Reef Maniacs Fluidized Reactor

scarab

1l of the Rowaphos fills up about one third of the reactor chamber. Run the PH and using the control valve fixed on the FR, the media is now literally floating filling up about 2/3 of the chamber height. Just tested my phosphate and as expected it is undetectable. :D:D

The FR is easily installed by either teeing off from a pump or a separate PH/pump. Needless to say I can see the benefit even only after 2 days of usage. The flow pushes through the media and the media is floating giving it full contact with the water. Hence the absortion rate of the phosphate will be optimum.

I feel that this will also optimize the life of the Rowaphos giving it the maximum opportunity to perform its job as compared to putting in a bag where the inner portions will not have full contact with the tank water.

My final assessment. Excellent!!! Definitely value for money!!! :yeah::yeah:

nah doubt I want to get another powerhead for this. *sian*

I think I'll do it like that

Idra - UV - FR - Sump. I think thats possible. (=

Can work bro. Think someone posted also using from UV to FR. check the thread on the Contraphos and FR offer from B#######. ;)

bro, this one dun need to censor...... :) sponsor mah...... bio ocean....... put big big oso neber mind. :P

The optimal pump to use would be around 600 to 800l/hr, controlled by the ball valve if too strong... you can tune it down.

If you are snaking into chiller, into UV, before into the FR, the head loss may mean you may not have enough pressure to fluidise the media.

hmm. so AT...what will be a good judge to see if there is enough pressure? when the PO4 media floats around the chamber?

and oh I'll try to get it from you by the first week of June. (=

Aiya..as long as the media is 'flying' in the container, and did not being force out will do! <_<

Yup. Can work also. The hose connection for the FR is the Eheim 16/22mm ones, I think. Maybe Joe can confirm.

For me, I just force in some leftover hose lying around. :P

Oops... miss this post of yours, Scarab.. :paiseh:

Yes, the eheim 16/22 mm hose is compatible for the hose adpator used for the FR.

If there is any intenion to use the Eheim 1048 as a dedicated pump for the FR, a stepdown connector would be appropriate.

Another pump suitable to run this unit would be the Eheim Compact Pump.. 600 litres per hr at 11 watts but with a lower price tag compared to the 1048.