GOSh!!!! DISASTER!!! SOS!!!&#3

• Replies 92

well, hope its not too late or nevermind anymore hehe ... try using lemon, its suppose to remove stickiness and oil. have you tried using mama lemon ? ;)

:(:erm: yar..i mixed all the detergent i have.,..still damm moist and sticky..i mixed detol,mama lemon, vinger,lime squese..scrub, hot water,dynamo,water..and harpic..no effect..and i fell once just only..arm very pain now..too slippery

giantbicycle,

Sorry to hear about what happened. I really hate it when things like this happen.

Why don't u use the kinda zip ties(plastic kind) to secure the hose from now on? You now the kind like policeman use in place of temporary handcuffs???

1 bag at hardware store only few bucks then can use for quite some time...Everytime u wanna do maintenance cut away and just attach a new one. :D

I had the same encounter. Happened when i was setting up my sump. Had to figure out how much water i need then dont know la.. somehow the tank overflowed!! twice! early in the morning my mum wakes me up " Oei Son, your tank overflowing leh! "

wah kaoz.. i was still having sweet dreams then! haha ;)

but let bygones be bygones.. take it as a lesson and start anew again..

So sorry to hear this. I hope everything is ok now.

I think all of us can learn from this lesson, this can happen to any of us.

I think the key thing is when dealing with salt water, better think about safety. Some people use green hose or pvc pipe without solvent thinking that it is for short term. Guess what, it works for a day or two and then we completely forgotten about it. Before you know, disaster strikes.

In my case, I try not to use green hose. As much as possible, I will run the pvc piping and make sure I use the proper pvc solvent to welt the joint together. Worse come to worse, if I need to modify the pipe, just cut away the joint and you can use a straight joint to connect it back. The cost of the T-joint or L-joint is only a few cents compare to the trouble if something happens.

In this case, I don't think a sump is really necessary. Can still stick to the Eheim canister. Just make sure to either secure the green hose, or just change everything to pvc pipe and you will be able to sleep well.

Cheers,

Patrick

i think i better do some checking on my pipes this wkend..

my return pipes are going up from behind my tank,if anything goes wrong..3500l/hr flowing out all my pc,ps2 tv,hi-fi all die..! guess i will cry and die too!!

by the way bro,i suggest you dont mix all together but instead..mop afew times... that will be better..

actually it was my crazy idea to modify the ehiem canister....by putting a tray and the bag of Rowaphos....BUt its beacuse of the spring back of the peg.. :(

Actually you could have just throw your bag of rowa into the last compartment of your canister. What's the hassle of modify this and that??? Anyway i do sympathisize with you and admire you as well cause you still actually bother to take pics during your clean up process, i put myself in your shoe i think i super T.L liao what got mood to still take pic. You solid man bro.

I had an old 4X1.5X15inch marine leak from the sides. It just gave way at the seams. Have the tank half emptied when I woke up... Tell me is'nt that worse? :rolleyes:

Wah Bro Fuel also experience this before!

My old 3ft also gave way at the seam. From a sweet dream and woke up to a nightmare!

:eyeblur:

Hi Giantbicycle,

Sorry to here of your flooding incident. Glad everything is ok. Guess we all just have to beware of how we set up our tanks, making sure that nothing is loose or leaks. But accidents still do happen which sometimes cannot be prevented. But we must not give up...

Anyway, some comments about the stickyness of the floor. It's due to the drying up of water leaving behind salt on the floor. Not too sure how the vinegar or detergent may help, but essentially what also needs to be done is basically to redissolve the salt and clean it up, which is very slow when you simply use a damp mop and small pail of water and mopping around. you're simply redistributing the salt... :P It will be faster to wet the floor again by pouring more freshwater directly onto the floor (in a controlled manner lar, like maybe a cup at a time), soaking it up quickly with a mop or cloth, then squeezing the water out and throw away. Of course this is provided you have a stone flooring... Works for me... :)

Cheers... :)

giantbicycle,

Sorry to hear about what happened. I really hate it when things like this happen.

Why don't u use the kinda zip ties(plastic kind) to secure the hose from now on? You now the kind like policeman use in place of temporary handcuffs???

1 bag at hardware store only few bucks then can use for quite some time...Everytime u wanna do maintenance cut away and just attach a new one. :D

aww...ITs okiee..i had enough of scolding and nagging... THANks for the concern and the piece of info..will get it ...THANKS :peace:

Maybe mix too much liao... Hm...

I can't imagine u had 3/4 of your tank emptied... half my skimmer emptied onto my floor I nearly died..

yar lor...shoing arhh..2cm above the wall leh..caculated its around 150liters of water,....and SALT water <_<:peace:

I had the same encounter. Happened when i was setting up my sump. Had to figure out how much water i need then dont know la.. somehow the tank overflowed!! twice! early in the morning my mum wakes me up " Oei Son, your tank overflowing leh! "

wah kaoz.. i was still having sweet dreams then! haha ;)

but let bygones be bygones.. take it as a lesson and start anew again..

same!!!! totally agree... was dreaming about the trip latter to CF and what new LS can i get..Hmm..yum..yum...and suddenly....<<GROkk,grokk ahrham..pikk..bobobo.,.POhg..GROkkk...kokokokko...>> All this sounds make me wake up from my dreams.. :( and come out.. GOSH!!!! <_< yar..thats what i think most of now...is LET bygones be bygones... THATS it..and latter on ..then start to plan and start again.. :nc: YEs i am going to start anew and this time 90% careful, no shortcuts will be taken at all... :peace:

So sorry to hear this. I hope everything is ok now.

I think all of us can learn from this lesson, this can happen to any of us.

I think the key thing is when dealing with salt water, better think about safety. Some people use green hose or pvc pipe without solvent thinking that it is for short term. Guess what, it works for a day or two and then we completely forgotten about it. Before you know, disaster strikes.

In my case, I try not to use green hose. As much as possible, I will run the pvc piping and make sure I use the proper pvc solvent to welt the joint together. Worse come to worse, if I need to modify the pipe, just cut away the joint and you can use a straight joint to connect it back. The cost of the T-joint or L-joint is only a few cents compare to the trouble if something happens.

In this case, I don't think a sump is really necessary. Can still stick to the Eheim canister. Just make sure to either secure the green hose, or just change everything to pvc pipe and you will be able to sleep well.

Cheers,

Patrick

no.,..nothing is okiee...is just that...i try to put it aside..If i think about it, i will cry...okokiee.Cheer up.. :) after all the joking from bro rodian..much better now from this set back.. YES EVEYONE READING THIS THREAT,LEARN FROM MY MISTAKES AND DONR EVER GO & FIND FOR SHORTCUTS OR ALTERNATIVE WAYS TO SAVE TIME OR MONEY . THINk first before you start.. Dont want it to be a miserable reefing but leave memories and have fun reefing instead of getting a black mark in reefing...

:peace:HAppy Reefing 2 eveyone out here. Cheers. :peace:

i think i better do some checking on my pipes this wkend..

my return pipes are going up from behind my tank,if anything goes wrong..3500l/hr flowing out all my pc,ps2 tv,hi-fi all die..! guess i will cry and die too!!

by the way bro,i suggest you dont mix all together but instead..mop afew times... that will be better..

yes...better be safe then sorry..after u have checked, u have much more confident in leaving your tank.. :peace: check is the best.. But if all pipes is okiee.. GOod for you... :D

Actually you could have just throw your bag of rowa into the last compartment of your canister. What's the hassle of modify this and that??? Anyway i do sympathisize with you and admire you as well cause you still actually bother to take pics during your clean up process, i put myself in your shoe i think i super T.L liao what got mood to still take pic. You solid man bro.

Hi Giantbicycle,

Sorry to here of your flooding incident. Glad everything is ok. Guess we all just have to beware of how we set up our tanks, making sure that nothing is loose or leaks. But accidents still do happen which sometimes cannot be prevented. But we must not give up...

Anyway, some comments about the stickyness of the floor. It's due to the drying up of water leaving behind salt on the floor. Not too sure how the vinegar or detergent may help, but essentially what also needs to be done is basically to redissolve the salt and clean it up, which is very slow when you simply use a damp mop and small pail of water and mopping around. you're simply redistributing the salt... :P It will be faster to wet the floor again by pouring more freshwater directly onto the floor (in a controlled manner lar, like maybe a cup at a time), soaking it up quickly with a mop or cloth, then squeezing the water out and throw away. Of course this is provided you have a stone flooring... Works for me... :)

Cheers... :)

hi,there..will contact u in june for the DIY..hehe..yar..its sad to rank up the pass.everything is okiee except emotion is not too good. :( lar accidents do happen but we must find out the pros and cons of the accident and make sure it is not repeated again..Once is enough ... even injured my arm and back when mopping the floor 8th times..! still its sticky..! and dertergent all gone.! That is okiee.. K..THANKS for the info of the stickness of the floor..Will try that and if it works, i will be in no time back with you all bro and sis reefing again.. :):thanks: