess that i suppose? cos last time was whiter, now not so white...

ya the pump is new and u may be right about e oil on it... makes very good sense...

e more unlikely reason is lack of DOCs, wahahaha....

tks for the help, will go back and observe... :upsidedown:

hi Creetin,

and oso try not putting ur hands into the tank too much as this will cause ur skimmer not to work efficiently........

huh? :blink:

well....... it happens to me everytime i put my hands into my ref where my H&S is sitting, i can see the bubbles going up to the collection cup begin to decline........ (same as when feeding)........ think the logic behind this according to the reefer who sold me this skimmer is that, most of the time, our hands contain an amt of unnoticeable oil (although minimal), is enuf to affect the skimmer's efficiency for a short period...... same goes for feeding.

juz me 2 cents.

well....... it happens to me everytime i put my hands into my ref where my H&S is sitting, i can see the bubbles going up to the collection cup begin to decline........ (same as when feeding)........ think the logic behind this according to the reefer who sold me this skimmer is that, most of the time, our hands contain an amt of unnoticeable oil (although minimal), is enuf to affect the skimmer's efficiency for a short period...... same goes for feeding.

juz me 2 cents.

yes thats wat happened to me when i had to take out some of mi corals... e skimmer immediately KO....hhaaha...

anyway so far it looks like its struggling to break in - the circular foam has become thicker though ;) . i contend with AT that e pump could be e cause. After all, i started with a used pump and it foamed well after that i changed e pump and since its new, it probably has some oil on it....

Sometimes the skimmer does not perform due to low KH.

I have ever encounter my H&S not skimming for 4 days. After which I increase

the KH and immediately it starts skimming. I also notice that when I start to drip

kalkwasser, the problem of not skimming dies off.

Sometimes the skimmer does not perform due to low KH.

I have ever encounter my H&S not skimming for 4 days. After which I increase

the KH and immediately it starts skimming. I also notice that when I start to drip

kalkwasser, the problem of not skimming dies off.

yeap..... i hv noticed this too. coz my tank dkh is ard 8, sometimes even drop to 7dkh...... but when i add in Kh buffer, immediately i can c more foam in the skimmer.

hi creetin'

any pics to show your current situation. it takes time to tune a needlewheel. after which, u'll get shit out of it!

hi bro... no dc leh...nid to get a dc real soon...! :P

today the ring of sludge has increased in thickness and color. but it aint climbing up yet. i reckon could be some oil problems...after all i added 3 new powerheads to my tank, mabbe they all could be contributing to the problem..

i have also refrained from putting mi hands in too much. looking at using chopsticks... :lol:

*already feelin weird spendin so much time looking at a dark piece of sludge on a daily basis*

hi bro... no dc leh...nid to get a dc real soon...! :P

today the ring of sludge has increased in thickness and color. but it aint climbing up yet. i reckon could be some oil problems...after all i added 3 new powerheads to my tank, mabbe they all could be contributing to the problem..

i have also refrained from putting mi hands in too much. looking at using chopsticks... :lol:

*already feelin weird spendin so much time looking at a dark piece of sludge on a daily basis*

hahhaha....bro, i think this "looking at the shit" disease is all around....same here, i can spend 15-20mins staring at it for no reason....hahhahaha

fetish with playing bubbles.. ;)

or all things round... hiakhiak.. know wat I meant? :evil:

haha...yeah manz... its really weird. we reefers have weird pasttimes and diseases:

1. looking at sludge in ur skimmer

2. looking at tiny pods in ur tank

3. spending lotsa time and energy on pipes, wires, bulbs, wood, drills...

4. smelling skimmate! gross! :sick:

chee ko pek!!!

cannot stand u ah....pple toking bout skimmate and u can relate it to that.....

then u ask gals to see skimming..?

doubt they interested.. unless the skimmer is long n shaft like..haha..!!

I only said wat ppl inner self won't say..