transfer LR from crash tank

evanscence

Hi guys, currently i have a 2 ft and 4 ft tank. Recently my 2 ft tank crash due to the dead of a anemone. Resulted in e 3 lionfish and 1 boxer shrimp rip..finally decided to give up the 2 ft tank..and transfered the lR from the 2 ft to the 4 ft. Is it ok ...as the LR just went through a tank crash..thanks in advance for all the advise..Also at the same time. decided to go into LPS for the 4 ft...CAn u guys reccomended what is the best budgeted lighting combo for my 4 ft.... Taking into considersation the utilites bill as well.( might be keeping clams in time to come as well.)

Currently , i have a chiller and gonna to add a tunez 6060..what are other essential equipments i need to add as well apart from lighning...Thanks agains guys :D

alamak..y u put anemone in your lion tank?? :blink:

think can put lah, but maybe u put in slowly piece by piece while the rest continue to circulate in water..

go for mh..wont regret one,no need to upgrade again. mh also give u shimmering effect.dun forget your tank 2ft deep leh.. :ph34r:

You may want to dip the LR in new salt water for some times and try to remove the toxins on your LR from your anemone.

Btw, 3 lionfish in a 2 feet tank is definitely too small. And lionfish are not reef safe and shouldn't be together with your anemone.

There is no way to save utility bill with lighting. 500W of MH uses 500W, 500W of PL also uses 500W. In fact MH though has bigger wattage per bulb, in fact it gives more PAR per W, so in term of efficiency (in term of PAR) MH is higher.

However, the cheapest light to set up is PL.

Can consider T5s too. You'll save in the long run in electicity bills, heat generated and the cost for replacement bulbds. T5s can last anytime between 1.5-2 years with only a minimal drop in optimum performance.

Well I might be wrong on this.

For a 2 feet tank.

Bulb change:

A good 150 W DE MH Bulb cost around $120

6 good tube of 24 W T5 HO cost around 6 x $50= $300

For MH bulb is changed once a year, thus $120 per year.

For T5 I assume bulb is changed every 2 years, thus $150 per year.

MH wins.

For power consumption:

And as I said 6 x 24W = 144W of T5 consume 144 W

150W of MH consume 150W.

Negligible difference in power consumption (4%). It'a a tie.

PAR:

I do not have the specification but there is no way T5 can win MH.

MH wins.

Conclusion:

Marine grade T5 is not cheaper, T5 does not save electricity bill, and gives lower PAR.

Unless generic T5 is used, even so, generic MH bulb (6500K) are cheap too.

Well I might be wrong on this.

For a 2 feet tank.

Bulb change:

A good 150 W DE MH Bulb cost around $120

6 good tube of 24 W T5 HO cost around 6 x $50= $300

For MH bulb is changed once a year, thus $120 per year.

For T5 I assume bulb is changed every 2 years, thus $150 per year.

MH wins.

For power consumption:

And as I said 6 x 24W = 144W of T5 consume 144 W

150W of MH consume 150W.

Negligible difference in power consumption (4%). It'a a tie.

PAR:

I do not have the specification but there is no way T5 can win MH.

MH wins.

Conclusion:

Marine grade T5 is not cheaper, T5 does not save electricity bill, and gives lower PAR.

Unless generic T5 is used, even so, generic MH bulb (6500K) are cheap too.

good analysis bro..but i think his lights r for his 4ft tank.