noise of the MD55 pump

bwilly

ah sun yes.. oh.. the sun so bright.. the sea so wide..

n your eh hmm.. is so..

ehiem..

doubt u can hear anything.

but the power output from 1262 is not good..

I can't tee off to my skimmer leh.

There is a quite a bit of difference between the Japanese Iwaki and the China Resun.

The fan size in an Iwaki is bigger and cools the pump better.

Resuns tend to run a lot hotter. ;)

Won't be surprised if the motor is also very different. ;)

Bwilly, you can try cushioning the Resun MD pump or cover it slightly with insulation material to block the sound if it disturbs you.

of course iwaki is almost 100% more X..

the pump is veri hot, I won't recommend it covering..

at least the noise will dun anything, but hope later have drastic effect..

other than it being hot n noisy, I am happy with the pump n purchase.

but with the pump I am looking at a chiller now.. damn it.

slowly lah..

this pump already cost me quite a fair bit.

plus 2 tunze.. where to produce $$$..

I may upgrade, but no so soon. still quite happy,

but like to find out feedback from fellow user.

I got this rubber 3M stick on, it may reduce the

vibration abit.

see 2weeks later how. who knows I get used to the sound,

tik it run so silent.

Alfa,

The ATK pump model closest to the Iwaki MX-70 in litre/hr capacity, cost around S$890 to S$1,084 excluding freight, but has a weaker pressure rating of only 3.6m head vs the MX-70's 8m head.

Pressure-rated pumps are classed differently from one another.

IMO, the Iwakis are still the best in terms of price point/performance although running costs should be considered carefully.

Comparatively, the Resun is cheap and even if it should spoil, it won't hurt to buy another one to replace compared to an Iwaki! ;)

PS - I am also joining the Resun MD gang now soon! :D Going to use the MD55 to run the main returns and use my MX-70 to run my twin beckett Reef Maniac DK-1 skimmer.

Alfa,

The ATK pump model closest to the Iwaki MX-70 in litre/hr capacity, cost around S$890 excluding freight, but has a weaker pressure rating of only 3.6m head vs the MX-70's 8m head.

Pressure-rated pumps are classed differently from one another.

IMO, the Iwakis are still the best in terms of price point/performance although running costs should be considered carefully.

Comparatively, the Resun is cheap and even if it should spoil, it won't hurt to buy another one to replace compared to an Iwaki! ;)

PS - I am also joining the Resun MD gang now soon! :D Going to use the MD55 to run the main returns and use my MX-70 to run my twin beckett Reef Maniac DK-1 skimmer.

welcome to the club..AT!

with the kind of price, u can buy many many on standby..!!

I shelved the iwaki and use the dragon. But later sold the shelved pump to someone else that enjoy the humming tune.

Can try to seat the iwaki/resun on a 1inch thick foam with a piece of egg-crate in between to give a uniform spread of the pump weight. For the humming sound, can follow what AT did before, built a egg-crate box and covered with masking tape to muffle the fan sound... <_<

Using 2 dragons now. A 12m3 for return while the 8m3 to drive Aerofoamer 830..

Spec not beri sure. Can run beckett to my satisfaction lah ... :P

Heard it last evening....Anthony is not exagerating....his MD 40 gives out terrible sharp and irritating noise(LOUD)........ He bought it from our sponsor recently(2weeks old)....think something is wrong..(Something should be done soon to ensure customer confidence :erm: )

Having used two Aquaconnect Red Dragon pumps before for a project... I can say they are very good for flow applications with minimal head.

For pressure-rated applications with high head pressure... best to get the proper pressure-rated pumps like the MD or MX pumps.

I have seen some tanks with so many 90 degree elbows that what comes out of a pump is like 'pang jeo' like that! ;) At max only 30% output vs the supposed capacity of the pump.

We should all try to minimise head pressure as much as we can.

For tall beckett skimmers.... no way the Red Dragon pump will outperfom an Iwaki.

Just wondering. do we need to oil the MD40 to remove that screeching sound?

There shouldn't be any screeching sound from the pump.

Is it coming from the fan or the motor? or the enclosed impeller area?

Unless you can identify it is really the motor and know how to open it up, disassemble and oil the parts that is making the noise and put it all together again! ;)