clam disease

Godzilla

would like to ask any clam experts out there, especially those who have experienced the clam disease a few years back. how long after the last clam die before its safe to introduce clams again?? for those who have experienced it, maybe can tell us how long u waited ?? :thanks:

I admit, I always blame the tools rather than myself

*a bad workman always blames his tools* :P

but its rather quaint that my die-out co-incided with lightningstrike/scarab and a few other reefers. *shrugs* a few reefers were also complaining at a LFS that their clams died, right around where these incidents took place. so..well. don't know lah. (=

also..doing well for the past few mths n suddenly all show signs of pinching, gapping etc :blink: ..n also happening to other reefers clams at about the same time ;)

Pinching is actually cause by parasite or irritation from corals.... parasite such as pyramid snail will also cause pinching

;) read in one the threads in rc tat symtoms of the disease includes pinching among others.. anyway, dun think there is any way to really confirm. Thanks bros for sharing :D

No it is actually proven that pinching is cause by pest and irritation.. Try clam direct and yuo will find more info.......... As for why pinching can spread so quick is because these snails mutilply so fast that the spread from one clams to another very quickly......

hahah what ya crying for.. many ppl is down with this problem ;);)

heart pain lar.....

But I'm even more heart pain to see people posting pinching/gapping clams for sale.

Dunno whether the moderators should step in, when they see the pic... :erm:

heart pain lar.....

But I'm even more heart pain to see people posting pinching/gapping clams for sale.

Dunno whether the moderators should step in, when they see the pic... :erm:

to be fair, it will be quite hard for moderator to say anything as clams do gasp once in a while and pinching can also a reaction to short term irritent.....

if the seller is out to decieve people, he could have put up photo of pictures he took a while back..... :evil:

anyway, ultimately its still up to the buyer to do proper research and view the clams before buying or to get from people he trust.....

if you look at it another way, this is no different then a LFS telling the customer that a bleach mushroom is a rare white mushroom..... :angry: (encountered before, but LFS owner is twice my size...so don't dare to say anything... :paiseh: )

To Decieve is only part of the issue. The other more important issue is the possibility of spreading the Clam disease.

I tho This FORUM was initially suppose to be a community effort to EDUCATE marine keeping, and INDIRECTLY 'preserve' the nature......

<_<

but seem like there are no 'action' (can be in the form of general statement, some guidances, useful tips, etc.) on the recently cases that could likely be a clam disease spreading, or parasite spreading among reefer/LFS......

:ph34r:

i agreed, this forum is to be a community effort to Educate....

unfortunately, enforcement is not really possible, unless moderator really go down to each site to visit the sales...and i dun think nobody in this forum dare claim to be expert even after decades in the hobby....

This brings to my eariler point....buyer must do thier own research FIRST before buying as its not really a matter of deciveing..sometime (i think most of the time), sellers are not expert themselves...and might end up selling unhelathly LS...

seriously, I don't think anyone can give a firm answer on this as this is still pretty new. This diesease seems to be quite widespread at the moment. A few years ago, no one knew what happened. I got hit by this early last year......and never found the courage to take the step to get clams again cos' I'm scared it will be $$$ down the drain. Clams are not cheap after all! Damn shitty feeling watching your clams die one after another.....all 10 of them.

Rest in peace my clammies.......these pics was taken in Nov 2002. About a month before the first symptions appeared. All the clams died 2 months later. :cry2:

clam.jpg

clam2.jpg

• 9 months later...
lately noticed my squamosa has white spots on it and it's not opening up much as before....... anyone has such problem?

Temperature spikes? Clams can bleach. You'll be surprised. Normally they bleach around the middle. Then it spreads outwards if steps are not taken to tackle the problem that induced bleaching.

• 3 months later...

I just got hit by clam disease. 3 clams up lorry in 2 weeks. another few more trying to survive. heartache. . . . . .