Anemone Posted June 1, 2004 Share Posted June 1, 2004 hi all, starting up a 1 feet cube tank in my office. bought the tank, lights (2X9W -- upgradable to 2X13W), hangon filter from NA. pretty ok pricing. some qns tho. do i need a skimmer for such a small tank? coz dun wan to have salt spray on the table. got laptop n other electronics. any other way to remove the film that will appear on the surface? thinking of putting phosguard, n carbon in the filter after cycling completes. is this sound? will be adding in LR from my current 2 feet, also polyps from the same tank. (will convert the current tank into clam tank instead =)~~ ) also a fish (small), couple of snails, and... maybe a shrimp. any nice shrimps to recommend? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member [P]owder Blue Posted June 3, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted June 3, 2004 Is that lighting from ocean free? I tot of getting too. Do you have to change the ballast to switch to 2 x 13 watts? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Domino Posted June 3, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted June 3, 2004 Hey! Nice Idea to have a small tank in the office. For skimmer, you could use one of those really cheap ones driven with a woodstone. I setup properly, there will be no spraying. I got one for my QT and was quite impressed with the performance. They are a bit bulky and not so aesthetic, but they will help clean the water quite well (just need to change the woodstone evry month or so for best results). Skimmer also plays important role in oxygeneating the water very well. By removing organic matter, they also reduce NH3 NO2 creation and ultimately NO3 build-ups. a feather worm would look nice, but not so sure about its survival with such little volume to feed on. good going. Keep us posted! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Acanthurus pyroferus Posted June 3, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted June 3, 2004 cool office tank bro..... can't wait to see more pics and steps prior to set up.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Anemone Posted June 3, 2004 Author Share Posted June 3, 2004 actually hor, chan (NA) told me can upgrade to 13W. the ballast support. no need change. but hor, 13W is too long for it. now im wondering if he meant PL-C instead. coz 13W fits for that. anyone tried it b4? coz the lighting shop uncle said i'll trip the circuit-breaker if i tried that. if really cannot, then stick to the 2x9W loh. sigh. yeah its ocean-free. no pics for now. just added sand (grade 0) and mixed salt in the water. just a cloudy mess. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bwilly Posted June 3, 2004 Share Posted June 3, 2004 try those air bubble skimmer.. as for mechanical filteration u could let the LR do the work. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Anemone Posted June 4, 2004 Author Share Posted June 4, 2004 eh, i tot skimmer more toward mechanical n LR towards biological? did i get it rite? well, the skimmer doesnt look good inside leh. hmm... can i add the skimmer, phosguard n carbon now? cant rem. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
terryansimon Posted June 4, 2004 Share Posted June 4, 2004 best you add phosguard/some other PO4 removal material when you first start to cycle. don't let the PO4 stick to any surface. (= Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Anemone Posted June 5, 2004 Author Share Posted June 5, 2004 updates - added LR - added phosguard in filter with small amt of carbon - threw in some empty snail shells (looks nice) hmm.. water's clearing up. could be the carbon working. some polyps attached to the LR opening up too. tough guys. temp is at 26C now. but after 1-2 more hrs of aircon it will go down to 24C free chiller possible future upgrades: - another 2x9W or light. this time with one blue PL. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Anemone Posted June 5, 2004 Author Share Posted June 5, 2004 dun think i'll be adding the skimmer tho. ugly. not enough space also. have to keep the bioload down. i suppose 2 small fishes of the max for this tank? intend to have: - my faithful black blenny (just stop munching my polyps!! i promise not to starve u again!!) - another small fish. perhaps a citron goby. anyone wanna sell? i want the one with the blue streaks. damn cool) hmm.. about the blenny munching on my polyps. its actually true. witness the guy biting n ripping off small part to eat. i forgot to feed the guy once, n saw him/her sorta cleaning the sand. so i tot i could leave him/her to it, since it can find food. didnt feed for the next couple of days also, but could tell he/she was full (rounded belly) so i didnt feed it. was only til i caught the guy in the act of munching my polyps that i started feeding again. no wonder my polyps looked kinda scrunched up. the blenny acted innocent after i caught him/her at it tho. just stopped n sat on a rock to stare at me. damn cute. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Anemone Posted June 22, 2004 Author Share Posted June 22, 2004 tank update. cleaner shrimp. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Anemone Posted June 22, 2004 Author Share Posted June 22, 2004 star polyps. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Anemone Posted June 22, 2004 Author Share Posted June 22, 2004 should've posted this first. full tank pic. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Anemone Posted June 22, 2004 Author Share Posted June 22, 2004 polyps. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Anemone Posted June 22, 2004 Author Share Posted June 22, 2004 another full tank pic. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Anemone Posted June 22, 2004 Author Share Posted June 22, 2004 polyps Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Anemone Posted June 22, 2004 Author Share Posted June 22, 2004 polyps. again. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Anemone Posted June 22, 2004 Author Share Posted June 22, 2004 lights Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Anemone Posted June 22, 2004 Author Share Posted June 22, 2004 only skimming light tea. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Zero Oxygen Posted June 22, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted June 22, 2004 You may wanna do some slight modification to the skimmer to get brown and thick skim mate. I use the 0.5 lt drinking bottle, cut off the base, cut groove for water input flow, with the bottom of the skimmer ontop of the drinking cap it will extend the length of the skimmer. And either use stronger pump or sander wood. But take note to change the drinking bottle once every few weeks as it will disintegrate. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Anemone Posted June 22, 2004 Author Share Posted June 22, 2004 hmm.. will probably try a stronger pump. your diy sounds interesting tho. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Zero Oxygen Posted June 22, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted June 22, 2004 According to the skim mate picture, it shows that the air pump is strong enough liao. But the skimmer is not effective, as this kind of skimmer, the tube is very short, and thus add in the bottle to increase the width and height. But with the increase height, the current air blown, will not be enought to drive it to the top, therefore add in another sander wood or increase air pump power. Hmmm post you a picture when i got home. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...